Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Tetrik's Cube

by Munchy2007 - Jam Entry

A kind of fusion of a Rubik's cube, Tetris and Hole In The Wall.

Rotate the cube so that the coloured blocks facing you line up with the coloured hole in the approaching walls. Get it lined up properly and you destroy the wall, get it wrong and the wall destroys you.

Your speed increases every 10 walls you successfully negotiate.

Three levels of difficultly, the higher the difficulty the faster your cube moves on level one. But you score more points per wall.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#148Overall(Jam)3.72
#190Innovation(Jam)3.58
#365Fun(Jam)3.33
#386Graphics(Jam)3.61
#443Mood(Jam)3.23
#483Theme(Jam)3.42

Comments

subpixel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:24pm

I enjoyed that. Really nice feel to the controls, just the right combination of snappy response and some weight.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:44pm

Much clever! Love the rotation SFX.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:48pm

Nice take on the theme, works very well, one idea is maybe after you get the right shape a couple o times, you could change the cube the player is using, then you could add more variety.

hippy dave says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:03pm

Really good! Nice idea, well executed, slick presentation, lot of fun.
Mac build please? :)

Munchy2007 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:09pm

@Hyoga Additional player cube layouts was on our feature wish list, sadly ran out of time before we could implement it. But we will add it later.

@hippy dave We don't own any Macs at present, so no Mac builds for the time being :(

Thanks for the nice comments everyone.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:26pm

Very sharp entry! Interesting idea, very unique take on the theme. Looks very sharp. Excellent job!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:32pm

Awesome! I love the take on Tetris mixed with Hole in the Wall

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:38pm

I have to echo the other guys here - well executed.

It was relaxing to play.

PPski says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:20am

Shifting shapes - good call! One suggestion I might make is to have a variety of shapes ('tetrik cubes?'); maybe that's already your next step. I'll have to put a warning label on this: "potentially addictive game" :)

Lagoe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:22am

In easy mode, it was kinda relaxing. In hard mode, it was frustrating.
Really a good game, nice work!

pkenney says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:44am

Nice graphics and feel for a cool idea, well done!

Minor, but if I could change one thing I would make the restart command be on the keyboard like the gameplay instead of changing to the mouse.

Pellanor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:34am

Lots of fun. Died terribly on Easy until I figured out the holes were colour coded, and you only had to match the one face.

JOK says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:51am

Good controls, great SFX. Liked the 'preview' in the top left!

JOK says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:52am

Really cool game. Intuitive, just by starting the game I quickly understood the mechanics and went into hard mode. And then it was hard to put down! :D

Ildfuglen says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:54am

Cool little entry!

vethan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:54am

I like it! The controls are pretty intuitive, and the gameplay is fun, although initially it's hard to tell if the shape should face you or the wall

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:34pm

I liked it. Quite funny game for such a simple mechanics. Keep making games!

Crosstales says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:04pm

Very nice combo of the 3 different games. I enjoyed to play it - great job!

Paskal007r says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:05pm

Gut feeling is extra natural, very enjoyable game. Looks good too, but once you get the mechanic and how to move the cube it gets a bit too monotonous.

okoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:11pm

Nice graphics and well done but hard as fuck.

nlbi21 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:03pm

I'm not fond of such games but this caught me a while, the graphics and difficulty xD i like it beautiful. That good game, good job.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:34am

I really enjoyed this. The music is so soothing and ambient. Well Done!

merzlot says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:41am

Gameplay feels nice and satisfying. Good visuals and controls.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]