Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Project Catslevania

by Marc F. - Jam Entry

Our LD 35 entry for Shapeshifting

Some people have made it clear that the game lacks clear instructions at certain spots, so here are some hints to ensure players don't get stuck:

* Use the purple enemy form to open to first door by shooting the round switch on the door
* Use the headless enemy form to wall jump
* Use to bomb enemy form to touch the stick coming out of the ceiling in the adjacent room - this will transform you back into cat form and place you in the boss room
* To beat the boss, simply hit one of the projectiles it shoots at you

EDIT: The HTML version is giving some people trouble by running too slow, so I uploaded a version for windows.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#257Audio(Jam)3.41
#372Humor(Jam)2.76
#514Theme(Jam)3.38
#678Graphics(Jam)3.10
#698Mood(Jam)2.90
#784Fun(Jam)2.81
#858Overall(Jam)2.91
#937Innovation(Jam)2.51

Comments

Verz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:33pm

It was a little bit slow on my computer. I really liked the atmosphere you created with the music. Nice game :)

iapc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:33pm

Fun game, but got stuck with 3rd enemy.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:36pm

Graphics are ok, but gameplay is a bit weird, I'm stuck in walls and can't open door !
The shapeshifting part is cool however!

CasualCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:37pm

The game ran really slow for me, I think you need to optimize some things. Maybe some of your models have too many polygons. Maybe there too many objects being rendered at once. There is something that needs to be done. If my computer is the problem then you need to make the game that can run on most computers. My computer is really slow or anything, so I would imagine not many people are running your game smoothly if any. I didn't really get to play the gam, but I would say that the character moves too slow. But I would love to see what you could make that runs :D.

testzero says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:38pm

Cute name, but it runs way too slow in the browser. The jumps don't seem to be tied to the frame rate, so you can't make it past the first pit of spikes since you can only inch forward.

Marc F. says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:55pm

Hey all, thanks for the feedback. Since the HTML version is giving some people trouble by running too slow, I uploaded a version for windows. Hope that one is working better, because you should definitely most certainly be able to get past the first pit of spikes or open the door as the purple guy.

Pecolyte says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:25pm

Didn't get it how to beat the one in the background shooting at you... but I like the sound effect and the music, well done

keksx says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:06pm

Missed the first few attacks so I tried jumping on them. But then I got it and just had to laugh!

Fun setting, fun concept! Really nice! :)

Yword says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:08pm

Really cute and interesting! Well done!

aemiliu5 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:50pm

Really cute game, loving the 2.5D style :)

BubsyPoochies says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:52pm

Idea is nice, so is the music. Vampire is cute XD

SIN Gaiiden2 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:50pm

Good idea, a little bit to slow, I like the music :) goood luck

davidkanc says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:33pm

Nice atmosfere and funny graphics but I have found some bugs and can't finish the game. More gravity on jumps would be nice too. Anyway is a good work. Congrats dude!

Cowa says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:08pm

Loved that cat :D

ViKing Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:01pm

Loved the backgrounds and music! Movement felt a bit floaty, and the jumping was glitchy (if you touched a wall or the ceiling you got another jump), but that helped me get through the game, hahaha! I got stuck at the hooded guy and couldn't figure out how to progress ( http://puu.sh/opACM/84c5d3e0c9.jpg ). Good game!

As a response to your comment on my game, you can choose what form to change to using a numpad, as it says in the description and help menu.

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:47pm

The music is good!

I did not find out who to get to the first door, after this bat thing. any hints?

Venneque says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:57pm

sloooooooooooooooow, no I'm kidding, it just lacks some gravity (or perhaps a new title like "Castlevania on the Moon")
Anyway, I love the audio !
I am ok with graphics but please forget this style for the cat q.q
Good content but I'm not sure it's implemented after bomb transfo.
Good job !

Marc F. says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:44am

For anyone who was wondering:

* You can technically skip the first rhino-like enemy
* The door can be opened by shooting the round switch on it as the purple guy
* As the jumping headless thing, you *should* be able to wall jump and get to the top
* Ad the bomb you simply need to touch the round stick coming out of the ceiling in the top right room. That should transform you back into cat form and place you into the boss room
* To beat the boss, simply hit one of the projectiles. It will turn around and chase the boss until it hits him. The game is over at that point

Hope this helps anyone who was confused. Thanks everyone for your feedback - we appreciate it greatly!

georgh1991 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:05pm

nice work :)

Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:17pm

Good and fun game !
Go vote mine ! :)
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90478

homeworld says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:28pm

Very impressive mechanics and graphics, and actually a lot of content!

blob says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:25am

I liked the 2.5 gameplay ( with monsters shooting from background) and that the bat walks on its wings when on the ground. I could not become a bomb.

Afendar says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:19am

Awesome game !!! I like it just one thing when you die juste add checkpoints thats better but in 72h you have finished a great concept. Really good job.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:23am

i didnt get the wordplay until i play the game hahaha

CaptainPilot says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 9:22pm

Oh no, restart from the beginning after a glitch and getting stuck in a wall :( Up until then I was rather enjoying it though! Music is cool, and the switching is nice.

May 5, 2016 @ 4:22am

i liked the cylinder lazers. i think i jumped out of the map. xD

legavroche says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 4:57am

Nice models! I found the movement to be too floaty though

Louspirit says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 9:05am

It has its universe. Good work for the numerous forms.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]