Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Helium-4

by mountainstorm - Compo Entry

It's all Hydrogen, but it wants to be so much more ... only you can help!

You play the role of 'HIGH ENERGY', the physics overlord. Using the power of energy, agitate nearby Hydrogen atoms and shift their quantum structure until they become Helium-4!

Hold tight, as once you start wielding that power even 'HIGH ENERGY' will not be able to fully control what happens, and you don't want to end up with Lithium-7 all over the place.

WARNING: game contains bright flashes and may be unsuitable for those suffering from photosensitive epilepsy

Instructions:

* Click or tap to select two elements, and use your power to catapult them toward each other
* If they collide fast enough, and form a valid combination they will fuse into another element releasing energy as heat
* Heat the screen and form chain reactions to gain bonuses
* The game ends when there are no available fusion combinations left; sofas up all those 3s and 1s

UPDATE: As nobody seems to have noticed, the valid combinations are all on the front screen. Ideally you'll end up with just Helium-4 as all the atoms have paired up. If you end up with Lithium 7's or Hydrogen 2's floating around you missed the chance to make a few more points

Notes:

* It sometimes crashes - theres a memory leak somewhere, but I can't find it :(

Production: http://mountainstorm.github.io/LD35/
Source: https://github.com/mountainstorm/LD35

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#87Innovation3.87
#90Audio3.63
#224Overall3.50
#300Fun3.37
#332Graphics3.33
#339Theme3.55

Comments

norseware says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 9:21pm

Argh! I got a really big one going, and then it broke apart!

This game is awesome. I'm still not completely sure about the rules, but it's fun none the less. Nice work, this is a nice original interpretation of 'shapeshift'!

HealogiK says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Almost had an epileptic crisis while spamming randomly my click.. greate ideas but not that much gameplay.. still hard work tho, good job for this

IDidGame says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 10:18pm

I love how you used the theme.
It's one of those things where i immediately went "of course, how didn't i think of that!!"

It'd be great if you could clear up the whether theres a clear rule/goal and if so how it works in the description.

htspencer88 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:22am

I have no idea what I'm doing but I'm having a lot of fun doing it!

It's got great energy and I'm jealous you made such a sweet track in 48 hours!

Good Job :)

LudumAnthony says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:23am

Minimal gameplay but still fun.
It has really good music though.

Also I would remove the flashing white or change it with a bright red to lessen the intensity.

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:18am

This was a great game :D Can't believe you made this and the SWEET music in only 48 hours!

Was Fun
Innovative
Graphics were clean
Fun to play (again)
Was nice use on the theme too.

Blobo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:19am

This was a really neat entry. I like the use of the theme.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:32am

the idea is witty, and the game is very aesthetic; It's very nice to look at; but it feels more like a triptoy/eyecandy than a game... the interactions are rather chaotic, though escaping photon (or any other small-and-fast thing) blew my mind!

sirtetris says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:55am

Not that I knew what I was doing but it was kind of fun. Music was the best, visuals also neat!

Btw.: the scoreboard showed only 5 digit scores when mine were entered ('SIR' with an 80.000 and a 90.000 score) then I got 100.000 and this happened: https://i.imgur.com/3lQEkm2.png — maybe a bug?

GodsBoss says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:45am

Wow, I'm impressed. Very fun game indeed, and the controls were (at least to me) intuitively understandable.

But why is helium the goal? Squeeze all the energy out of those hydrogen atoms, up to iron! ;-)

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:46am

eek; thanks for the bug - the scoreboard was a bit hacked together. I realised at the end (with no time left) I should have highlighted potential matches.

simon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:29am

thats cool - internal rules are unclear but its fun to try and find out... nice gameplay and graphical style!
would be cool with electron-feature.
the white flash is unpleasant
4/5

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:34am

At first I just clicked around and boy was it fun!
Tried to make the biggest atom but it decayed :'(

Anyways, I actually got the hang of it on my second try and it was awesome!

Really good take on the theme.

The graphics are simple but really does the job!

Thanks for the the great experience =)

Pfeyffer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:32am

Good interpretation of the theme, great gameplay. The rules are too complex to follow but just random clicking is fun.

akirassasin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:13am

Audio not playing? On Safari OSX.

