Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

GeoShift

by WASD - Jam Entry

### Warning ###
Some puzzles may be hard so solve.

! The game has flashing graphics !

### POSTMORTEM ###

http://ludumdare.com/compo/2016/04/22/geoshift-postmortem/

### CONTROLS ###

We recommend using a gamepad

Left = A / ArrowLeft / ControlStickLeft
Right = D / ArrowRight / ControlStickRight
Jump = Space / A-Button
SlowDown = K / RB-Button
SpeedUp = J / LB-Button
Pause = ESC / Start-Button

### The Game ###

GeoShift is a 2D platformer basically. But there is a shift :) To the rhythm of the background music, the world performs shapeshifts. And there is more. You can control the speed of the music to change the rhythm of the world to solve platformer puzzles.

### The Team ###

This was our first Ludum Dare ever and we are pretty happy with our result, even though we had to cut some features to submit in time. We all learned so much from this and look forward to compete in the next jam as a team aswell.

Thanks in advance for your feedback and we hope you have some fun with our approach to the theme Shapeshift.

Patrick Becker:
- Programming
- Game Design

Michael WASD:
- Programming
- Game Design

Marius Hubertus:
- Art
- Game Design

### The tools ###

- Unity
- Visual Studio
- Adobe Illustrator
- http://www.bfxr.net/
- freesound.org ( The reason we opted-out in the sound category )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#76Graphics(Jam)4.33
#125Theme(Jam)3.94
#206Mood(Jam)3.59
#239Overall(Jam)3.58
#247Innovation(Jam)3.46
#294Fun(Jam)3.40
#507Humor(Jam)2.51

Comments

Phantom Lab says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:14pm

Windows Standalone doesn't work. The Error Message was "Data folder not found".

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:19pm

Awesome art! Loved the pulsing backgrounds

swamppenguins says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:19pm

So cool!

chromebookbob says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:20pm

Beautiful graphics and pumpin' beats. The controls are a little fiddly, sometimes the jump key doesn't work but it's a very polished game.

Satchmo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:20pm

Your windows dropbox link doesnt work.

WASD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:22pm

Mistakes were made :D should work now
Thanks for pointing that out

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:49pm

i would love to love this game so much, it's beautifull, abstract and happy, the music is incredible and good, the jumping is a bit slippery and jumping off of ledges is very difficult, it also seems the ledges are either beveled or rounded at the end, maybe that's the problem there, also the pattern in some parts felt to go a little too fast to figure out at first glance what was going on so i was stuck on a certain part where i had to jump on a spike to get over the gap, that was frustrating. but still, very well done on this one i give it a 7/10 ~ eyecandy

logge says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:25pm

good job!

luvShape says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:22am

When i saw the screenshot i just had to try it! Beautiful art!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:05am

I love the art style and the concept, a brilliant take on the theme. Congrats!!

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:00am

Great style and graphics. Neat idea too!

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:06am

Love the style!

aidanmarkham says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:43am

Very good! I loved this! The art was incredible polished for a jam game! The platforming was fun, if at bit difficult at times. I felt as though I should be able to just jump along at full speed, even though I couldn't.

Le_Sarus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:46am

Can get a little unforgiving as the level progresses but really nice stuff

MandolinQuinn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:14am

Great style and fantastic concept.

The platforming felt a little lackluster, but the puzzles were challenging and rewarding. The background switching started to grate on me after a while because of the strain it puts on ones eyes.

Stunnig art direction though.

Fumiko says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:17pm

Really nice artwork and music.
Liked the game play and feel also.
Really great result.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:34pm

The slowmo and fastforward did not work as expected. The background is really nice!

siryakko says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:39pm

Fun art direction and great mechanics. Just some control a bit to sensitive making the progression a bit frustrating on some part. Good game though

Mikaza says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:39pm

great !

Chikoness says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:45pm

Very nice asthaetics, music works with the background, very pretty arts too! But I couldn't move on after this one checkpoint lol xD; Looks real polished too, amazing amazing job!!

ploerre says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:47pm

Nice Graphics and interesting idea.
But i found it really hard to play so i gave up early.
Web version makes to big screen, it doesnt fit in the Browser,

APantaloni says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:49pm

Really nice and clean graphical style. I love how the soundtrack is integrated into the gameplay.

