Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Shooter

by state550 - Compo Entry

There are 3 levels, each with a different feel. The final one has a boss battle. The game uses the mouse for menu selection, and the arrowkeys/z key for gameplay. Pressing the Escape key from within a level will take you back to the main menu. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#534Humor2.00
#602Audio2.04
#632Fun2.88
#673Overall2.96
#677Mood2.58
#773Innovation2.58
#828Theme2.65
#880Graphics1.88

Comments

Munchy2007 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:18pm

Nice game, I like the variation in gameplay of the different levels.

rynti says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:19pm

Was really fun to play, however I just didn't manage to beat the end boss - tried it many times and sadly wasn't able to complete it, also didn't have any story or something which would've motivated me more to finish it.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:55pm

I enjoyed the various levels, each with a different shape. Cool twist on the theme. I thought the overall pace could've been a little faster, and the physics a little less floaty, but overall well done!

I'd love for you to check out my game, Tito's Revenge!
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=65699

LudumAnthony says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:24am

The hit detection for the level with the triangles is unfair, the triangles can shoot you anywhere and you get hit but you must hit the triangle at the exact tip?
Still pretty fun to try to beat (which I couldn't).

Daukan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:57am

I liked the gameplay. It was challenging some times. It didn't fit well with the theme it was mostly many different games packed in to one entry more then an actual shapeshift mechanic.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:09am

Very hard game. But I like challenges and this game is a challenge. Very nice that the levels have a different look, this makes the game more interesssting :) The controls are little inaccurate at some points but overall a very nice game. Good job!

Populous90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:22pm

I loved the art style. Very innovative and fresh!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:28pm

I like the simple aesthetic which allows to focus only on the gameplay. It could be more interesting, maybe adding more features, but it's good enough. Well done ++

Insality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:01am

hm. The design is strange, but gameplay is interesting to play! and very hard.. i sometimes unfair ;)

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:06am

First off, F*&k level 2! haha. I couldn't beat it sorry. I didn't like how you had to jump to gain height in level 2, it just didn't feel responsive enough what with all the bullet hell going on! I did attempt it several times though cause I was having fun but was close to flinging the keyboard!

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:40pm

Challenging which I love, nice take on the theme too, well done!

eymrich says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:56am

The idea is nice! It's a bit too hard for me, but i liked how game totally changed from one level to the other!
If i may suggest, there is no reason in the first 2 game for the player to not continuisly shoot with z, and from a design point that means there is no reason for the player fun to press z, hope is clear :D
Overall nice work!!

Jin47 says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 6:31pm

Great game. Good job on those several game mechanics mechanics!

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 5:39am

The first level was pretty unforgiving with regard to mistakes in timing for jumps. The second level was harder, you couldn't hardly move to dodge, and changing direction to aim almost always resulted in colliding with a target. And then there was gravity constantly sucking me down, as well. Didn't enjoy this one.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]