Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Flattened

by Madball - Compo Entry

Looks like you are crushed by giant metal plates. And again. And again. Your life is in danger, you better run!

WASD to move, spacebar to "shift planes".

Resetting mid-game via right click.
Source code via right click.

EDIT: fixed a saw placement. Side and top views of it didn't match.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#72Innovation3.91
#215Theme3.74
#265Overall3.44
#288Fun3.38
#392Humor2.40
#601Mood2.72
#767Graphics2.44
#1350Coolness45%

Comments

Aerohand says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 11:27pm

rly unique idea and nice mechanics!
hope we could have more levels

Apr 17, 2016 @ 11:27pm

I like the dimension swapping concept! Creative use of theme, nice :)

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:36pm

Great game mechanic and clever use of the theme. I found my man got stuck after a while

sirtetris says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:49pm

Grrr ... I only found 7 secrets.

Nice game idea/mechanic and simple/clean execution. :)

WizzardMaker says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:06pm

Nice little game, with sounds and a little bit of calm music, it would be perfect. The Shifting wasn't very clear, on what axis it would shift on, is it x/y to x/z?

mutonizer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:00pm

Shifting perspectives, not so much shape shifting...interesting take on it.

There we some "paradox", especially the wooden plans but it still worked nicely :)

Good one, kudos.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:43am

Nice game, good work.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:16pm

Minimalistic game about dimensional shifting that confusing your mind on the fist time.

cudabear says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:56pm

A very innovative game! The puzzles were simple but interesting, controls felt nice. The mechanic is really cool, I like swapping from top-down to side and vice versa.

One problem I have is it's impossible to tell what's in the other dimension until you switch. Some art that indicates what's in the other dimension before you switch would be awesome! Right now, the strategy is just to look at problems from both perspectives until you find a way through. This could be improved if I could plan ahead.

A great entry, really fun to play and the most unique use of the theme I've seen so far. Well done!

RyanMan56 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:00pm

Really cool! Good game, I enjoyed it!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:49pm

One of the greatest take of the theme and most promising game concept I've seen among the nearly 50 games I ratet so far. The game is also pretty fun to play, i especially find the transition when you switch from a perspective to an other hilarious. Great entry, especially for 48H category !

mkghoster says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:15pm

this is a really good interpretation of the theme

Xanjos says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 5:55pm

Could do with some sound but I really like the plane shifting mechanic.

Emerysfire says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:12pm

interesting game mechanic, loved it, but work on sound and maybe a walking animation?

justacookie says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:16pm

I enjoyed this game a lot, especially playing on two different plains was very unique and well implemented. the fact that you couldnt go backwards made me replay the game to find all the secrets (i didnt want to reset midgame). This first level was very easy to complete, but i can easily see how this cpuld lead to a really fun puzzle-platformer. the controls were easy and the graphics were simple but still good and i thought the opening sequence, in which the guy gets flattened was a very nice touch! Overall i had great fun with the game and i spend a while to do the 100% completion. if it had more levels, i'd go back and play more. Thank you for submitting this entry! :)

FengeR says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:20pm

Quite interesting game, lack audio in my opinion but it's still a great concept to apply the theme like you did.

I just took a look and saw it was a "compo entry" so this is in fact really great and I understand why there is no audio!
Good job! :)

Steven Pinto says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:52pm

Great concept xD plat former to top down! nice good competition for Fez :p
Not bad on the level design over a good game, although the art not at the very best, but hey good game bro :D
All the best (:

adam says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 8:57am

Nice clever mechanic. Would have liked it to be longer - I think there's more scope for puzzles and clever level design that you didn't manage to explore. I understand why health doesn't regenerate but the stress it caused being down to only a couple of hearts was at odds with my inclination to explore and experiment!

hazzahazzam says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:16am

The art and music needs some work but you absolutely "squashed" the concept!

Brickkid512 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 9:02pm

Great idea and the mechanics are very unique.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]