Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Memento Mori

by ZeroFaction - Jam Entry

Memento Mori is a narrative platformer that examines the changes that a person goes through during their life.


Controls:
Use any keys to advance menu screens.
Left and right or A and D moves.
Space jumps when possible.

Gameplay Tips:
All jumps are judged off of a ray shooting out of the exact center of the character. Time them with that in mind.

When attempting the slide jump, don't move. Allow time to push you onto the slide and just focus on timing the jump. If you move in air or on the slide, you will fail every time. This is intentional.

In the hospital, get in the door quickly, this will increase your character's age and jumping ability which is required to jump over the heartbeats. Additionally, the last heartbeat WILL kill you, make that jump too or else.

When in the collapsing world section (after the hospital) you do not need to worry about touching the red bricks that fall. They are only deadly if they hit your character on the top, from the side they will do nothing.

Hopefully this helps! Good luck and have fun!

P.S. We are working on a version with checkpoints so that players can complete the story if they desire. It should be completed within the day (4/19) check back for it or follow @DynamicPanicDev on twitter for an update when it is posted. Unfortunately this will be a separate version of the game since LD rules state that the original sub must be the one people vote on. Thanks for all of your feedback! Keep it coming!

UPDATE:
http://www.kongregate.com/games/DynamicPanic/memento-mori-post-ld35-entry = Updated Game With Checkpoints and WebGL Support!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#167Mood(Jam)3.66
#378Audio(Jam)3.18
#389Theme(Jam)3.53
#464Graphics(Jam)3.47
#517Innovation(Jam)3.09
#726Humor(Jam)2.00
#926Overall(Jam)2.82
#1071Fun(Jam)2.29

Comments

adsilcott says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Great graphical style, great use of the theme. Really nice, I just hate having to start over from the beginning.

AceyT says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:35pm

Really annoying to die, as I have to wait to the screen to push me and when I'm finally able to have a little control, I don't have time to properly familiarize myself with the control that I die (or rather "fell into despair")

It bother me, as I wanted to see the whole story, but I can't :/

ZeroFaction says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:52pm

@adsiscott, we struggled with the idea of a respawn system, but we decided to stick with the literal interpretation of life and how you only have one.

ZeroFaction says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:56pm

@AceyT You should be able to move the character left and right as you desire using the arrow keys or A and D. Different phases of life have different speeds and jumps which probably lends to the confusion of the controls. If there is interest I would be willing to do a postmortem and playthrough video explaining our design ideas and thoughts in each section. Let me know if that is something you would like.

LeftRight92 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:11pm

Please make a WebGL build.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:33pm

Interesting concept, but the slow pace combined with no checkpoints gets frustrating. Good mood but gameplay could be more forgiving.

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:38pm

Nice.

Kifuga says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:55pm

Interesting idea, but I never made it over the third gap (with the slide before it)... the jump was always too short.

pixzleone says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:58pm

Really nice graphics. Gamplay is a bit slow for my liking. Good job!

MintArcade says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:59pm

Nice game. Great ambiance.

joemid says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:08pm

Great idea. I could help but fall into despair over and over again! Could use a little work on scrolling and physics, but don't get me wrong- all in all- a beautiful concept. I will try again on the big screen!

PKorolenko says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:54pm

@Kifuga. Try not moving when sliding. Just worry about timing the jump.

@pixzleone, the game's pace is deliberate. It changes throughout the game.

Thanks for playing and leaving ratings/comments. We hope some of you made it to the end.

DiFFtY says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:29pm

I loved the obvious inspiration from Braid and Limbo! Visual effects are great and this lovely music goes so well with this beautiful background particle effect.

But like the whole comments section said before, it really lack something like a checkpoint system. It ruins all the fun having to restart the whole thing from the beginning just for a little too short jump. At this point, I don't know if I'm going to finish it, even if I must have past the first half of the game.

And this third jump is REALLY to hard.

Thus said, good use of simple and untextured materials.
There's a lot of great ideas with the using of physics too, both for helping or blocking the player.

