Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shapey Jets

by Yumeito - Jam Entry

In this game you use the mouse to move left and right. The Players ship will shoot automatically at the enemies. you have 4 lives. There is shape shifting in the player as well as in the enemies. Beware!
Make a highscore. ENJOY

The game has come a looong way since its initial release 2 weeks ago. I have learned a lot of cool stuff and added a lot to this game.

Now the game is waaaaaay more addicting than ver 0.1.

Score > 100 : Ship changes into a more powerful ship with better weapons.
Score > 200 : Even more powerful ship with better weapons.
Score > 300 : Way more powerful ship with better weapons.

And also as you make a higher score the difficulty increases as the Enemies get stronger(they get more health) and they also get weapons.

CHANGELOG

UPDATE: 01/05/2016
MAJOR UPDATE!!
VER 1.0 :
1. Added pause screen. Press the escape key to pause the game.
2. Added different lasers and gun flare to different ships.
3. Adjusted the difficulty of the game.
4. Fixed bug where the ships used to stop spawning after a while.
5. Added a nice splash screen created by myself.
6. Added a custom cursor to the game.
7. New icon for the game.
8. Now the shape shifting happens as you make a better score.

UPDATE: 05/05/2016
VER 1.1 :
1.Added Menu button for the pause screen. Makes it easier to restart the game :)
2.Now the enemies stop spawning after you die.


I made this game in about 10 - 15 hrs in total and largely with the help of HeartBeasts tutorial that I found on Udemy (https://www.udemy.com/make-a-game-in-a-single-afternoon-using-gamemaker-studio/learn/v4/content).

Some of the sprites are from Kenney Game asseets(www.kenney.nl) that I got from open game art(http://opengameart.org/content/space-shooter-redux) and I modified them a little bit and the rest are from HeartBeast.

Fonts on the splash screen:
Game Jolt inspired fonts by Jupiter Hadley ( https://jupiter_hadley.itch.io/ )

P.S this is the first Game I have ever Made. I Know it's not original but I did modify the sprites little bit as well as the code of the game on my own. This is also my first time here on LUDUMDARE. First time in a game jam...

P.S.S By Next LUDUMDARE I'll make a much better and an original game.

TRY BEATING MY HIGHSCORE 635 ;)

Until next time.

ENOY!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#449Audio(Jam)3.04
#662Fun(Jam)2.98
#769Humor(Jam)1.87
#857Mood(Jam)2.64
#861Graphics(Jam)2.75
#993Overall(Jam)2.73
#1088Theme(Jam)2.14

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:42pm

Very simple, well made game. I included it in my video compliation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/NeUaByS_1JI

JoeManaco says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:35pm

Not the most original one as you already pointed out, but well made and it's plenty of fun the first few times.

Yumeito says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:26pm

Thank you Jupiter_Hadley for playing my game and including it in the video??

Yumeito says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:28pm

Thank you for playing JoeManaco. Glad you liked it.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:17am

Congratulation on your first game - welcome to the crowd!

Yumeito says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:26am

:)

Catwheel says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:51am

It's not very challenging, but it's surprisingly fun to move the ship around.

marod says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:36am

Welcome buddy to the game developers! Nice first game

themadknights says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:40am

An awesome game for the first game. The theme is badly executed in my opinion, and maybe the width is small, by the way, I enjoyed the game and as I said, a great game for the first one. Keep learning and welcome to the hobby

Yumeito says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:43am

Thank you guys :)

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:00am

Very easy and fun to play. Nice complete little entry for your first go. well done! Love the audio too.

corupta says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:04am

Made me felt as if I was playing a shooter game on an old Nokia. It was fun tho. For some reason graphics and sounds were alluring D:

The ships stopped spawning after a while btw.

Yumeito says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:09am

corupta I'll try to fix that bug

Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:07pm

I liked your music choice a lot!

Congratulations on your first game :)

LRP says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:08pm

pretty fun

Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:11pm

Oh, I wish we could edit these.

To add to what I said above, the game is complete, and a great first entry. Everything does what it's supposed to, and it feels pretty satisfying to move around and blow things up.

Nice work :)

Yumeito says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:12pm

:)

unit684 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:25pm

Nice job for your first game! The music fits well, as does the art style. I'd like to see the shapeshifting play more of a part in the game though. It is also a bit easy, maybe make some enemies that take longer to kill?

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:48pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Yumeito says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:04pm

Freank
Done http://www.indiexpo.net/en/games/shapey-jets

Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:47pm

Welcome to the jam! :D

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:19am

Had fun playing your game, good effort for you first time!

Xanjos says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:17pm

Congratulations on your first game :) Anyway the game itself was quite fun but the auto-fire seems to make everything too easy.

Yumeito says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:55pm

A big update is coming soon.
Thank you all for playing my game.

squirrelbot says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Lots of fun to play, but eventually ships stop coming. Also, you're technically supposed to drop out of the graphics category if you use any sprites you didn't make during the weekend.

Nexus64 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:19pm

Nice graphics, nice music. It need a little more of "shapeshifting".

Yumeito says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 3:31pm

Game Is updated

BSODDevTeam says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:58pm

Nice, I bet, you put it on mobile market.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:02pm

great game for a first one !!!

uheartbeast says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 2:13am

Well done! Congrats on finishing you first game. And for a Ludum Dare no doubt.

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 11:24pm

Well done. Simple concept for a game which is enjoyable. Neat ++

curtamyth says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 1:11am

Very nice for a first game! Coincidentally my first completed game was during the last Ludum Dare and was also a top down space shooter. Good job and keep working at building your skills, game development is a lot of fun :) I ran into the bug where enemies stopped spawning but I see you fixed that, I'm going to try the post jam version and see if I can beat that high score of yours :p

zookatron says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 9:10pm

Cool, solid little game! Didn't have much Shapeshift theme though :P I think the difficulty curve could use some balancing though, at least for me it was too easy at first, almost to the point of being boring, and then it VERY quickly devolved into a screen completely full of unavoidable bullets.

Tijn says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 9:52pm

Cool game, man. Congrats on finishing your first entry! I hope you keep at it and improve with each LD :)

StrayCat says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 10:49pm

Congrats of your first ld. Nice game!

MementoGames says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 2:30am

Hey you! Congrats on your first game!
Be sure to come back, we'll be waiting!

alyphen says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 7:12am

Neat graphical style, the scrolling backgrounds worked well, health bars, score etc were about as good as they could look. Player sprite was slightly rough around the edges.
Shapshift wasn't really that intrinsic to the game. Seeing it become more important as a game mechanic would be nice.
Audio was well fitting.
Eventually enemies just stopped spawning and nothing happened. Was this intentional?

Tselmek says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 9:08am

I played the initial release for better fairness in the rating so the ships sadly stopped spawning after a while. The game is not immensely original but it is really juicy, the player feedbacks is really nicely done and I'll admit I was a bit addicted. Nice game!

Yumeito says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 9:20am

I fixed the spawning issue in the new version @alyphen.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]