Dem randomly floating balls blocking others :P

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:18am

Beautifully fluid. An hypnotic interactive nuclear dance floor.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:57am

I don't really know what i have to do, but it was awesome xD!! Great music!!

FenyesJ says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:32pm

awesome piece of art

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:35pm

Ah the flashes! Make it stop! Haha cool game, chaos on screen is always fun, probably a lot of interesting coding behind this :)

celmore1001 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:56pm

When I was on the roll Mr. Chrome hit me with an "Aw, Snap!" message :D
No worries though. The game is great!

Rakowu says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:35pm

Great music, great idea. Font-family nice. A really nice game. On mobile with playing with finger instead of mouse should be even better. Great :)

laFunk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:50pm

Cool and nice game feel! I didn't really get the mechanics but it was fun just mindlessly clicking on the screen. The minimalistic aestethic work great.
Sadly, the game crashed when I had a bunch of big clusters >_<
Good job overall!

doombrowski says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:59pm

Difficult to understand exactly what it was I was supposed to be doing. I clicked a bunch and it eventually crashed on me. The music was pretty good though.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:02pm

Exciting Hydrogen atoms has never been this fun. Doc Brown would be proud.

AlexLamarche says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:20pm

Nice interactive game. Seizure warning!

Arvydas says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:28pm

Very interesting idea. Could be more of a biology educational simulation. Pretty fun to click rapidly and see what happens lol

deathray says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:12am

This is way more fun than it should be. Excellent work on music and science. After a while it was frustrating not having control over the direction I was sending the particles - it kind of turned into a clicking / patience simulator. But, like I said, still fun.

TheCain says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:47am

Man is this fun!
This is one of my favorites so far. It looks good too.
I was on a streak, but it crashed.

TheCain says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:48am

Man is this fun!
This is one of my favorites so far. It looks good too.
I was on a streak, but it crashed.
Also, you should add a Top Ten scores list

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:08pm

I don't know why... but I had a good time clicking around on the little atoms. Don't know if there's a strategy to employ, but I enjoyed trying to get new formations. The game crashed after a while though, and I suspect a memory leak somewhere. Nice gravity and a fun little game.

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:05pm

I'm rather pleased to see that most people seem to summarise their experience as "fun, but I don't know why" ... I'm going to consider that a success. There's a memory leak but I can't figure out where it is.

blinry says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:15pm

It's fun :) Nice music, too! Got tired of clicking after a while, though.

MayMakeGame says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:24pm

Amazing idea for shape shifting! Plus, thanks for commenting o my game! =3

PPski says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:31pm

I can't really add to anything people have said - fun, tidy and intuitive!

Unfortunately the ram usage seemed to keep increasing until it crashed.

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:52pm

I wasn't sure what I was doing , maybe would've been good with a selection ring / gesture to swipe / select them together, was hard click the pesky hyrogen. :)

Liked the music and hectic bouncing. I think I got the high score for now. Was trying to prevent entropy within the system by keeping things moving. Wasn't sure at what point I failed. :(

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:58pm

this really needs to be a windows playable game. it crashed on me in the browser. other then that what i played felt fun.

Slothmachine says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:30pm

Great, innovative and messy. Just like jam games are suppose to be :)

pianoman373 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:35pm

Man, I've always wanted to try and make some kind of nerdy particle physics simulator/game.... and you just did it.... This must have been an absolute blast to code. While this is extremely cool though, it lacks on game-playability. But I know that really doesn't matter for something like this.

I kind of wish there was a gui showing what combinations were which elements, and which elements were desirable. Without knowing what elements are good, you just wanna spam click and watch the show.

oh yeah... and the audio is AMAZING! It's probably a coincidence (or programmed in which would be awesome) but, when I was playing my first round, the music completely changed after I hit a certain score and everything was getting hot, and really matched the pace of everything. It was just so awesome.

lycoris102 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:46pm

I like this :)
Good appearance and music.

Ghust1995 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:17am

Very good use of the theme ^^

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:09am

Wha? It was pretty well done visually and the audio was fitting but I didn't understand what was going on or what the objective was. Good job anyway.

cabezotta says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:21am

Great entry! Very smart use of the theme! Very original!

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:28am

Don't quite understand what I'm doing, but it looks interesting.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:53am

This has a lot of potential (it feels very rewarding when you start to see how the combinations interact with others), but as they've said, there is not much yet on the side of gameplay.

