Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Pick One

by Hankenstien - Jam Entry

*Created in C# using the Monogame framework.
*Updated code to fix bug that resets player into the ground

Pick One utilizes the shapeshifting theme to stand in for different functionality, whether it be jumping, rolling fast, hover, or climb walls. Can you shapeshift to complete the level in the allotted time? Which shape do you need? Can you Pick One?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#326Theme(Jam)3.62
#507Humor(Jam)2.51
#689Audio(Jam)2.07
#714Innovation(Jam)2.86
#877Overall(Jam)2.88
#904Fun(Jam)2.65
#955Mood(Jam)2.42
#987Graphics(Jam)2.43

Comments

thms1489 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:16am

Good game. Love the concept. Great base for improvement.

Dsnunes says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:30am

interesting concept, good game!

Ampera says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:55am

It's a good game, but the audio RUINED it for me. I seriously couldn't play longer then the third level. I like retro type music, but not high pitched buzzing 2 second loops. If you remove or improve the music it's a good game and deserves a better rating, but the audio wrecked it.

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:55am

good game, i like the art,and the idea and innovation is excellent
play and rate my game here:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

CyberAmbient says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:19am

The effect sound are hilarious. Bur the time to pass de level is to short for me. Good work!

Dooskington says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:36am

Controls were really annoying, and music was repetitive. Interesting concept, though.

Fierceshadow says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:58am

The controls could use some improvement, otherwise pretty good

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:01am

Interesting concept! The controls need work, but I like where this was going!

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:02am

Just so you know, you can mash 2 and 3 to fly upwards.

Jungle says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:05am

Good concept. Graphs need some polish. Nice game overall. Congrats

Peter1992t says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:14am

That was really weird, but a solid mechanic. Could use more polish.

Steven Pinto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:20am

Good game , needs more polishing but. still a good game All the best :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:08pm

Sorry.. couldn't run the game.. it crashes as soon as I launch it..

crazya02 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:52am

Neat concept, but the controls were a bit clunky and it's one of those games that sound a lot better if you mute the speakers.

Djapz30 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:38am

Good game
You may want to see the audio part again. Losing Sound may annoy some people.

And check again the Jumping form. I couldn't use it sometimes. I pressed space and nothing happens in some areas.

MudFarmers says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:51am

Solid game. I had a few issues with the third level, spawning in the ground, then clipping though a wall. The idea is solid though.

GrimGary says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:02am

Took me a while to figure out what I was doing. But...once that happened, the game was made easy with one or two characters per level. The only issue I had was with the music. Enjoyable experience though! Good job!

arhpositive says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:18pm

I can't run it, it crashes right after I double click on the .exe file. I'll check the entry page again to see if you release a fix for it.

schizoid2k says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:28am

Nice game. Using a controller might make this a bit easier to play, but I enjoyed it. Congrats!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:18am

Cool Idea. I could kind of cheat by clipping through walls though :)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:19am

Cool idea! I kept getting stuck in walls when trying to shift though.

Wefiends says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:19am

Cool concept! Only issue I had was switching into the Hovi guy made you move up a bit and that ended up causing me to get stuck in walls, or move upwards when I didn't want to.

Green Soda says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:13am

the retro feel gets me... it feels like playing a classic !

morrilet says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:23am

I enjoyed this but the audio loop was very short and distracting because of that. The gameplay was fun, but the collisions could use a little work... I found myself stuck in walls if I used Hovi too close and shapeshifted. Other than those minor issues, solid entry!

Sokol34 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:41pm

One of the best gaming experiences I've had to date! It blows my mind that this game was completed in 72 hours - it would take others years to come up with something this brilliant. A rich story line, beautiful graphics/audio, and incredible game play lead to an amazing experience. Instant classic and easily a top 100 game.

Tex Killer says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:05am

Nice concept, but as the others have said, it needs a little bit more polishing. I got stuck on walls when flying. Plus, on the transformation's screen 3 and 4 are switched.

It would be interesting to play more levels, though. Congratulations! :)

taviandir says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:42am

I feel like the concept you had in mind was very good, but failed to deliver its full potentital.
Unfortunately the game was pretty buggy with the shapeshifting (got stuck multiple times) and the level design was a bit confusing. There were lots of big maps but there wasnt any need to utilize large parts of them (for example, see screenshot 4 in this entry - its a huge map but you only needed to jump up, shift to hoverboard and go right to the finish. Nothing else on that map is needed). Also very difficult to see where the goal was, took me a while before I realized that there was a special tile that had "finish" scribbled on it. Something that stood on the ground instead wouldve been much better.
Lastly, in a game like this, a manual reset button would've been very nice (esp since its buggy^^).

marod says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:06am

I love that art!

Venneque says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:08pm

I love geometry games, and this one is no exception :)
Sounds are ok for me but I find them too high compared to the nice music.
Your "how to play" is probably the only one that I've read until the end as it's well made.
Despite some issues got spamming transfos, it's always a pleasure to walk on walls.
Keep going !

d3garcia says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:05am

Excellent entry. I am very high and I loved the gameplay

rjhelms says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Solid take on the theme - there's a ton of potential here, but agree with some others that it could use some more polish to really shine. I couldn't get past the 3rd level, 'cause I kept getting stuck in the terrain when I changed forms.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]