Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

SHIFTROMINO

by blubberquark - Compo Entry

Move through a maze, change your shape and collect shift symbols.

Controls:

- WASD for movement
- Clicking on shapes for shape-shifting

I exported to HTML5, so you can play in the Browser. Tested in Firefox and Chrome, should run on Windows/Mac/Linux. (There are also native versions, mainly so you can use the itch.io app. If you try to get one of the native versions to run, please comment what platform and if it worked. The native Android version has a virtual joypad on the right, but you need 16:9 aspect ratio to use it, or arrow keys on your android device).

Colophon:

Made in Haxe with HaxeFlixel.
Graphics made with Gimp and Aseprite.
Sounds made with a Music21 script, Bfxr.
Music by autotracker-bu.

Thanks to Erik, Niko, Fabian, Tilman & Niels for playtesting.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#86Theme3.98
#137Innovation3.73
#232Fun3.46
#273Overall3.43
#329Mood3.11
#345Graphics3.31
#354Audio2.94
#367Humor2.49

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:53am

Really good game, really like it

virgate says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:53am

Really nice use of the theme in this game. The music did get a little annoying after a while, but overall a well made game with puzzles!

makiki99 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:03am

Interesting idea, 3rd level seems impossible to pass, but the whole game is fun as hell.

Llucile says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:50pm

Really good idea and well executed ! Sounds and music are ok but I wouldn't listen them the whole night long ;)

LeReveur says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:40pm

I saw other Tetris shapes use on this competition, but this one really use this idea well. :)

luquio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:09am

good idea! sometimes i couldt select the shape, but everything else worked perfect, cheers

wboqm says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:13am

Also wasn't able to finish the third level but did like the idea behind the game. One nitpick is that at times shifting shape was frustrating as you couldn't tell which way you needed to move in order to avoid intersecting with the geometry. Perhaps when putting mouse over a new shape, it could put a translucent version showing where you would appear, to remove that problem.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:21am

Very good game, level 3 impossible xD

BrianSChung says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:51pm

Like the concept and use of tetronimo puzzles! More levels please!

Sabina Lis says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:27pm

Entertaining game to play, music and art go well with the tetris theme, would have preferred movement to be made in 4 directions

Sabina Lis says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:28pm

Entertaining game to play, music and art go well with the tetris theme, would have preferred movement to be made in 4 directions with steps that go with the size of a square

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:58pm

Interesting mechanic, I like the level design, especially level 2 and the first hurdle.

toastedgames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:24pm

Cool game, pretty short though.

Roland M says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:25pm

Good game. =]

ragnta says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:57pm

Good Idea! I like it! Good Job!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:24pm

Nice puzzle game!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:24pm

Nice concept, collisions are a little weird.

syst3m_ERROR says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:29pm

I love the graphics in the game! You're a very talented artist, the puzzle mechanic is fun as hell too.

webadev says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:25pm

didn't understand all the game, but it's ok, aha, sorry

GaryS says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:57pm

Really liked this... really nice take on the theme, difficult and fun.

sepharoth213 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:04pm

Fun game, +1 for Haxe :)

I got really frustrated with the rounded corners on edges.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:31pm

Neat game! Some more continuity between screens and keyboard only controls would have probably helped. Perhaps a few more easier levels :) But I really liked the design and the graphics!

Reiv says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:37pm

Smooth mechanics. Great level design. Was fun to play.

g12345 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:39pm

Really nice game!

It's a bit short, and in the second level I didnt need to get the arrow on the top right corner, also it's hard to guess whether you can change shape at a location because you have no idea how it transforms.

I also had a problem with my mouse cursor not being visible in the HTML5 window, so I clicked randomly to see if I clicked on the correct shape.

But overall, a nice little fun game.

dj_pale says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:09pm

Nice implementation and original mechanic. Could probably have liked a little bit more coarse grid movement. Would have made it more "snappy".

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:31pm

Managed to get through the first two levels fine, last level was really challenging. Great idea for a puzzle game, and very well made.

tomlum says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:37pm

A really clean look, and well thought out puzzles for such a new mechanic.

argowen says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:44pm

Little slow, could do with moving a touch faster I like the idea that you can only change shape if you get the pickup. I think it a game for 2 hands on the keyboards though rather than M&K, still I enjoyed it.

TheCams says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 12:18pm

Really nice game. I wish my entry had better puzzle mechanics as yours. Good job!

dollarone says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 2:29am

Looks great, plays great, levels were good and progressively harder. It wasn't obvious from the start that you could only change into each shape once, but that was a nice gameplay feature.

Really enjoyed it.

Tegu says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:25pm

I like that you really need to think ehat shapes to use because they cannot be reused. In theory, if multiple shapes would go through a hole, you still have to think about the rest of the level as well.

The controls on Android felt a bit clumsy with the virtual analog stick.i guess grid-based movement might have worked better. Great game anyways!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]