Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Urgent Metamorphosis

by doombrowski - Compo Entry

You are an underground scientist, called upon for the strange and unusual. A patient has been brought to you in urgent need of help.

Made with Game Maker Studio. Art created in Photoshop. Music and sfx made in Reason and Fruity Loops.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#140Mood3.49
#192Audio3.31
#259Humor2.81
#332Graphics3.33
#403Theme3.46
#440Innovation3.14
#606Overall3.05
#702Fun2.78

Comments

Rscar says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:32pm

Reminiscent of Mario Party games, I enjoyed it! The music/sound effects were really great, and added a lot to the feel

Reallysketchy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:47pm

Really great idea for the theme and a lot of fun. The sound effects were awesome. Great job!

RedPanda says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:47pm

It's so hard! But awesome!

TLansdale says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:07pm

Incredibly difficult towards the end! Very polished, well done.

laFunk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:10pm

Nice atmosphere! The music and sounds are really fitting and work perfectly, great job! The gameplay is nice but gets a bit repetitive.
I really enjoyed this

Conk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:32pm

For some reason when I played it was painfully slow, like 20 seconds took almost a minute, must of been a glitch with the web version possibly? Anyway, nice game!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:37pm

The mood is good, with the heart-rate monitor beeps for the countdown and eerie music. Nice concept :)

DifferentName says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:32pm

Although the gameplay is simple, it gets very challenging as the target color changes faster. Although I prefer to see the theme have more influence on the gameplay, I like how much the theme shows in the mood of your game as we try to cure a werewolf.

rupazero says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:36pm

Cute wolf man, and funny dialogue! Would benefit from dating sim elements perhaps :P

Z4f1 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:37pm

This is the best game i have reviewed yet!

ConorOD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:15pm

Managed to finish it, although may have some serious RSI now... Great concept, presentation and music - very impressive.

Gyfis says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:45pm

Pretty hard game at the end - gonna buy new keyboard :D

Ethan Allwood says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:48pm

Nice game! Gets really hard though when it keeps changing.

Jordan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:56pm

Love the music; goes well with the game. Fun.

AlmightyTuna says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Really great use of theme, gameplay got pretty tedious in the later levels

doombrowski says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:06am

The idea was to make the game become near impossible so you're left with a ridiculous looking abomination. :P He just looks so silly with mismatched parts. I was cracking myself up making it.

kariamoss says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:36am

It's too hard :'(
No, I'm just bad. The game is really fun to play!
A really Good work!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:35pm

I like the music/sound effects its cool. Becomes harder as we play.

sndr says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:13pm

Nice little game! Quite challenging for my fingers, but had fun!

sepharoth213 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:16pm

This would be a fun arcade game where the game gets harder the better you do. As it stands grinding through the first few levels is a chore for seasoned button mashers.

Freank says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:03am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:57am

Ahh my forearms are so sore! clever concept, love the SFX.

cheshire says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 12:48pm

too long

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]