Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries


by fenwick - Jam Entry

NOTE: Don't use CTRL in the HTML5 build, since CTRL+W will close the tab. Use the mouse bindings.

Avoid the chickens and collect the feed they've stolen from you in this 3d stealth game. Put on your box to cleverly hide away from them, or just stay out of their field of view.

The EXE version has better lighting, as is usual with Unity games.

Tools used:

Ableton Live 8
Paint Tool SAI
and of course Unity.

The source files and assets are on Github and are available under permissive licenses.

This is my first LD entry and this was a solo venture but I had a lot of fun.

Downloads and Links




Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:17am

Really cute graphics, but could use more polish, such as an alertness indicator rather than an instant game over.

siege says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:50am

Animations are gorgeous, love the music. It is a little too difficult though, with instant failure and no way to know how far line of site is. I also think the box takes a little too long to appear.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:57am

Enjoyed the change of perspective from 3d to top down. Good mechanics for a stealth game overall.

Dante2001 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:03am

kinda slow on web

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:16am

Arrrrgh, I was doing fine until the top-down level!

There's this one chicken I just can't get past who has a route that's almost as long as it takes for you to get into and out of your box. Either the box needs to take less time to get into and out of, or that chicken's path needs to be expanded, 'cause sneaking by her with the little baby-steps you need to take is too tedious.

One more complaint! You can't look up or down in the other levels, which would probably have been useful and made things feel a lot better.

All that said: the best parts are the song, and the walk animation on that duck. The song really fits a stealth game, and that duck's walk is perfect. Plus, it's really not too bad. I'd probably have finished the game - even with that one chicken - if there weren't so many others to rate and so little time.

It would've been great to have the little pitter-patter of chicken feet to keep a sense of suspense. Little things like that matter a lot in a stealth game.

Plus, I don't think this game *really* fit the theme. The duck doesn't shape-shift, it just throws a box on itself! I mean, I get what you were going for: the chickens are so stupid they THINK he's shape-shifted into a chicken. But he's not! ;D

Still: what a duck! Great design and animation on that duck! Add some jump animations and stuff, and you can make that duck a star.

iceburg7 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:24am

Very pretty, and great mood. I feel like it is too unforgiving in the way that a lot of simple stealth games are, but the 3D environments were very nice.

djfariel says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:57am

The concept is really solid for this one. There were a few collision issues that made it a little bit difficult to move around, but it was fun none-the-less. The only real criticism is that you can't tell if the chicken is looking at you or not, making it hard to plan your next move. Overall, a great entry!

hellojed says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:02am

Solid art and gameplay

medidog says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:08am

It was really humorous at first, but then the controls got me out of the game when I combine W + Control on Chrome (Just quitted the tab). For the second time, it was an instant end. But I loved the chicken box idea!

ayewyn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:16am

Hard to get a feel of the visual range to be detected by.

adsilcott says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:19am

One of my favorite games so far. Lots of things to love about this, my only complaint is that the level after the top down level is broken. I just fall through the floor as soon as I spawn. Everything else is great!

fenwick says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:12am

@adsilcott thanks for mentioning this, I made a quick patch to the web and windows build to raise the player above the ground on the last level.

Jun & Pate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:40pm

I reaaaally liked the concept (and title) for the game. I wasn't quite sure how Line of Sight worked, but I still had fun.

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:49pm

Love the graphic style. It's a shame the camera doesn't rotate as I found it hard to see where I was going - but still a very novel take on shape shifting

Verz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:02am

Great concept! I really enjoyed the graphics and overall mood. Very clever and fun way of using the theme. Well done!!

PixelStuff says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:36pm

Cute graphique, good animation. The box is maybe a little classic but it works.

toastedgames says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:11pm

Loved the game!

kleinzach says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:22pm

Gah, I can't jump around that pillar. I keep getting stuck on it. I like the idea, even though I'm not personally too into stealth games.

Joozey says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:31pm

Graphics aren't too bad, could have voted for it :). It has some humor in it and the game mechanic has potential. Nice job overall.

glitchu says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:21pm

That music is actually really catchy. Love the cute 3d models and cel shading graphics. Fun stealthy duck gear solid :)

APantaloni says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:11pm

Nice idea, the music is cool and the chickens are funny. Winning or being discovered are pretty abrupt, some kind of animation there would have been good. Fun nonetheless.

wboqm says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:57am

Nice graphics.

marmpa says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:45pm

Really nice graphics and pretty original concept

shane1090 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:30pm

Love the art style. Was a little unsure of when you're suppose to turn into a box - if I was in their way I was caught and on a few occasions I was caught when they walked past. Nice take on the theme!

Szabin says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:19pm

So adorable! ^w^
Also very hard, especially without a line-of-sight indicator, but we like a good challange! :D
A quick tip: You don't need those .pdb files in public releases, they are for debugging and make the download huge. ;)

May 5, 2016 @ 3:22am

I enjoyed the graphics and animations, the music was a bit too relaxing for how intense the stealth action was, but it's a nice tune. I really enjoyed the change of pace in each level (got to the over head level, but it was too hard)

You must sign in to comment.

Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

[cache: storing page]