Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Morphing Maria

by Frozen Fractal - Compo Entry

A 2D top-down puzzle game using HTML5, in which you change your shape to accomplish your objectives. Inspired by The Talos Principle, Portal and of course Sokoban.

Features:
- Pixels!
- Sounds!
- 10 levels!
- A storyline!
- Role reversals!
- A proper ending!

Made with HaxeFlixel, Tiled Map Editor, Gimp and jfxr. Tested in Chrome (runs smoothly) and in Firefox (runs tolerably). Safari has been reported to work, but without sound, sorry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#19Fun4.08
#39Theme4.17
#47Overall3.94
#79Humor3.48
#123Mood3.57
#172Graphics3.70
#385Audio2.88
#459Innovation3.12

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:50am

Very good !

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:36pm

Very nice combination of mechanics! I played it on Safari and it didn't have sound.

rockybdubs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:24am

My favorite that I've played! My only beef was that sometimes I wish I could move the characters a little faster. Level 7 got tedious. Great ending :)

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:05am

Great game, very lovely graphics with clever puzzles and fun gameplay. Excellent work!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:55pm

Good set of puzzles, wasn't just clearing them instantly.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:18pm

A very enjoyable entry, nice job!

Ivakha says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:33pm

I got! Humor 5/5

P.S. Awesome game

remiv says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:35pm

Interesting mechanics, I like those puzzle.

ezombort says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:52pm

Probably the game I have enjoyed the most so far! Very clever level design. Well done! :)

Remicy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Great game! I enjoy it very much! 5/5

fullmontis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:03pm

Cool gameplay mechanics! I think they work really well, and the game design is well done too.

leocvf says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:51pm

I enjoy it, good level design and fun analogy.

Larzan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:26pm

Very nice idea, well implemented.

RedPanda says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:49pm

Awesome game!

LeReveur says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:13pm

I like puzzles, and this one is good. Well played !

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:24am

5/5 Great game! Love the shifting in order to complete the puzzles. This is a seriously well-formed game in so short a timeframe. Great work, so much fun.

EpiFouloux says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:40am

amazing ! reminded of zelda soo much ! loved it, Hope you'll make new levels

RoboRob says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:07pm

Really nice puzzle game. I enjoyed the game quite a lot.

ZpeedTube says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:12pm

I was surprised over how good it was!
Really like the puzzle mechanics and also the humor! :D
(Played in chrome, worked good for me)

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:44am

Okay, for sure one of the top ten games I've played so far. My daughter and I had a blast playing your game. She loved the fact that it was the princess saving the plumber.. hahaa.. very funny twist. We got to level four and are planning on returning to this game to beat it. Nice job!!!

Malvern says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:55am

Great puzzle design! Difficult enough that you feel clever after you've solved them.

I do wish that the controls were a little less sensitive, I overshot switches far too often and having to restart so often was a little frustrating.

vini60 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:12am

Genious. Very fun and frustrating to play.

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:03am

Awesome! Really good looking. Good use of creative mechanics. The puzzles are a bit easy for anyone who's done Sokoban, but there's nothing wrong with that per se. :)

wboqm says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:07am

Enjoyed the game and found it fun, but felt like the snake could have been used more.

danbolt says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:02am

I really admire how well-structured your puzzles were! I could have benefitted from that a lot.

I really enjoyed floor 10's gameplay compared to some of the earlier ones, probably because of the resource management with the boxes. That was cool.

Thanks for uploading!

Cowa says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:38am

Nice puzzles and concept! But I really didn't like the sounds though.
Good job :)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:03am

Funny ending and very entertaining. I love this kind of game and yours is very good. I want more!

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:25am

Reminds me my childhood XD Loved it! One more game I would LOVE to play in my bad time! Please release it on Google Play! Waiting!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:26am

Wow, so much feedback! Thank you all! Let me answer to some people specifically...

