Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shaman Hiccuping

by clementd - Jam Entry

In "Shaman Hiccuping", find the werebearist before finding death. Your karma of man and bear will surprise you, be carefull... It's our first Jam, we are waiting for your reviews. We hope you will enjoy our game! HIC !!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#137Humor(Jam)3.45
#228Innovation(Jam)3.50
#236Graphics(Jam)3.90
#338Theme(Jam)3.60
#344Mood(Jam)3.35
#381Overall(Jam)3.40
#420Audio(Jam)3.10
#515Fun(Jam)3.15
#1536Coolness40%

Comments

lkr says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:39pm

That was pretty hilarious, and is definitely the most unique entry I've played so far :)

Love the stylized graphics, music and hic sound!

If there's an end, then I didn't make it that far, but I got to an area where two sets of totems killed me instantly with their fireballs right as I shapeshifted. Good times.

gogo199432 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:46am

Very interesting game. Laughed a lot when I first saw the "hiccup mechanic" :D You might want to include some checkpoints, the restarting is really irritating however.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:52am

Quiet interesting game with nice art forms and good music

marod says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:10am

Nice game art and concept but the controls are a bit tricky

Raptorij says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:52am

great game!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:35pm

I was confused until I realized he shifts every few seconds

fullmontis says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:45pm

Nice visual design, and fun gameplay. Maybe a little too simple? But it was enjoyable anyway :)

varuns says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:08pm

WONDERFUL WORK, WebGL build?

Llucile says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:38pm

Great game !

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:54am

Interesting idea and funny mechanic. Also the graphics are nice! Good work!

teamross says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:46pm

Great idea!
I like the art and the music/sound effects a lot!
The controls+movement were a bit weird for me, but overall i enjoyed the time playing it.

studdert249 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:21am

Interesting spin on the theme. The art and music were both really well done! Though I found the controls a little 'floaty' if you will

Jungle says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 4:00pm

heheeh Very fun game !!! Very good!!!! I liked it a lot when it turns into a bear!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]