Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Protean Organism

by Tomahawk2001913 - Compo Entry

In this game you play as a protean organism, meaning (in this sense) that you can take multiple forms. To take the form of something else you must first find a coin and collect it, this will give you a different form. Use your different forms to find your way through the levels to the portals. The rabbit can not touch the rabbit poison (white tub looking thing) but can crawl under spikes. The cardinal can fly places. The human is just kind of there to be a starting point.

When shape shifting be careful. The rabbit's hit box is wider than a human or cardinal's, so stand back from rabbit poison or spikes to the right side of the character when shifting to the rabbit.

Controls:
A, left arrow: move left
D, right arrow: move right
W, S, up arrow, down arrow: shift between different unlocked organisms
Space: jump
Escape: quit
F11: full screen


Listen closely and you might just hear the bird tweet.


If you're wondering what protean means, google it.



Made in Java using libGDX.
Music: Audiotool
Art: GIMP

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#183Theme3.79
#446Humor2.26
#525Audio2.48
#633Innovation2.85
#667Mood2.59
#742Fun2.71
#769Overall2.82
#816Graphics2.29

Comments

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:41pm

this game was pretty interesting. nice puzzles. the one thing though, maybe implement a life system, so that we dont have to keep starting back from the begining.

Idorrac says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:01pm

It is a very nice puzzle game, and a lot of nice ideas an come out from the simple mechanics! It would be nice if when dying you could restart at the beginning of the level instead than at the beginning of the game, after a while it become a little tedious to repeat the first stages over and over again to try to complete a particularly difficult passage. :)

snowyowl says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:10pm

You should probably mention that Space is the jump button in the controls.

A simple idea, but done well. The music was good, but so repetitive that it eventually gets annoying.

I didn't have the patience to re-play the entire game after I died.

The bird tweeting was a cute touch!

Zayron says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:43am

Fun game! I liked flying around as the bird but I agree with the others that it would have been nice to have lives or checkpoints. Good job!

RockNRedPanda says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:16pm

I loved the level design here. They teach you the mechanics in an organic form, and the programmer art here is REAL! Overall nice game, good job.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:29pm

Really cute game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/F-G7DKrQW4g

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:33pm

Good puzzles and implementation.

sftrabbit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Decent game! As everyone else said, it was a bit annoying having to start from the beginning after you die. Another issue I had was that the list of things you could shapeshift into was reverse compared to the direction of the arrows you press to turn into them. I kept hitting the wrong direction because of that. Still, you got a nice simple mechanic and found some interesting puzzles to make out of it, so well done.

El Cabaro says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:35pm

Neat little puzzle game, but dang starting back at the beginning every time, especially when it's just dodgy collision detection that kills you is annoying.

Somnium says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:38am

Very interesting platform puzzle game. It has a nice combination of mechanics, which you use to create interesting puzzles, and the developer art is quite charming :)

As other have said, restarting should be from the level you reached, not the very beginning :)

aeveis says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 6:51am

cool puzzles, though I moved pretty slowly and starting from the beginning made it feel slower.

lanestp says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:40am

Sort of fun. I found myself challenged but the no checkpoints and no lives kind of irked me. Nice little game though!

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 11:12pm

Really interesting mechanic - very similar to my own entry. The music was a bit rough though with how short it was.

Alphish says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 6:31pm

Yet another shapeshifting platformer...

The gameplay had quite a share of flaws - restarting meant starting all over again, which is not really encouraging. For some reason, pressing "down" chooses the form named above the current one, and "up" the one below (rather than the opposite). Also, the mechanics don't feel particularly impressive, and music gets repetitive quickly.

Generally, there's a very large room to improvement here (especially the restarting of the entire game upon a single mistake, this can get frustrating quickly). Hopefully you'll get better by the next Ludum Dare. ^^'

rjhelms says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:32pm

I like the idea here, but as others have said, starting over from the beginning gets frustrating. A good practice for Ludum Dare is to be pretty forgiving with game overs, so that people are more likely to see the whole game - what I usually do is restart the current level rather than the whole game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]