Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Soul Shifter

by Tommyno222 - Jam Entry

Background story:
--------------------
A kingdom soaked in madness and depravity. People plunder nature for their greed, hunt animals for trophies and annihilate nations for little disagreements. Evilness of the world just got way too far. The earth starts to trembling, and from its inmost deeps an unimaginable horrors arises. It is time to purify the land and establish long forgotten peace once again.

Take a role of a demon dedicated to harvest every soul crossing his path and enjoy this epic journey.


Controls:
----------
Arrow keys - movement
[Z] / [Y] - normal attack
[X] - strong attack
[Shift] - blocking
[Ctrl] - body shifting (when prompted)
[Alt] + [Tab] - fullscreen (on windows)


Featuring:
-----------
Deep action battle system with various tactics you can use
Pixel art with a fresh touch
Retro sound effects
Rich environment

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#26Fun(Jam)4.05
#81Graphics(Jam)4.31
#115Overall(Jam)3.79
#159Mood(Jam)3.68
#274Humor(Jam)3.04
#277Innovation(Jam)3.40
#355Theme(Jam)3.59
#402Audio(Jam)3.14

Comments

Jungle says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:36am

Amazing game!!! Very cool concept, good graphs, lacks of audio. I just loved the idea of using dead enemies bodies!! Best game i've played in LD#35 so far! Congrats!

pogo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:37am

[web version] I really like the artwork. I'd have liked the body shifting to be a little faster, especially over longer distances.
The audio was too repetitive and loud, more variation would be nice too.

Garris says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:02am

Presentation really knocks it out of the park with this one, and you've made a combat system with just enough elements to create some real depth. I found the vocal sound effects to be a little bit grating, but at the same time, they also gave the game a feel reminiscent of an old Gauntlet game. Does the game have an end? I played a few screens in and plan to go back for some more soon.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:29am

Great work, looks fantastic. Reminds me of sword battles in the original Prince of Persia which I loved. My 12yo self would of loved this games. I found X, Y, Z as controls a little awkward on my keyboard. Web version crashed for me.

Insality says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:37am

The great work was done! The art, the sound effects and the IDEA and IMPLEMENTATION!
Perfect! love this game!

Falak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:25am

Cool Game ^^

BubsyPoochies says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:26am

Super nice! Gamplay feels solid, graphics are nice, well done! I played for a long time ^^

goost says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:00am

Really nice and even has different swordplay. Cool shifting idea too!

adsilcott says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:11pm

Great artwork and fun gameplay. Also a cool twist using the theme. Very nice!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:11pm

Really fun to play. With the current AI and mechanics you kind of need luck more than skill for some of the fights. Going against 4 people you are going to get hit no matter how you fight. Some kind of parry or stun.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:31pm

Neat concept! The sword combat style reminded a bit of the original Prince of Persia, and having to remember to stay close to a body to have an extra life was neat.

Mechanically, I think it'd have improved things if you gave a short wind-up for attacks (yours and enemies), so you could potentially predict an incoming attack and block it; as it was, blocking didn't really serve much purpose, as it relied on pure chance. Also, the mechanics for respawning encouraged players not to move forward, which worked at odds with what you wanted the player to do to win; some mechanics antagonized others, rather than working together.

Sounds were rather loud compared to the music, but I loved the retro-sounding audio compression. Pixel art and particles were nice, if the colors were a bit muted. Also, noticed a bug; an enemy I was fighting seemed to die, but didn't change animation states; they couldn't be hit, attack, or move anymore, but stayed on their feet and animated as though alive.

Thanks for putting this together. I had fun!

UgiWithAKnife says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:07pm

Great game! I did some crazy combo and it surprised me nicely. Good job!

duskpn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Great game! The combat system is incredibly well crafted and there's a surprising amount of content.

tgrehawi says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:13am

Beautiful game! a bit buggy at times, otherwise I love the mechanic!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:30am

This was a cool sidescroller beat-em-up! Being able to possess the body of a dead foe was unexpected and a welcome twist to the game. The color palette was also lovely, and the camera framing was excellent.

If I had one critique its that I would have loved to see my final score show up on the end screen because I wasn't paying as much attention to it while I was playing. I think I got to 70-something - very, very fun! Thanks for sharing.

vini60 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:28am

Really great combat shifting.

siryakko says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:51am

The idea is so clever and so fun to play. One of the best game here

Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:46pm

Really awesome pixel art and a cool spin on the theme!

Felladrin says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:06pm

Well done! I liked the art and the gameplay! Very polished combat system.
Putting some objective on scenes would make it even better!
Keep it up!

Freank says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:03am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

TheCain says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 3:05am

This is a game that really should be expanded into a full game. The fighting mechanic makes the game great, and would be even better to polish it and add more content to it.

Four Quarters says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 4:40pm

Cool!

RealityCheck says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 6:19pm

Nice game. Nice animations and pixel art. I didn't quite like the controls - but, other than that I really enjoyed the time I spent with it.

chriiis88 says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 8:16pm

This is so much fun, great job! Love the graphics style as well. More enemy types and bosses and some different kind of levels and this would be almost ready to put on steam or something. Could you tell us which language/engine you created this in?

May 7, 2016 @ 5:21am

Fun game. Liked the graphics and the gameplay, thought the fights were really well done for a game jam.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]