Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Curse of Mr. Hobo

by Fierceshadow - Jam Entry

You are a cursed hobo, survive!
"Look at all the Hobos!" - Kelly
P.S. kill enemies as the human to regain health

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#447Humor(Jam)2.63
#841Theme(Jam)2.89
#912Fun(Jam)2.64
#973Graphics(Jam)2.47
#994Mood(Jam)2.17
#1032Innovation(Jam)2.28
#1104Overall(Jam)2.53

Comments

Chaserbrown says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:04am

Great job! This was a really cool concept, and it was fun!

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:17am

Pretty interesting game. i kept loosing tons of health no matter what form i was in.

Peter1992t says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:19am

Hard. Should give some way to gain health. Also couldn't tell if i was actually doing damage to enemies.

RttStudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:22am

Really funny simple game. Should add a way to regain health.

HMike says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:03am

Health is regained by attacking in the human form. Sorry we forgot to mention

iapc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:26pm

I'll judge you a bit more harshly because you're asking for my money.

Difficulty seemed to go up too fast. Is it even possible to kill humans?

Atridas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:28pm

Nice game!!

Is it me or you can't navigate the menus with the keyboard? Is a little frustrating when you play from it and have to switch to mouse!

Back to the game, maybe a little too short, but was fun nontheless.

allstar602 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:32pm

I enjoyed this. The first couple times I couldn't get passed 15 seconds. Then I was running in and out of them and forcing them to all bundle up. Got to 30 seconds with this strategy. I love being able to beat the crap out of them in the monster form. The health is a problem though. Maybe there should be another bar that measures how long you can stay in the monster state. Then to build it back up you kill enemies or collect drops/items. Unless you can make the enemy attacks less brutal.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:33pm

Nice one! The concept is quite funny (cursed hobos ftw), even though some times it was hard to tell wether you were giving or receiving damage.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:08pm

Simple and effective gameplay, i actually find more proficent endlessly kiting enemies since time elapsed make you gain score points, good job

teamross says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Nice idea! Keep going on it!

Nolocality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:54am

I got addicted to the power...I couldn't help it.

Skipi says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:14am

Fun little game. It's a bit too hard to kill enemies as the Human though.

t4u says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:20am

Enemies shouldn't just pop-up on the screen - they should travel from outside. They shouldn't cluster into one as well.

See other example of top-downs to see what could have been done better.

No bugs but nothing special.

uprightpath says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:38am

Couldn't really tell the differences on the health bar!

masterkrepta says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:33pm

Good concept for a game jam. I think it might work better if human form regenerates your health over time, instead of needing to attack, Almost make the game a attack/evade mode

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:15am

Nice tutorial. Very difficult though

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:48am

Pretty cool

Monklet80 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:05pm

Too hard! I can't read my health bar, and there are way too many enemies. Like the concept, but it needs some work guys.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:34am

Cool concept. I like the hand drawn art style. It was really satisfying killing multiple enemies at once as the monster :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]