Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shipshift Pronto

by KhaoTom - Jam Entry

Shipshift Pronto

Created by Edwin DeNicholas (@edenicholas)
for Ludum Dare 35 - Shapeshift.
Featuring artwork by Patrick Webster (@tapretsbew)

Synopsis:
* A shmup where you change the shape of your firing pattern and hitbox
formation.

CONTROLS:

* Move: Arrow keys, WASD, Left Analog Stick on gamepad.
* Shoot: Z key, Left Ctrl, Left Mouse Button, or A button on gamepad.
* Bomb: X key, Left Alt, Right Mouse Button, or B button on gamepad.
* Shift Shape: C key, Left Shift, Spacebar, or X button on gamepad.
* Pause: Escape key, Start button on gamepad.
* Quit: Pause the game and press Q key, Q key again on title screen.


SAVE GAME:
* Your high score is saved.

EXIT GAME:
* Press ALT+F4 (Command-Q) to quit
* Pause the game and press Q key, Q key again on title screen.

Font: Samuel Reynolds http://www.spinwardstars.com/scrfonts/lcdmono.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#68Innovation(Jam)3.88
#91Theme(Jam)4.00
#120Humor(Jam)3.52
#224Mood(Jam)3.55
#239Overall(Jam)3.58
#269Audio(Jam)3.39
#314Fun(Jam)3.38
#370Graphics(Jam)3.63
#1350Coolness45%

Comments

MandolinQuinn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:58am

Fantastic entry!

dcolgan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:01am

Cool idea, I just wish I didn't have to play through the whole tutorial every time I wanted to start over.

Zgragselus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:05am

Great entry! Too hard for me to play in the morning, but I like the concept of losing one hitbox after another.

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:09am

I had a lot of fun playing the game. Having to go through the tutorial every time I died was annoying.

ratking says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:39pm

Hey, I like the idea a lot - I gave a good rating!

I had a bug though, which made the game somewhat easy. ;-) http://i.imgur.com/wrzovRe.png

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:50am

Hey guys, thanks for the feedback and sorry about the tutorial after every restart, I'll do better next time. ratking... how did you do that?!? If you are tapping fire rapidly then that is by design :)

andyman404 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:39am

Great game. Interesting use of the theme to shift the hitbox and firing configuration. I had the same bug ratking had. It was autofiring by default, from the start, at a rapid pace without me pressing the fire button. I kind of liked it that way. In the second playthrough, it worked in the "normal" way where you have to press z to fire.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:41am

Very innovative concept where your weapons themselves are your health and they become disarmed one by one. way to think outside the box! On top of that the shifting into acrobatic like shapes that affect firing patterns was the icing on the cake.

my only criticisms: wish i didnt have to re watch the tutorial when I died. At first it gave me time to check out my postures. After a while this made doing several runs kind of annoying.

Still, a solid entry. With some careful balancing and a more lively art style this thing could go places. Also, maybe even consider a two player mode where you both dynamically control the posturing and two guns/hearts each.

Nice, man ( or lady )

pkenney says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:59pm

This was cool! I really liked the idea of rearranging your shape, and the way that it affected both offense and defense. Plus the graphics looked really nice, and the game had a nice feel.

This is a really solid entry, so let me mention a few tiny things that dinged me while I was playing.

Others mentioned the repeated tutorial but I agree that was the only really big one. I do want to say the tutorial was well designed in the way that it forced me to use the ability to start, though.

Next, I really like the visual look but maybe the projectiles and the hearts could "pop" a bit more - I kind of lost them when the screen got hectic. The projectiles currently have this dark purple which is a very low contrast against the dark blue background, so they're the first thing my eye loses track of when they should be the last. The hearts are also kind of a desaturated fleshy pink and could stand a little more intensity.

Lastly, I had a little trouble making heavy use of the main mechanic. I liked that I was *forced* to by the tutorial, but I would have enjoyed the game even more if I would have *wanted* to use it more. Instead, my best runs were when I used the vertical column to get past the tutorial, and then changed to the horizontal column and played the whole game that way.

I am not totally certain what the main friction here was. I think it was learning... I knew I could push that button and change shape, but because there were three shapes it required a learning phase before I could internalize what shape would come out when I hit the button. There was this combination: In a firefight I was afraid to hit the button because if I did I wasn't sure what would happen, and I might lose control and die quickly and have to do the tutorial again. So I just didn't hit the button. But then I didn't learn the button. So I never got over this really.

I don't know if that makes sense... And I will say that it's not only this game. A ton of shape-shifting games offered three shapes but I had this problem of learning the button 'shift-order' with every one. So maybe it's me!

But I wonder if having only two shapes would let the player integrate it into their play easier.

Anyway that's a lot of nitpicks but it's not to say I didn't like it! It's because I did like it that I put a bunch of feedback.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:48pm

Letting the player change their shape in order to simultaneously reposition their hitboxes AND change where they're shooting is brilliantly elegant. I'd love to see that expanded into a larger game. Great work!

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:28am

Thanks for all the feedback guys. Totally with you all on the tutorial, it was just something I should have found the time to fix, but didn't. Again, sorry!

pkenney, I totally get what you mean about not wanting to shift. I actually felt the same way while testing it. I think ultimately I just didn't get it to work as well as I had imagined (which to be honest was early Saturday morning as I groggily made my way to the toilet). Better balancing, especially shape of player and enemy spawns might help, though it's doubtful I will revisit this. Thanks for the detailed feedback!

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:43am

Ahhh, I repro'd the ridiculous fast shooting bug! Haha, it is actually kinda more fun when you don't have to worry about pressing fire.

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:53am

Interesting concept. It was a bit frustrating. To be 100% honest, I got a little bored. I feel horrible saying that because I can't imagine how that would feel but I honestly lost interest. Just one persons opinion and this isn't exactly my genre. Hope you do well in the ranking.

Green Soda says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:29am

That pun tho xDD

Interesting idea and concept! had a lot of fun... would be better with a little bit of game balancing... game dynamics is nice!

blockdroppers says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:00am

Really fun and creative game!

siryakko says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:50pm

Weird and Glorious Entry

giordanno92 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:14pm

Interesting tackle on the shapeshifting theme. I liked the transitions of the characters, although I wasn't able to defeat or dodge the cubes at the beginning XD Cool concept!

Atridas says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:19pm

Very original and a funny entry. The music is very well chosen.

Yakka says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:54am

Wow I really love the concept and the character! I found a bit difficult that you cannot shoot from guns where you have been hit, especially because the shape shift doesn't allow to have a same character on different sides. Except this point, I really liked it! :D

cheshire says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:56am

J'adore excellent jeu trés stylé !!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]