Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Desperate Times

by yokcos700 - Compo Entry

Desperate Times is a shmup in which you pilot a ship which can only reload by transforming into another ship.

Default controls:
----------------------------------
WASD / Arrow Keys move
Z/Left Mouse shoots
X/Right Mouse reloads/transforms (when XP is full)
Esc pauses

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#44Fun3.93
#62Overall3.90
#62Graphics4.10
#224Audio3.25
#232Theme3.72
#575Innovation2.93
#1350Coolness45%

Comments

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:49pm

I love SHMUPs! And yours is a very good example. I had a lot of fun with the different weapons configurations, trying to empty the useless ones and conserve ammo for the good ones. The graphics are beautiful. The audio feedback is very nice and hail of bullets very satisfying.

All in all a great entry.

Two minor complaints though:

1) The spaceship moves soooo slowly. I guess it is necessary to help avoid all the projectiles, but maybe a slowdown key would help here (especially since you only have one action key for firing). That would allow the player to move both quickly and slowly based on the situation

2) There is no death invulnerability. So once I got killed in a corner and there was an incoming bullet shower that I couldn't avoid, so I lost two lives almost instantly. Two seconds of invulnerability after a hit would be great.

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:56pm

I just realized that there is a second button to change shots based on the experience points you gather.

I see a problem with that though: The good weapons give lots of XP so you can change soon but don't want to, while the bad weapons give little XP (because you can't kill many opponents) so it's usually easier to empty the ammo.

That is a minor concern though. What I find really frustrating is the issue with the invulnerability. Maybe it's possible to file that as a bug and fix it? ;)

Ithildin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:44pm

I love the graphic style and the take on the theme. As Cerno_b has said, though, the ship is a bit too slow.

Being able to customize controls is a welcome detail, btw :)

psychomonster says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:51pm

You should put some more time into polishing the controls and some points of the gameplay. This game is really a nice thing and could be much better only if the ship would move some faster... put some speed... Great job man... I like the result!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:52pm

The graphics could be better, but the gameplay is very very awesome, use you used the theme very well and created a game that could become a game that could really be sold in stores like Steam.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:12pm

Pure fun. I love the aesthetic and the way you focus on the theme. However, the ship is a bit too slow. Could be improved with other features. Well done ++

Karai17 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:08pm

Great game!

doombrowski says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:48am

The game was alright. Ship definitely needed to be able to move faster. I was unable to reach health pickups before they vanished. Unless maybe I was supposed to shoot them. I didn't try that.

knason says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:45pm

This was really fun, It took me a few tries to get a hang of it but then it was really fun and I played it for too long :) great job!

Ellian says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:33pm

I wish I understood exactly what triggers the shapechanging (it seems to change on its own without asking) but MAN this was really fun to play.
Reached the boss, but couldn't beat it. Awesome job on those particles and variety of weapons!

samlo says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:40pm

Damn dude! what a shmup! I really like the ammo change idea for shapeshifting, thats pretty cool. I do wish the hitboxes were a teensy bit more forgiving and that the ship moved faster but that has been mentioned elsewhere in the comments already. Love the art style, juice, and overall feel. Have a dollar!

Hempuli says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:42pm

Fantastic! The game mechanic was really cool once I fully understood how it works. The graphics were also very good, and I liked it that you actually took the time to make completeable levels instead of making the game go on endlessly. Got to the third level!

curtamyth says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:04am

This a very good looking game and it was fun to figure out how to make use of the various weapons. Was a bit difficult though, I kept finding myself dying very quickly. Maybe a moment of invulnerability after being hit would help, or maybe just being able to take more hits. Overall I do like this game, and it's one of the better looking ones I've seen so far.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 5:47am

Really cool take on the bullet hell genre!
I loved what the shape shifting brought to the table.
I do kind of wish the ship moved a bit faster so I felt a little more in control. But really neat stuff. Also great visuals.

blackbird806 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:04am

A nice game!!! one of my favourites so far :), The graphics are excelents however I fond the ship too slow. Nice work !

V4lesti says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:12am

Nice entry!
Though I did'nt understand why the ship keeps shifting weapons by itself...
Anyway, I am very bad at shmups and still had fun :)

Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:42pm

Perfect game, loved it.

May 3, 2016 @ 7:50pm

Nice graphics, fun game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/8gYXle65h9c

Rock Eaters says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 1:25am

great graphics and i love to litteraly build my own way in the ennemy line , really nice effects, good game !

May 4, 2016 @ 3:32am

Really nice entry, this reminds me of R-Type!

The game art is perfect. I feel the spaceship a little slow. Also, the auto shifting thing is confusing.

Great job, hope to see more from you!

May 4, 2016 @ 6:15pm

Hey! You have been featured in today's LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LYwIu8CE2Yk

marvalgames says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 9:21pm

pretty polished.
Nice look and feel. solid mechanic. deserves a post-compo edition!

puppetmaster says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 3:44pm

What a cool game. I'm amazed! Like the graphics. Keep up the great work!

Louspirit says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 6:32pm

I really enjoy this type of game. The theme is respected without breaking usual world of shoot them up. How were capable to do this alone !?

OnlySlightly says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:46am

This was beautiful. Oh man seeing all the particle effects on screen at once is wonderful! And I loved discovering what each form did! Great job!

May 10, 2016 @ 12:49am

Holy canoli Batman, love your particle effects. Seriously though, everything looked so polished and smooth I wanted to play it forever. Please keep working on this, it looked and felt super fantastic.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]