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:55pm

Cool!!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:58pm

Nice game. The art is really beautiful!

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:00pm

Great job! The graphics look great and fit the music well and the idea fits the theme and is well implemented.

Wan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:00pm

Finally, a game I can play with my controller!!! :D

The art is excellent, the gameplay was fine, but... I felt the level design didn't live up to the cool game idea. The difficulty ramped up quickly from easy to split-second precision, and I found it confusing that technically there's not 3 worlds, but 6 (the colors change every 2 beats, but blocks can appear/disappear every beat). Also there was little use for accelerating time I think?

I guess time was lacking a bit to have enough polished contents, fortunately the awesome art + the controller compatiblity save the game ;)

WASD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:14pm

@Wan you are totally right, as mentioned above its our first LD and we didnt had the time to come up with better level design and also there is much room to improve the usage of the slowdown/fastforward. But we are all here to learn something and thats defently something we need to tackle in out next LD-participation. Thanks for the feedback :)

Linver says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:14pm

Looks and sounds beutiful. Idea is cool,
but I cann't pass part with transforming triangle guy :(
So hard ..

kariamoss says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:22pm

Awesome graphics, i love the backgrounds. Great work! :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:26pm

great art style! the animation of the character could have been smoother and the game was pretty hard, but that logo is great

Dmitrix says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:29pm

I like the particle effects

Mase says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:34pm

The changing parallax background is a good idea. Nice vibrant palette as well.

Thanks for the generous number of checkpoints... I guess I've become a casual in my advanced years. I raged a little but managed to complete the game.

I notice the speedup/slowdown expires after a certain amount of time, like 10 seconds or so.
The audio synchronization seemed less coherent in the slowed down version... though I'm not great at rhythm games so that could be part of the, um, issue.
Yep.

Populous90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:36pm

Very good work at graphics but mechanically weak:D
It was painfully fun and enjoyable!:D Thanks for the great work!

Reallysketchy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:17pm

The art is really great and the changing background is very cool (though the abrupt changes without transition hurt my eyes a bit, but that could just be me). It was a bit hard, but the check points made up for that. Overall, it's a really great game.

Citsua says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:49pm

Nice game, quite challenging but I often missed my jump just because my character didn't jump even though I pressed space. Really great though, clean graphics and nice use of the theme! I never felt the need to speed up the music though.

pogo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:56pm

Love the art, fantastic visuals!
The platforming is a little clunky, but a solid game!

dustyroom says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:14pm

I like how everything dances! Some elements are too quick for me though.

mikeware says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:27am

The fact that the entire background changed was a bit intense at times. Really like the concept and art, but the difficulty was really tough (though frequent checkpoints helped). I think a few of the jumps were a bit long and the timings very precise even when slowed down.

Would have liked to see a puzzle involving the speed-up button. Looking forward to seeing more of this.

usonchen says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:39am

Great art and to the point !
The art style is very attractived !

fullmontis says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:00am

Very nice visual design! The gameplay is simple but quite challenging. I think the controls could be tighter. And the soundtrack is funky!

nextreality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:02am

The graphics are amazing and the gameplay is challenging yet fun, very impressed with what was done in the time limit here, great work!

WASD says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:30am

Thank you so much for all the feedback. We really appreciate that

derr says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:35am

Great concept! I believe I didn't make it very far, but I can see how many layers are at work. Can I hit enemies from below when my head becomes a triangle?

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:47am

The art and music are great!

WASD says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:51am

@derr i like that idea :) This could be a feature if we decide to continue working on this game

jerryzhao says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:12am

wow, a great team, great game, I love it!

blockdroppers says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:44am

Great game, love the music and colors.

studdert249 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:57am

The idea, music, and art looked really nice! And I liked how the time changing mechanic worked with the music, but the constant shifting between the different worlds was a bit hard on the eyes

Green Soda says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:57am

WOW this is real nice!!! The concept was one of my first ideas but i didn't develop... The graphics are dope and i like IT... as much as i love rhythm games, i love the graphics.. tho playing the game for a long time makes me feel nauseated xD but i had fun !