@rockybdubs, @Malvern: You are basically saying opposite things about movement speed :) Perhaps level 7 got tedious because, frankly, it is. I meant for something more interesting to be placed halfway, but couldn't fit it in (neither into the time, nor into the map).

@fin_nolimit: Just your comment by itself made this LD worthwhile. Thank you, and enjoy the rest of the levels!

@Cosmologicon: I didn't want to go to deep into hardcore Sokoban type puzzles, where you have to get 100 steps in the right order or you have to start over. I'd rather have something more forgiving, where you can never get stuck. I tried to find a reasonable balance there.

@wboqm: Yes, the snake might be under-used. The problem is that once you're a snake, the only limiting factor is crates. I think I'd have to add another snake-blocking tile to get more good puzzles out of it.

@danbolt: Level 8 is my personal favourite, which has a similar structure.

@Cowa: Sorry about the sounds. Eleventh hour, almost literally. Totally true that they could have been better.

@Pestel Crew: If this is highly enough rated in LD, I'll definitely consider a mobile port :)

cakeknuckles says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:37pm

this is such a nice little puzzle game, really good interpretation of the theme!

GFM says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:55pm

Nice game!

Morphing was an interesting new mechanic! :)
I also really liked the flavor texts... "Your pawns are to big to hold the key" was my favorite one. XD

zenmumbler says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:02pm

Having heard the sounds now in Firefox I don't mind they were not present in Safari ;) Very well put together game marrying sokoban and shapeshifting in a great package!

LeftRight92 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:32pm

Really nice entry, just slightly disappointed some of the puzzles were self-solving or too easy. Would like to see more

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:39pm

Wow, you've made a great game!
I really like mario reference, as well as interesting puzzle gameplay and nice graphics.

Sounds were ok, but some of them (snake and princess movement) were a bit unnatural. I suggest you to get a sound editor like Audacity and try to use the equalizer to cut high frequencies from some of the sounds. This should make them a lot better and pleasant to hear, especially this would help for noisy snake movement.

Btw, i'd make starting cell non-solid and act like normal floor. It just feels weird that I can't walk over it.

I've mentioned some things to be (in my opinion) improved, but they are tiny compared to all the nice things that the game has.
This is one of the few games out there that are interesting from the start to the very end.

Great job!

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:16pm

Haha loved Plumber Peat and Princess Maria xD

JoeManaco says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:23pm

Sokoban with a cool twist. Great use of the theme.

joekinley says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:55pm

Whenever I finish these kind of games, I feel really smart to have figured out all the levels. Obligatory end pun was obligatory, but the game was awesome

Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:10pm

Haha, Plumber Pete, I had to think for a moment what the reference was ;-) Loved the graphics, especially the bear with the little moving crown. Sound effect of the bear had some crackling, otherwise sounds were fine.

Arskiainen says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:42pm

So complete! Double nostalgia with a twist. The sounds are hideous! :X

shane1090 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:43pm

Very nice idea, puzzles were enjoyable to solve!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:12pm

Very enjoyable and funny puzzle game. Maybe a little too easy. I'd love to see this expanded upon.

toastedgames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:21pm

Great game guys! I played the entire thing, and enjoyed all of it! Keep it up.

endel says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:58pm

Theme was very well applied on this game, gameplay is not that innovative, yet quite enjoyable. Congrats!

themadknights says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:00pm

Nice one! Good use of the theme. The only thing I miss was some kind of background music.

SamH says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:46pm

Excellent level design, congrats! The puzzles are challenging enough, not too long, and the mechanics are easily learned. A nice little gem.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:44pm

This was clean and the puzzles weren't too hard! It would have been nice to bind reset to "R" but regardless wonderful!

Odyssey says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:57pm

Loved the levels

bogdan.tana says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:04pm

The level design is juicy! Fun to play, funny setting, great entry :D Congrats!

