Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Public Opinion

by Finn Stokes - Compo Entry

Shape a shift in public opinion.

In this social dynamics/political campaigning game, you must sway individuals to your point of view. People that you have convinced will spread your ideas to others.

Controls
========
Arrow keys, WASD, or analogue stick to move
Convince others of your superior ideology by coming into contact with them
Watch your ideas spread

The stronger someone's opinion (more red or blue), the harder it is to convince them to change their mind.

There is both a single player and a two player variant. In playtesting, the two player variant seems more fun, so I encourage you to give it a try.

How to run:
-----------
To run on Windows, you should just be able to extract the zip file and run 'Public Opinion.exe'.

To run on Linux / OS/X, you will need the following:
- Python 2.X (https://www.python.org/)
- PyGame (https://www.pygame.org/)

Then extract the archive and simply execute 'run.sh' or run 'src/main.py' with python2 from the main directory.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#121Innovation3.77
#339Theme3.55
#348Fun3.30
#530Mood2.83
#606Overall3.05
#885Graphics1.82
#1350Coolness45%

Comments

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:08am

Cute. I think it's a little too fast-paced for there to be any real strategy. You just go after the dots that aren't your color and hope for the best. It's fun chasing them down, though. The two-player mode seems like it would be fun. An AI would have been great, but of course that's easier said than done.

JNI says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:22pm

I like the game, it's a good idea, but you should develop an AI! Anyway good work!

badia_r says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:45pm

I love the concept! That's cool! Too bad you can't play against an AI, that makes the single-player mode less fun.

Venneque says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:43pm

Nice game, it's should be better if we could playing against IA on single player.

NuberuGames says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:48pm

The game was running out of screen (i couldnt see the exit option and my character went offscreen a couple of times).
Fun mechanic, and cool idea.
Good job!

kalth.streil says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:05pm

It's really innovative, but as stated requires an IA or another player to get the best out of it. Lack of sound hurts it a bit too (you could've recorded two different tones of hums easily and played with the levels for example!), but it's still good!

Mikaza says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:05pm

Nice game i love this gameplay mecanique !

eott says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:49pm

Ha, I like the clever interpretation of shapeshift and I also love simulation-type games. Well done!

qikcik says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:50pm

Nice :D

plko says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:31pm

Excellent. This is more like a social phenomenon
simulator.

kvanderlaag says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 3:15pm

Neat idea that riffs off the theme in an interesting way. Reminds me of an interactive Game of Life, a bit.

Alphish says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 3:17pm

Kinda fun to play for a bit, but it seems to lack any real challenge aside from "achieve the goal as quickly as possible"; no losing conditions or anything. I'd prefer if there was some way to lose the single-player game, e.g. by interacting with others your own opinion sways a little too, and takes some time to reinforce or something. Also, gotta agree with others that it's a bit too hectic.

Also, I like what you did with shaping shift. It's a bit of a stepping around the core theme, but in a creative way, so in the end it's not really bad.

Naca says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 3:26pm

Cool experiment. It is a novel and very interesting approach to the theme. I know It's very hard to write a social dynamics simulator within 48 hours, but this is good as a first iteration. It could be easily expanded with new features in order to simulate more complex behaviour.

danielilett says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 4:00pm

I really like the idea! It's a clever interpretation of the theme and it's fun to play. I think you should try to add an AI to the single-player mode, which would make it a lot more fun to play, and perhaps have obstacles or different shaped stages that make it harder to get to all the tiny squares.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]