AnaGF says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:09am

Polished game, great minimalistic art. I like its relation with the music. A bit difficult sometimes, but nice work

Pibeex says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:35am

Great graphics and idea!

Allthebees says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:49am

Cool idea, kinda similar to what we ended up making but definitely executed differently. I really like the art, impressive for your first LD :)

indieyp says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:50am

Coolnest style)))

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:49pm

Graphics are awesome! It also was a lot of fun to play, although quite challenging, but that has not to be a bad thing. But I'm absolutely to clumsy for that fast SpeedUp thingy! :-D Maybe I should play another round! ;-)

WERT Studio says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:35pm

cool idea and also the soundtrack effect with this faster and slower mode.

leffe108 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:30pm

This was fun to play. Nice that music and game mechanics is synced. I got a memory limit message from unity web player in Firefox, but on chrome it worked fine.

A suggestion is to have a visual indicator on music speed show shortly when you press j/k.

dvdking says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:34pm

music connected to with gameplay really well!

MAN JO TEAM says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:39pm

Nice art and awesome music! Although I found it very difficult to play, I've enjoyed until the end.

hippy dave says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:43pm

Awesome visuals and catchy music. Controls are a bit fiddly which makes it pretty hard.

EpiFouloux says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:01pm

Great but HARDCORE

antglynn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:54pm

Nice entry, I like the concept. The platforming controls are a little tricky, but the graphics are lovely. Good job!

edve98 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:06pm

Web version is VERY laggy for me. Shame there isn't Linux build - maybe it wouldn't lag that much

taviandir says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:25pm

Nice music, although gets repetitive. The visuals are great, very very good graphics. The control of the character isn't great - sometimes jumps were missed.

pzeronow says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:19pm

Not a real fan of the main character's walkcycle but I liked this entry a lot. The art works well and the mechanics are quite nice.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:38pm

Damn dude amazing game but why it has to be so freaking difficult?! Great job!

devilqube says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:44pm

nice, The graphics are look lovely.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:50pm

It's a really nice colour palette, I think it looks great. It's a cool idea to control the level with the speed of the music too. I think there are some points that are quite frustrating, but that's probably just because you were running out of time. Overall it's a great job

Vantaug says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:01pm

Very cool interesting art style, very nice how the graphics are animated and influenced by the background music, it really ads a ton of polish to the game.

egos says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:06pm

very good
The last part is so hard but thanks god you put checkpoint

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:41pm

i like the mechanic with the time change, and the polish is great.

suurin says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:54pm

Cool idea and great polish, I generally enjoyed playing it. But, although I understand that it's supposed to make the game harder, the constant background flickering was too uncomfortable for my eyes and just overly distracting.

scorched says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:21pm

Giana Sisters meets 140 :-)

blinry says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:24pm

The music is wonderful, but so short :( Wasn't really drawn into the gameplay. Graphics are nice!!

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:55pm

Awesome! I really liked the design of the traps. The song is really catchy!

Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:33am

Absolutely adored the visuals and the music, but it was a tad too fast to really get into. If it was slower I think it'd be a really solid game.

Played briefly @ 2:59:40 : http://www.hitbox.tv/video/991443

Felladrin says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:32pm

I liked the game art! The mechanics are simple, but the challenges are very well designed. Good challenge!

I've played the webgl version, and noticed the jump command is not so responsive. Hope it's happenning only on the web version.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 8:16pm

Nice game, but platform are not my favorite games. But the concept fits really well to the them for a simple platform game. Rythmic is also good.

Tooichi says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:46am

Nice graphics, interesting idea ;)

Sabina Lis says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 2:32am

I liked the graphics

May 6, 2016 @ 10:14pm

Love the art style!

May 8, 2016 @ 6:12pm

Lovely graphics! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/sLxVMaXEMmg

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]