Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Polytopian

by sudorossy - Jam Entry

Polytopian - a mind-bending game created for Ludum Dare. Use your portal-sphere technology to avoid obstacles and complete puzzles.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#34Innovation(Jam)4.13
#222Overall(Jam)3.61
#404Mood(Jam)3.27
#404Humor(Jam)2.69
#416Audio(Jam)3.11
#474Fun(Jam)3.21
#544Theme(Jam)3.35
#623Graphics(Jam)3.18

Comments

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:15pm

This is a brilliant mechanic of a game, it's like Portal but third person with two-dimensions! Unfortunately there were a lot of bugs that made it annoying to play, I got stuck on ledges, fell through floors, the player was colliding into walls that were in the other world, among others.

I did manage to pull through and reach what I think in the end (the pie is not a lie). With additional polish this idea would be amazing to expand on!

sudorossy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:33pm

Thanks Gamepopper! Sorry about the bugs.

I think one of the problems with a mechanic like this is that it creates a wide variety of problems, I spent an entire day bugfixing, and that clearly wasn't enough! I am considering expanding on it though, I'll post updates if/when I do :)

local minimum says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:51pm

Nicely done! Those moving lasers were really hard to handle for some reason but I got past the first set after trying quite a few times. It is a really great core mechanic, and I much enjoyed playing it. The inability to move backwards was a bit annoying when one missed the base of some stairs and so on. I ended up only using the peak-shiftning and maybe that was why it was so hard to get past the lasers. Something with the ball-throwing didn't set right with me. Don't know what / maybe clearer showing where the effects start, when they expire if not used and so on.

KappaIX says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:59pm

Very well done, great idea, all the groundwork for something amazing!

Also had some bug problems (got stuck in the stairs..and the floor...and the air) - but Game Jam! Not AAA!

Very well done!

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:07pm

This could be a really good game. i found it hard to control the character properly. a big more control on what we do with the portal ball would be helpfull. there was times where i got glitched from the ball.

blinry says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:09pm

Wooow, this was really, relly fun! I didn't experience many bugs! The peeking mechanic is really interesting, and I definitely would like to play a longer version of this! Thank you so much for making this! One of my favorite LD games so far!

glitchu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:14pm

Thanks for the pie. I had fun traversing the different dimensions. Controls were slightly finnicky but overall it works pretty well

guin36 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:21pm

The idea is brilliant! I am in love with the concept of this game. The concept is both insane yet intuitive and the implementation is extremely well done; the puzzles play easily into your mechanic.

The biggest things that hold back this game are the terrible controls and a couple bugs when in between dimensions. The controls really never need to be so slippery, and a game like this really needs to have strafing and mouse controlled camera. The player should be learning your core interesting mechanic, not an arbitrary new control system.

Overall, the controls and the bugs did not take enough away from the innovative idea and interesting implementation. I would love to see more of this game!

t4u says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:59pm

The idea is mind blowing! I <3 it.

At the same time I thought the game was very harsh especially at the beginning. I would add additional checkpoint just before the first jump. Learning curve is too difficult. Try slowing the first laser down.

Graphic and soudns were good. But I was struggiling with controls (big time). The mechanic of moving just doesn't seem to be good enough.

Overall: Strong entry with emphasis on innovation.

Sidenote: I didn't encounter any bugs but I feel that some design things scould have been done better. For example a checkpoint should point you in direction of progress after dead (it wasn't always the case.

JefePapaya says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:27pm

Guys, that was really great. Thanks for the experience.

For incident youtube autoplayed this video < https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HdghNESbPOk > while I was playing the game. It set an oddly fun mood that put me into a flow.

If I could ask something of you, it would be to give it a go. Try to play your game with this music on the background. It turns into a completely different experience.

Kudos.

Heiky says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Great work, nicely done! :)

icefallgames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:14pm

Really cool concept. The controls make it really difficult to use. I thought it would be easier with the gamepad, but nope. Not sure how to get past the top of the stairs. I tried jumping from yellow world into grey world (since that's the platform that seemed in reach), but that didn't work...
With some polish on the controls, I think this would be really cool.

Saiodin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:56pm

Great concept, the camera controls were a chore tho.

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:25am

What a cool mechanic! Ignoring the character controller issues, this could be the basis for a very cool puzzle game. I wish I could aim the ball perfectly with a laser sight or angrybirds dotted line preview of where it would land. Nice work!

themadknights says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:42am

The gameplay is exquisite. The controls a bit awkward at the beginning for saying something. A solid entry. Good luck and take my like :D

Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:00pm

Very innovative use of theme and gameplay is interesting too. the camera controls need a little improvement though.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Pretty innovative use of theme and the gameplay too, I think the camera control needs a little bit of improvement though.

avinashd says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:20am

There were a lot of bugs, but given the innovative mechanic, I can forgive that :)

What I can't forgive though, is the control scheme. I think this is a really cool game, if given a bit of polish.

Louspirit says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:08pm

Amazing graphics and idea of the parallel worlds. Great mood and character modelization/animation! I experienced some bugs in controls. We are more used to move the camera with mouse.

peter_sc says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 12:38pm

Loved it, well done!

tomlum says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 3:27pm

Fantastic. The movement controls were a bit wonky but the portal controls were excellent, especially the idea to have a peek, which helped make the warping feel really intuitive.

Yumeito says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 8:30pm

Awesome Game. Well done :)

SpareWizard says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 4:21am

Very great idea! The game was quite interesting once I figured out how to deal with the problematic controls.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]