Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Altar

by datadazer - Jam Entry

Altar is a game that was pretty much developed all on a Sunday.

Our first LD Jam! You control a quirky fuzzy character who has the power to mutate into different forms. These forms allow him to glide softly and slowly into new places, or the rock form which allows him to quickly drop into chasms.

The game is short, but we intend adding a lot more mechanics and increased difficulty / depth in the gameplay.

Thanks for playing!
Enjoy and please leave any feedback, constructive or positive :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#415Theme(Jam)3.50
#420Audio(Jam)3.10
#445Graphics(Jam)3.50
#663Humor(Jam)2.17
#682Fun(Jam)2.95
#771Mood(Jam)2.79
#898Overall(Jam)2.86
#1013Innovation(Jam)2.35
#1579Coolness39%

Comments

thunderklaus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:32pm

Arg, I wanted to play... Need Web or OSX version

datadazer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:02am

@thunderklaus Hey I hear ya! We were bustin to get something published late late last night (this morning) and I had work immediately later. I'm definitely getting a web version up ASAP after work in a couple hours :) sorry about that!

datadazer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:55am

I apologize... Web or OSX are both on haitus until I hear back from YoYo Games support. I am having all kinds of trouble downloading a professional version + modules to be able to export my game. :( So frustrating.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:41pm

Good core set in place, just needs more content.

Tselmek says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:42pm

Interesting mechanics sadly not used to the fullest, the art and the music are quite good but the game could use some extra polish but it is pretty impressive for a first LD so congrats on that!

Side note: some people are uneasy downloading .exe's and the GameMaker NSIS installer makes it quite a pain, I would suggest exporting to either a .exe or a .zip file

Louspirit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:42pm

Nice little game ! Good mechanics, enjoyable to play. A bit too short as you said!

Tselmek says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:42pm

Interesting mechanics sadly not used to the fullest, the art and the music are quite good but the game could use some extra polish but it is pretty impressive for a first LD so congrats on that!

Side note: some people are uneasy downloading .exe's and the GameMaker NSIS installer makes it quite a pain, I would suggest exporting to either a .exe or a .zip file

Jungle says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:14pm

Very cool game! Congratulations!!!
The game is finished and polished . Truly one of the best I've played so far.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:14pm

So I also had trouble downloading the pro version but then one day it just worked. They sent me an email apologizing and explained the problem. Once you are able to download (more like upgrade) then it is super easy to set up the Web version!

****Your game is SUPER CUTE!!! I had absolutely no problems with the controls or figuring out what to do. I would love to see more levels! Nice job!!!!!

aeveis says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 6:24am

Liked the art!

Controls were okay, though a bit slidy at times. Levels were nice, I could see what you were going for in the level design.

nice job!

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:11am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Erkberg says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:49am

The mechanics are in place, just needs a little more content. I like the visual style, the music's nice too. Good job overall!

Rock Eaters says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 10:27pm

good stuff for only a sunday time, you can add many things but i think you already know it and have a lot of ideas :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]