Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Relec Hunter

by geekguy100 - Jam Entry

This is Relec Hunter. You play as an astronaut trying to find relecs that allow him to shapeshift. Inspired by metroid, I wanted the main feature to be finding powerups to access new locations. Enjoy!

EDIT: The only thing I have changed is added in better pictures and a download for OSX and Linux. The app for OSX is located in the Contents/MacOS folder. Also added in the Source code. Also added in a WEBGL build!

Caution: Audio may be loud in WebGL build!

CONTROLS:

WSAD - Move
Left Mouse - Shoot
Space - Jump
E - Shapeshift

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#602Audio(Jam)2.63
#661Humor(Jam)2.18
#918Mood(Jam)2.53
#1033Theme(Jam)2.44
#1045Graphics(Jam)2.15
#1053Fun(Jam)2.35
#1097Innovation(Jam)2.04
#1130Overall(Jam)2.48

Comments

tentacode says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:39pm

I could not test it a lot because I'm on azerty but looks promising. Could use a bit of sprite animations, try aseptrite next time maybe :) I use it and it's really cool for animating!

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:53pm

Looks nice, sprites are very simple looking.

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:41am

Pretty functional little metroid-like. Like tentacode said I'd work in a little more animation, and maybe shorten a jump gap here and there to make some bits a little less pixel perfect, but you've got a good soundtrack and worms that die when you shoot them!

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:03pm

Nice work here, reminds me of Metroid games. The control were a bit odd for me (you aim with A and D, so you don't really need the mouse), and the graphics need some animations, imo.

iossif says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:44pm

"Caution: Audio may be loud in WebGL build! "

good! cause it sounded great :)

sftrabbit says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:23pm

The inspiration from Metroid is very obvious! Decent gameplay ideas. The enemies are very easy (especially since I could just click as fast as possible all the time and I'd never end up seeing any enemies). Also, the worlds were just too big with too little content and such a slow walking speed - it felt quite tedious to walk some of the areas. The music was nice. Good work.

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:13am

I think the audio was the best part of this game. That being said the rest of the game is a good base start.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:13am

Metroid style! I liked the music!

Dreschler says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:16am

Well, I missed some visual feedback. Why there's no animation for the main character? O_o the music it's kinda weird too... But, well, it's nice, keep going :D

KappaIX says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:03pm

I liked the jumping worms a lot, would be great to have some animations on the character in the future...

Well done!

lanestp says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:04am

Super Metroidy! :-) I'm unconvinced about the shapes and the controls were slightly wonky. Why click to fire? But I played it for a lot longer than I expected, pretty fun!

Gord10 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:10pm

It needs more polishing. I found it too hard not to touch the meteorites. We could jump with space. And game needs being able to restart when we die.

It's also "relic", not "relec". And you don't need the pdb files when distributing the game.

ziege says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:39pm

I like this a lot.
As others said, some (even simple) animations would make wonders.

curtamyth says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:37am

Solid game. Would be nice if the transformations gave extra abilities like high jumps or speed boosts just to mix it up a little. Cool music but a bit repetitive.

neontropics says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:33pm

Nice start prototype of a Metroidvania. Reminds me of Lyle in Cube Sector a lot

Fantasieleben says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 10:49pm

Nice game, cool soundtrack for this type of game.

Ninjanick107 says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 4:09am

I love the Metroidvania style exploring. Good job coming up with interesting exploration and fun combat!

Satyre says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 11:19am

I want to see how you manage to make your own metroidvanian version of the game concentrating on the shapeshifting part. Keep up the good work :)

Swynfel says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:05pm

Hey !

Interesting game. You spend time putting audio, that's cool.

The graphics were okay... The shape-shifting power-up trophies were pretty, but the ground tiles were a bit too harsh for eyes, probably due to the fact that it's always the same repeating itself. Some little variation and a change for the top tiles (a soft surface, you see what I mean ?...) could make it better.

The worms had a ok AI, however, once there one you, you can't jump (they're so heavy). You never mind the 10 health points, if your in a hole, you're doomed.

The shape-shifting was used to open doors... But only to open doors (or maybe pass under low ceiling). The really felt like "keys" more than "powers", which is sad. The shapes could have done something "more" (I think).

I also had a bug : once I got the triangle, I tried to get back a the beginning. However, I jumped against the wall and zblam I was inside it. A worm was over me (and I still took damage although I was below ground), so I moved to the left and... I fell into nothingness... For eternity (poor astronaut).

So that really sucks... Maybe you could check that is the player's y position is close enough to -infinity (like -4), you could reappear over the ground? That was too much for me I stopped the game there, I didn't want to redo the beginning.

The game felt a little slow. Some passages where just too long and nothing happened. I think you tried to make too bigs maps with just too few mechanics.

I'm done talking. So good job, good luck for your next work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]