LadyEmaSkye says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:02pm

Wonderful little game -- best one I've played so far! Clear and straightforward, yet very intuitive. Some of the puzzles were definitely a bit complex -- I had to play through restart several multiple times.

OysterKLAN says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:32am

Great game, solid art and well made puzzles!

egos says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:58am

well polished puzzles game
Good jobs

Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:35pm

Excellent use of the theme, I really enjoyed this game :D

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:42pm

Hi, nice game ! it remembers me the tower of druaga :D
We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:28pm

Nice puzzle game with cute pixel graphics.
Missing background music.
Keep up the good work!

marmpa says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:36pm

Really liked the reverse mario type game.Loved you could transform
to animalist and the to a human.

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:39pm

Loved it, very clever puzzles!

Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:19pm

@Freank: Please feel free to include my game in your video if you like!

Asturk says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:13pm

You did very great with this puzzle game! Altough o think the puzzles is still kinda easy until last levels, for a gamejam, the level designs was great, the audio and graphics is amazing for this type of play! Great job!!

domrein says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:23pm

Amaaaaazing! Best game I've played so far. Very very well done. The only thing it's lacking is music, but I really enjoyed it.

Felladrin says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:00pm

Nice game! Had a good time solving puzzles!

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:51pm

very nice combo entry. played on safari so wasn't able to rate the audio.

plko says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:04pm

Toad!!It's you!?

tomlum says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:47pm

Fantastic. Challenging and interesting.

Jun & Pate says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:10pm

well done, one of the more "complete" games out there.

ijona says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:26pm

I liked role reversal :)

urfbound says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:27am

Great game! Probably the best compo game I've played so far, really polished and creative. I love the art and sound, how they change for each form, and the level design is great. I especially liked level 8. Some suggestions I would make for future iterations would be a score system based on step count, and dynamic elements like enemies that move over time. Being able to start a level over without going back to the beginning is definitely great. Maybe an undo button would help too. I also found that the text looked kinda blurry, not sure if it's scaled or if you're working right from image resources but it was something i noticed.

Did notice one bug, but it can break a level where it occurs: if you are the human princess with a key and change forms at the same cell twice, it seems one of the keys will disappear (this might just be a graphical thing but I couldnt get back to the same cell to see).

Had a blast playing your game and it has a lot of polish! Hope you had fun making it, thanks for your submission!

Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:47am

@urfbound: Thanks for the detailed feedback!

Undo would have been great, but wasn't possible in the time available. I'd have to either clone the entire game state, or have some "reverse" operation, but because of hacky code (zero separation between game logic and display) neither was easy.

I'm not so sure about dynamic elements. I prefer pure logic puzzles over logic plus skill. I hated many of the moving mine puzzles in Talos, for instance. YMMV.

Not sure what the blurry text is all about. It should look crisp and pixelated, and does on every platform I tested. Not sure if this is a HaxeFlixel bug or I'm just holding it wrong.

The keys don't actually disappear, it's just that they're rendered on top of each other. I was aware of this but didn't bother to fix it, because as soon as you pick them up again it becomes clear.

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:45am

i can include it ! You should sign up and click on Upload. Only the devs can :(

Rock Eaters says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 10:15pm

Classic puzzle concept, but nice exploitation of the theme. Like it.

wumpus says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 11:54am

Played it through to the end and enjoyed it. Almost gave up early thinking "it's just another sokoban game" but ended up sticking it out and enjoyed some of the later levels. They were nicely designed and challenging without being annoying. Nice job.

May 6, 2016 @ 2:04pm

Cute little puzzle game!

ermrk says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:05pm

I like graphic of the beginning sequence. I am not big fun of Sokoban, but this was fun.

quadtree says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 5:17am

Nice! Puzzles had just the right level of difficulty.

Omiya Games says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:38pm

Loved the puzzles: they were really well-made, giving just enough clues to complete, but not enough to make you feel smart. The sound effects gets repetitive very fast, so I would have liked more variety there. Thought it was pretty cool.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]