Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Robotic Egg Garden

by rossborchers - Compo Entry

Navigate limited resources to grow your garden into a magnificent feast for the monsters below.

Plants need water and nutrients to grow. Find a way to make sure they get what they need.

Use the mouse to click, drag and place your way to victory.
Rotate by clicking the edge of the screen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#155Mood3.43
#204Graphics3.61
#212Innovation3.55
#537Fun3.00
#570Overall3.09
#793Theme2.76
#1536Coolness40%

Comments

monkeybit29 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:40pm

Really tough game, but so well polished. This is the time of game i can spend a good hour on if I get the hang of it, i just wish you had some really relaxing music to go with this, itd be a great stress reliever!

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:58pm

in my opinion this needs some documentation/tutorial, nice mood btw :)

CasualCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:07pm

That was really well polished! The game looked really good and the gameplay was fun and interesting and quite difficult but still enjoyable. It ran pretty well for how much was going on. But it did get laggy from time to time.

LeftRight92 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:07pm

The nutrients don't seem to be flowing in the web version for me...

CasualCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:07pm

That was really well polished! The game looked really good and the gameplay was fun and interesting and quite difficult but still enjoyable. It ran pretty well for how much was going on. But it did get laggy from time to time.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:44pm

This looks so intriguing but I had very little idea of what I was doing. I don't think it needs a tutorial, just a better UI indicating the unlocks, time left and finer control of the platforms (like Unity's rotation wheels)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:29pm

Nice clone of Laser light.

JOK says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:33pm

Game looks really good and nice laser puzzles!

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:05pm

Nice game specially graphics.

bazkur98 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:13pm

Kind of cool once I figured out what I was doing. Sound would have been nice but otherwise pretty well polished. Nice Job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:35am

its different - i played it a number of times and once i figured out the growing it started to be fun - but then everything died and what are the orange things - nice job

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Weird. The way you reflect the ray is interesting and possibilities are amazing. However, a tutorial is necessary. Well done ++

Rock Eaters says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:14pm

its really nice, rotation is a cool, but i think idont get how to play...:(

the31 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 8:21pm

Neat idea, it seemed very harsh though and I wasn't sure if I was supposed to be constantly tweaking the mirrors to "spray" my garden or if I was missing something... the splitter was interesting, but buying one put me under for the next feast and I lost. I feel like this would be interesting with puzzles to solve... like what arrangement of elements will make a garden grow that produces x eggs? Speeding it up (as you could in a puzzle game) would make it less annoying to start again after failing, too, since you don't have to wait so long. The droplets moving so slow also makes it hard to judge what's going to happen once you get enough dispersion to make the laser not helpful anymore--maybe if the droplets moved faster and had trails that would be more useful feedback. Neat idea, and I liked the artwork too.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]