On another plus side, it feels really polished. Great job!

flummox3d says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:10am

The bright flashes were a little bit distracing, but I had fun playing (not quite sure about the rules however :)). Nice job! :)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:17am

The project is very aesthetic - fun mood and nice mechanics. However, I would like to see a logical gameplay. Overall, I like it ++

mooncalf says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:26am

Wasn't sure of the rules but had fun playing. That is a win imo. A clearer rule set could tip it to awesome.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:47am

Crashed before the game ended, but this is a super neat game.

reckhou says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:16am

Visually looks good but honestly speaking I don't know what to do till the end... maybe I have to review my high school chemistry book?

WeirdMind says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:52pm

Interesting Concept, cool idea

LeReveur says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:18pm

Got a good score, but I will try again, I wanna have the big one ! Good game, well done. :)

psychonull says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:40am

pretty awesome, I got how it works after some reading of the description and trying, I got the point which is good but it was hard to understand, especially for someone who has no idea what is Hellium-4 or Lithium-7. Great audio and physics though!

VapeurTeam says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:21pm

Pretty nice even though I found the flash of light a bit uncomfortable for the eyes (then again i got sensitive eyes!) -- I liked the fact that the walkthrough is legit on the first screen :D

mikedirl says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:36pm

Great idea, I like the way you made a game that incorporates learning with game play.

smbe19 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:23pm

A neat little game. The interpretation of the theme really was quite cool, although in this case, this means there is not a lot of variation to the gameplay.

The graphics really fit the game's context with nuclear fusion. They certainly make it very clear to the user, but I wouldn't go as far as to say that they were an outstanding feature of the game.

The music, on the other hand, was excellent. It somehow really fit in with your style and it gave the whole thing quite an epic vibe.

So despite the gameplay being quite simplistic, I have to say: very good job overall.

PinkIndian says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:27pm

Overall a great game! Awesome music and "feel". I hope you find that memory leak someday.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:09pm

Could be turned into something educational for schools, which I appreciate.

Larzan says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:50pm

Wow, great idea, music, style, really polished and well made.
Very fun to play, well done!

caelanrp says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:05am

Wow, the concept sounded super boring, and then I opened it up and proceeded to be blasted in the face by pure craziness. I like this a LOT. Obviously not too much content here but I had a blast playing it.

luvShape says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:46am

NIce job :) I was one of those who spammed clicks and had fun!

TheMightyTeam says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:39pm

What, I am learning chemistry whilst I play!

The story also adds some points to me. XD

The biggest drawback i find are those nasty flashes.

Apr 29, 2016 @ 4:08am

80 is maximum points to get
Innovation: 8/10
Fun: 3/10
Theme: 1/10
Graphics: 2/10
Audio: 4/10
Humor: 0/10
Mood: 0/10
Coolness: 5/10
Overall: 23/80
Good Game

frogcheese says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:42am

A cool idea, with some nice audio to it. Pretty difficult getting those atoms to where you want 'em, but it was fun.

Echo Team says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 4:04am

Great game! Unfortunately it makes Firefox leak memory like there is no tomorrow.

Also, I got a significant drop in frame rate each time a combination occurred.

dwemthy says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 8:12pm

Not sure what I was doing, but it was fun!

abuzreq says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 9:18pm

Hmm, nice visuals and music.
But couldn't get what exactly happens when I press.
things seemed to be very fast for a well timed reaction.
Liked the simplicity .

Yetikatt says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 11:55am

Not entirely sure what I was meant to be doing, but clicking was fun! :D

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 3:19am

there are some great epic/grandness feeling(also with some sense of mission) through my game experience! really amazing and genius, the music also enhence the atmosphere really great...if the tune(on visual )could be more cold, it may let me feel more realx and get more flow(now the blast is too hot and high lightness,i am not sure whether more fade/gradient added could be more nice..)
all in all ,wonderful entry,love it!

terryg says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 8:56am

Couldn't quite figure out how to win, but it was fun clicking everywhere and generating more energy to combine more H.

t4u says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 9:00am

Cool effect, sadly I don't get the gameplay

May 6, 2016 @ 10:38pm

Was pretty fun until it crashed.

May 8, 2016 @ 4:04pm

The game freezed at 89900 :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]