Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Buck Shift

by bwalter - Compo Entry

My First LD! Thanks to everyone for your feedback!

Yes, i know the enemies are tough to kill, but the higher level you get the easier it is, and as i didn't think of leveling the enemies with you, that's how it balances.

You play as Buck and his sentry turret "Shift" fighting the shape-shifting monsters in an enclosed room. The monsters shift from bats, to dogs, humanoids, and more.
See how many points you can make! Feel free to post your scores!

W: jump
A,D:left, right
Mouse:shoot (note: bullets can pass through platforms)
(Also, there are buttons in the level which change gravity.)

WINDOWS MAY TRY TO STOP THE APPLICATION FROM RUNNING BECAUSE IT IS FROM AN UNKNOWN PUBLISHER: I CHECKED AND THE FILE IS CLEAN. CLICK RUN ANYWAYS.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#263Audio3.14
#279Humor2.73
#285Graphics3.45
#374Fun3.27
#428Overall3.26
#444Mood2.97
#688Innovation2.75
#801Theme2.73

Comments

Dooskington says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:17am

Interesting, but I was getting a little frustrated with the shooting controls.

Red15 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:20am

Good entry, the shooting sound gets really repetitive though, maybe some random variation? Love the soundtrack.

Found the gravity mechanic a bit superfluous (not required).

A bit more graphical difference (color/sound?) between enemy types would would be nice.

Your source link is the same exe file btw

spacewarp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:23am

Very nice :)

Enemies are very much bullet sponges though. They can also shoot through the platforms.

Vantaug says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:24am

Really cool graphics, the game is well done. Good job.

swellbastion says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:25am

I really like the audio. The die music is really nice. It seems quite challenging. I'll try this again when i've got a mouse.

candlesan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:26am

Fun to run around - unexpected gravity flip! :)

ianb96 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:26am

Fun & addicting!

nicotuason says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:38am

Hehe this is great! It's fun once you realize that picking up the blue dots upgrades your weapon. I was surprised that there was 3 separate music tracks.

I think the game would be much improved by scaling everything up. There's a lot of black space on the screen that isn't really useful. It would also help appreciate the cute pixel animations more.

I was also missing some sort of hit / impact effect when your bullets hit an enemy, or when an enemy dies.

Lastly, I wish there was more dialogue that I could read in a scottish accent!

NPC23 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:43am

That was really fun dude. Took a bit to get used to the gravity flipping, but it got addicting real fast. Good work

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:09am

The sound is nice, but could use some balancing, the SFX were much louder than the music. Gameplay is nice, but I had some instances of the bats clipping through walls, which made them impossible to hit. The graphics were great, and the game overall was quite fun!

Tharky says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:50pm

Aye, it's a fun game, eh. Sounds gets a bit loud though. And repetitive, eh. Overall it's pretty cool :) *says in a scottish accent*

dvdking says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:06pm

Really liked music and graphics.
Didn't like enemies though, killing them took too long, and didn't feel rewarding(if they exploded with some camera shake it would help a lot).

Reallysketchy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:36pm

Great game. It was a little frustrating that the enemies just refused to die, but otherwise it's very fun.

Rakowu says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:10pm

Ok, that is funny xD. Nice job.I Like that button inverse stuff. Good one.

Studiosaurus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:38pm

I really liked everything but how fast some of those enemies move/shoot and how long they take to kill. It's painfully hard to stay alive, even if you do manage to upgrade. Nice music :)

tanis says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:52pm

I love the graphics and tunes! It's very polished for a compo entry. Nice one!

bigpan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:14pm

Very fun game, my score was 1475 then 1675. You weren't joking when you said the enemies were hard to kill! Loved the graphics. I think it should have a sfx when you hit an enemy, and also when you get hurt, otherwise the players will lose track of their life. Good job on your first LD!

bwalter says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:36am

my personal high score: 5100 points. Anyone beaten that?

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:56am

generally likeable, but getting a little repetitive after a while. nice Art, though.

norseware says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:12am

Love the art! I also enjoyed the different take on twin shooters, where the "gun" is set above you. Being a platformer added an additional layer of difficulty. It did take a long time to kill enemies though. Over all, nice job :)

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:30am

Wow that is a hard game! I love the reverse gravity feature! Very clever! Nice work!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:36am

pretty nice game - shooting thru walls was annoying - also it got repetitive - needed something else to do - nice job

Remdiky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:59am

Nice, but you need to work with your controls for shooting.

cynicalmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:12am

great sound and look to the game, maybe try speeding up the time it takes between death and restarting if you can. an extra few seconds of idleness can really take away from how fun overall a game is

meek says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:01pm

Loved it. Brilliant graphics and liked the audio too. The gameplay was also addictively fun!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:15pm

Pixel art is love <3 amazing tunes under 48 hours well done

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:17pm

Good Game, the shooting speed of the enemys is really fast.

Adipson says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:23am

pixel art is not dead ! :)

Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:55am

Nice and different game concept. cool!

esayitch says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:34pm

I really dig the aesthetic and the sfx. Very polished. The enemies were pretty varied so kudos for that! And I loved the humor in the dialogue whenever you begin a new round.

Very stylish and "complete" entry :) Good luck!

Patomkin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:01pm

Oh boy, that was fun! I didn't understand why there's gravity switches, but it was fun!
Oh, and the music - fantastic!

Mieeh says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:12pm

Cool idea, felt good too play. Great job!

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:22pm

Always fun to see the shapeshifting applied to enemies instead of the player. Cute art style, dig the classic light halo.

neilcorre2k6 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:26am

Cool game! :)

derr says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:47am

Good game but super hard because bullets pass through platforms and there is no way to hide. I like the special attacks of the bat monsters and the music is really good, too. :)

MayankUnreal says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 6:00pm

really fun game specially the sounds effects

TheCain says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:29pm

I got 5965.
Pretty simple and pretty good. Nothing amazing, but a solid little game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]