Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Little Red Riding Werewolf

by TeamLambda - Jam Entry

Little Red Riding Werewolf is finally ready. It's our first Ludum Dare Jam and it's been tons of fun!

Our protagonist is Little Red. She needs to go see her grandma, but tonight is a full moon. This wouldn't be much of an issue if Little Red didn't happen to be a werewolf.

You'll have to guide Little Red through the dark forest path, using your environment to block rays of moonlight in order to get her to her destination.

We've gone for a mix of 2D and 3D assets to recreate kind of a puppet stage kind of feel. All assets were drawn/made during the Jam.


| TEAM LAMBDA |

Laurine Vire:
-3D Artist
-3D Animator
-Game Design

Yoann D'Orlandi:
-2D Artist
-3D Texturing
-Game Design

Marwan Ghandri:
-FX Artist
-Game Design
-Programming
-Unity 3D Integration

Solène Bontemps:
-2D Artist
-Game Design

Laurène Hurlin:
-3D Artist
-Game Design

Antonio de Miguel Conde:
-2D Artist
-Lighting
-Game Design

We made our game using 3DsMax, Photoshop and our engine is Unity 3D! The sound effects and song used are all royalty free, we did not make them.

Thanks for Playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics(Jam)4.83
#36Mood(Jam)4.12
#88Overall(Jam)3.88
#146Theme(Jam)3.89
#204Innovation(Jam)3.56
#403Fun(Jam)3.29
#1666Coolness36%

Comments

CMLSC says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:59pm

Typo in the description. You wrote littlw instead of little.

CMLSC says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:07pm

It's an interesting idea, but it would be nice to have a reset option because I accidentally left something I needed to block the light past where the light was, so I got stuck.

Biliogadafr says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:12pm

Looks great! Excellent art.

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:22pm

Really Cool game, a fast retry will be great.

Kurisuta89 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:24pm

your game looks awesome! I really like the art style & animations.

I'm sure this wasn't intended, but it's totally possible to use the table from the starting house to get through nearly all the moon light rays. the only ones I couldn't use the table for were the window in the staring house, the bridge & the 3 rays in a row. also I got to the end, walked into the house, and nothing happened. I'm not sure if I finished the game or if it froze/crashed.

GammaS says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:35am

Amazing

Matzigon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:37am

The art is really nice, also the theme is creativelly used! So well done! Some sound and music would really add to the mood. Also the game ends rather abruptly when Red reaches the cottage. I took the table from the house and used that to block almost everywhere, it made the game even easier. :) One of the best so far.

tayl1r says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:38am

I brought Grandma's Pumpkin Cart to her house, too :P

Asturk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:42am

Very good game!! I loved the creativity to using the theme and in the gameplay mechanic to use the environment to protect you from the obstacles! you should just make the retry a little more faster when you miss a light somewhere, its a little annoying to make the player wait too much to restart again! But very good game, you're all done great there! =D

pavel_insight says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:56am

Beautiful game. Yes, table saves the night)))

Populous90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:20pm

Looks great! Excellent art.

BubsyPoochies says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:30pm

Nice atmosphere, it's a bit frustrating to see little red girl run all the way back but it's a nice idea.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:14am

Very pretty game! I did miss a bit of gameplay in this.

Freank says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:02am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:56pm

Congratulation! This is the best art I have seen so far!
Cool mood you created!
Keep up the good work!

Reyn says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:28pm

Nice. I ran into a couple of situations where I dragged an object too far to be able to reach it when I needed it. Well done on the art.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]