Good job to you guys!

PKorolenko says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:48pm

@DiFFtY if you're referencing the slide jump, allow yourself to slide, don't hit any directions, just time the jump.

We're discussing adding in checkpoints for a "non-jam" version of the game for people who want to experience the whole game. We're just not sure of the technicalities in terms of jam rules.

Thanks for playing!

MementoGames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:44pm

Great art and music, setting the mood just right.
I'm very curious about how it ends, but it's very frustrating to start all over again :(

Please, let me know when you publish the checkpoint version, because I want to finish it :)

PKorolenko says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:00am

@mementogames, we definitely will!

Mr MadCat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:38pm

Damn, I died more often than in Dark Souls ;)
But it is really beautiful and a nice tale on the theme.
The jumping actually feels a bit unresponsive, that makes timing the jumps pretty hard.

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:55am

The art style was really interesting. I enjoyed the game but the camera scrolling was a bit too slow.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:08am

This is a very interesting game. Kind of creepy if you ask me lol. I like the whole growing up aspect to this, but the music is kind of creepy and may leave me with some weird nightmares lol. Love the concept! The baby part is a bit annoying as it moves super slow, but I guess that's all you can do as a baby! Good game :)

ZYXer says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:06pm

I love games with a philosophical feel. :) Great sound/graphics and mood (though some backgrounds don't quite fit in my opinion).

The jumps are frustratingly hard (though you can see it as a "statement" on life). I'll check back when there are checkpoints :)

SIN Gaiiden2 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:52pm

Nice concept and good audio.

Wisedawn says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:23pm

Great special effects and nice audio!

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:37pm

Great mood and for sure an unusual experience! :) It could have done with some more action at the beginning so that respawning is not that frustrating!


Keep up the good work! :)

maartene says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:45pm

Great mood (graphics, effects, music), but very difficult. The delay with the (non-skippable) title screens makes it hard to maintain focus.

Hectigo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:30pm

You have a good concept here, but I think you could have made it work much better by having less gamey elements, or exploring less traditional game mechanics. It's hard to get immersed in something when battling with glitchy physics and trying to make frustrating jumps. To me the game would be a better experience if it wouldn't have the whole platforming element at all. The graphics is also just a tad too much of a mishmash of different styles, but I really enjoy the minimalistic audio, it fits the game perfectly.

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:31pm

nice game, the hardcore part where u have to restart didnt bother me at all.

Jungle says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:54pm

Very good Art. I had a problem with lag but the game is very cool!

gnerkus says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:14pm

The art style is interesting. I liked the use of silhouettes and the lighting.

I found it difficult to time the jumps and couldn't get past the first hole after the baby grows up. I'll definitely try again.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:16pm

I feel into despair but I had a very good time doing it!!! Excellent job. I like the particle ghost looking cloud and how it picked me up when i fell!!! :)

Louspirit says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:25pm

What a deepness in mood and use of the theme. But it is not normal I think that you have to give us too much tips.

LeReveur says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:16pm

Poetic, nice graphics and mood, a little difficult to jump well, but great game. :)

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:51am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:58pm

While I like the idea, I think it's marred a bit by how fiddly the controls and physics are.

I enjoyed making the baby moonwalk, though.

ZeroFaction says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:43pm

@GrooveMan what exactly about the controls did you find fiddly? We are interested in any details you could provide so that we can make future games feel better. Thanks!

medidog says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:16pm

I like the mood you set in the game. However, I though the pace of the game was too slow, and the camera movement was slower than necessary to keep up with the character. It was also a bit annoying that the character already slides without me touching any buttons.

in3orn says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:22am

I fell into despair so many times... :D

The main concept is very cool! It reminds me the Unravel game which I love :)

However I think the ballance between game speed and frequency of failures is not good enough. When I fail, I must repeat the whole checkpoint sequence. It's kk, but not in case where the whole sequence lasts about 1 minute of slow pace run. I don't want to wait. I want to act! I hope you undertand me right :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]