Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Wars

by DRGY - Compo Entry

Triangles, squares and circles are fighting for domination over their planet between each other. There is also the fourth shape - War Makers. Their mission is to prevent extinction of any shape. War Makers are able to shift their shape. As a War Maker you can be just one shape at the time, the other two shapes will try to kill you, but one shape would be an allie.

!ANDROID!
Some devices can't install the apk directly downloaded from browser, in that case you should download it to your computer and then move it to your phone.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#318Audio3.00
#354Mood3.07
#392Humor2.40
#520Theme3.28
#527Innovation3.00
#618Overall3.04
#645Fun2.87
#841Graphics2.20

Comments

Solocov says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 10:42pm

How the hell did you embed it ?... I also have it on Itchio but cant fit it to the window...

Also great Game :D

Pierce_Z says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 11:11pm

Nice music =)

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:13am

Trying to run in the embeded window yields the error:NoSuchKeyThe specified key does not exist.

Review: It was a nice fun game. I liked the intro/dialogue ect. Music was interesting, but pretty repetetive. All in all nice game :D

I recommend a Post-Compo version, just smack some polish and graphics on that.

DRGY says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:30am

Embeded window is fixed now, thanks for the heads-up.

zowesiouff says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:55am

exception in the training room while going on the squre :(

Penthaquill says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:24am

Du lagga min dator

Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:10pm

Nice game, interesting idea.

DRGY says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:04pm

Thanks for reporting bug! Fixed.

JNI says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:37pm

Simple but good game. Well done!

Basim says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:40pm

This is a fun game however the movement controls are a bit unintuitive, it would be easier if you made WASD movement not relative to rotation so you only shoot towards the mouse not move towards it. Nice game though!

Paradoxa42 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:44pm

sa mank 1 peu d'enbiense saunaure 19/20

journaliste 2 jeuvidéopointcom

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:53pm

Solid game! The forbidden area kept glitching the triangles through the walls but it was still fun!

Rakowu says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:30pm

Good tutorial and nice introduction. But why atack me the squares in a kill triangles mission? xD

AlexLamarche says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:38pm

I also enjoyed the music

doombrowski says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:22pm

The concept is interesting, but the controls are very clunky for a game that seems very heavily mechanics based.

DRGY says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:59pm

Ok guys there was a bug in the player movement, it's fixed now.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:55am

The intro is tooo long. I got bored and I was going to quit. But when I got to the first real battle it started to be much more fun! Sometimes it was hard to understand where I was goind as the floor is just a gray background.

DRGY says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:22pm

Intro is much shorter now, also you can skip dialouges by pressing enter.

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:13pm

This game was very fun! I loved how you added in a story. Nice work!

FatKarate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:27pm

nice basic shape game with story heh

Obvious_San says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:10pm

I had a great time playing your game! Especially liked the last infinite survival level (though you can cheese it to bits).

RoboRob says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:11pm

Interesting idea. I had fun playing it. Shape shifting in front of enemy is kind of hillarious.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:12pm

Great game! Looking forward to shape wars 3d with me as the lead voice actor ;)

Hyden says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:19pm

Well done :D I didn't see any reason to switch away from the leader shape (the shape with the most shapes remaining) so I kinda couldn't die.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:42am

Cute game. Nice work on the tutorial as well. Fantastic job on the tunes as well

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:36pm

Great job here, just missing azerty !

leo_p_mahon says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:59pm

Too slow paced! Liked the idea though. Good concept. Liked your use of the theme!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:58pm

Liked the mission-based take on this. Great job!

trulyvile says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 5:44pm

Everything seemed a bit...slow moving. Long intros, long recharge between bullets. I think in a shooter game like this everything could stand to be a bit faster. The controls could probably be tightened up too, I would've had a lot less trouble shooting if I could use a mouse button for that. It's a really interesting idea though, particularly the idea that you have a specific target but anyone can hurt you.

jofra says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 7:41pm

Simple cool game!
gj

EvanEGibbs says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 7:30am

This game has a lot of story behind it for being about shapes! I liked the premise a lot. Sometimes I would get lost and I wished that I could see more of the area around me. But still really solid entry! Great job on it. :)

May 7, 2016 @ 3:17pm

Great entry! Interesting gameplay and story progression. Enemy behaviour appears interesting as well. Gameplay seems a bit random though. I completed the levels seemingly though sheer luck, and at the survival level, the best strategy seemed to be just to sit in a corner and wait. I played the APK on a tablet, and the controls were rather hard. I had to touch a tiny corner at the very bottom left to shoot, apparently you didn't scale it up to fit small-pixel screens. It was also hard to aim. Nevertheless I really appreciate you made a touchscreen version of the game.

csanyk says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 2:10pm

I liked the learning system. It was a bit slow paced and it would be helpful if it remembered your achievements so if you died you only had to go back to the last challenge, not start completely over.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]