Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

De Skogen

by aidanmarkham - Jam Entry

De Skogen(The Forest) is an atmospheric exploration game. Explore, collect, and enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#139Audio(Jam)3.70
#161Mood(Jam)3.67
#496Graphics(Jam)3.41
#671Overall(Jam)3.10
#720Humor(Jam)2.04
#826Fun(Jam)2.76
#903Innovation(Jam)2.58
#1075Theme(Jam)2.22

Comments

DeltaF1 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:10am

This was a pleasure to play :)

The sound design was superb, and the visuals were awesome. I accidentally ran it on "fastest" settings, leading to a lot of aliasing, but it actually added to the atmosphere. I really enjoyed playing this. It didn't seem to fit the theme very much, but was nonetheless an excellent atmospheric game. Nicely done :)

Also, I had some trouble downloading it from itch.io, I had to download it through their app. Maybe check to see if your links are set up properly?

TTFTCUTS says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:19am

I'd love to give this a go but the download is failing to complete for whatever reason. Bookmarking the entry to try later.

DeltaF1 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:14am

@TTFTCUTS Try downloading it from the itch.io desktop app, that worked for me.

olkeencole says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:27am

At first the wind was loud, but the music quickly meshed with the ambiance and I was moving along mostly to just hear the music play. The sound of the wind nearly took me to a zen like state. Well done!

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:46am

Nice music, but I did not notice shapeshift

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:10am

I enjoyed it alot! Visually stunning however it didn't shine conceptually...pleasure to play:)

Populous90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:08pm

I had high hopes when I downloaded this game but I was met with disappointment. The story is non-existent, graphics was below average but the saving grace was the calm music which I enjoyed. I wish this game did better.

okoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:09pm

I enjoyed the scenery but I was a little disappointed with the end = / , Tip : a counter parts or mini map would be useful .

ratking says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:09pm

I enjoyed it for what it is - an short, atmospheric experience. Well done!

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:35pm

I see what you were trying to do, but there's no real ambiance here, nor real exploration to be had, just the same thing repeated over and over. I like that you can walk between the trees as opposed to them being just a solid wall; i wish you would've done something with that, as temporarily losing myself in the forest was the most interesting part in this experience for me.

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:57pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:48pm

Nice entry, was really cool to play. Please have a look at my game, too.

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:15pm

Hi, please keep in touch about your review :) i'd like to chat with you about how to do that thing you mentioned on my game better! :)

As for my review, this is absolutelly stunning. everything is very well put togather and every single aspect of this entry makes the whole experience really compelling.

It looks a little bit unrelated to the theme though, not really much of a problem, if i may say

Gord10 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:38pm

I loved the audio and mood! I didn't see the connection with the theme, though.

whilefun says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:40pm

I really enjoyed the audio in this game. I found myself unsure where the meaningful bounds of the woods were, so I just walked through the trees until I left the play area. It would be helpful to supplement the super dense trees with an actual invisible wall so the player doesn't wander way off course. At the end, I wasn't sure if the white screen was the end of the game or not, as there was a slight period of silence before the game returned to main menu. Overall, the game was serene and pleasant. I also enjoyed the main characters walking animation cycle.

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:49pm

I very much enjoyed this. The peaceful walking around looking for things. I got a bit annoyed when I hit a dead end and figured I needed to trail back, but instead tried the trees and what do you know I could walk between them. Very nice. At one point I trailed out of the forest but decided to turn back so I didn't chance upon a dragon or worse. At one point I felt like it would have been good to get some feeling for where the initial clearing was located compared to where I were and how many more thingies I needed to collect. Just about to say, enough when I got one more. The last one I needed. And then heading back was surprisingly easy. So very nice indeed. Really balancing on the edge of where I was about to dismiss it and quit early, so maybe some stronger feedback about progression and orientation. Possibly not needing to collect all discs but only a fraction of them (and then destroy the remaining). Also I much liked the walking animation, but it felt like it didn't always properly show the direction I was heading. Just a minor complaint. As a whole a very good game.

terryg says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:15pm

Playing this game was a nice experience, but I didn't notice any shapeshifting.

Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:01am

Great job with the music, it is very pleasant to play. I have no idea where is the "shapeshift" theme but who cares? I liked it a lot.

Jerre says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:52am

Please put "Windows" in the download link :), so I don't have to find out myself I can't play it on OSX

Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:20am

This was nice. Really nice.

I felt kinda disappointed at first but I decided to explore and play around a bit, but as I started collecting more... I notice a few things. The fog would get stronger, I could no longer hear my own footsteps things started becoming kinda unstable and the music... started to have a different effect on me.

In the end, I got scared but was at the same time really curious, I guess this game is kinda symbolic and I felt like it had some sort of a deeper meaning.

I couldn't see the theme but maybe it was that core thingy that got bigger.

Either way this was a great atmospheric game, good job.

d3garcia says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 3:32am

It is a good idea but I couldn't see to shapeshift or something related to the theme also I was able to go deep in the woods and walk for ever, Its is a good idea though.

jofra says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 10:42pm

I realy liked the mood and the little sounds! It had a very cool "Titan Souls" feel to it.

El Cabaro says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 12:45am

We walked all around de skogen and found all the swirly stones. Then we walked in the portal- the ending is a little anticlimactic but the mood is good. Half expected slenderman to show up at a couple points.

I must say that the "jazz walk" cycle sort of throws off the mood, however hilarious it is.

QuexD says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 1:15am

loved the walk cycle those legs! Also nice job with the music fit the game very well.

CodeNMore says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 1:29am

This art style is amazing!

rjhelms says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 1:32am

Great visual and audio design. You did a great job at setting the mood, though I didn't see a real connection to the theme.

Alphish says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 6:46pm

Well, the graphics seemed weirdly blurry, but then it turned out it's Unity giving fastest settings as default. Pffft!

Overall, quite an atmospheric entry, particularly in terms of music; the graphics and special effects were good, too, but I'd really like to have some more variety in trees or obstacles or something (rocks, what happened to the poor rocks?! D:) so that the exploration isn't getting too monotonous. Oh, also, the step sounds were a bit too loud for my taste, and sometimes they sounded weird (more like some cracking than stepping, I dunno).

Two things I still don't get: the ending, and how this game is related to shapesifting. ^^'

purrpurr says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 9:41pm

Wow, that was artful (and I don't mean that in a bad way). It was very stimulating to play; by its visuals, simplicity and atmosphere. Being able to outright walk through the forest was a pleasant surprise.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]