Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Shifters Inc. - A near-future dystopian manufacturing simulator

by whilefun - Compo Entry

You work at Shape Shifter Inc., the world's premiere manufacturer of giant cereal marshmallows. There are typically
manufactured for Monsters. You work in the Monster Marshmallow Manufacturing facility, and you are due to work 5
shifts down at the plant. Each shift gets more complex, but all are achievable and fun to complete.

After your shift, clock out, and you'll be evaluated. Choose to clock back in for your next shift, or leave the factory.


Controls:
--------
-WASD for movement
-Shift to run
-Look with mouse
-Press 'E' to interact with thing you're looking at
-Press "]" to increase mouse sensitivity
-Press "[" to decrease mouse sensitivity
-Press Backspace to reset mouse sensitivity


Note about Source:
The game was made in Unity v5.0.4. The source is just the zipped project folder (less Library folder), with all the sharp corners and janky source files. Enjoy! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#78Humor3.50
#265Mood3.23
#285Innovation3.41
#289Overall3.41
#321Graphics3.36
#385Audio2.88
#452Fun3.15
#658Theme3.06

Comments

FenyesJ says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:35pm

awesome piece of art.

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:38pm

I liked it.

Didn't understand at all what I was supposed to do, so it took me a while to complete the first level (got a shameful report... can't imagine why I didn't lose my job).

Don't really see much of the theme in there, but it was still a good effort. Controls seemed to be working just fine and it felt good walking around in the factory. Some nice looking machinery would have been even better if colored a little.

imit says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:42pm

awesomely awesome!:)

whilefun says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:42pm

@FenyesJ Thanks :)

@RealityCheck Thanks for your feedback. I definitely had a "get work assignment when clock in" GUI in mind, but ran out of time. I wanted to get some better looking models in there too, like marshmallows that looked like marshmallows, etc. but alas it was too late. Good point about colouring the machines though. That would have been super quick and effective.

Thanks for playing! :)

whilefun says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:43pm

@imit thanks! :)

hugheth says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:48pm

So many uses of the word shift! Love it

monkeybit29 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:55pm

It's like one of the commenters below mentioned, I liked it but i didn't know what i was supposed to do at first. and since i saw a clock i rushed around trying to figure things out as fast as i could. after i figured it out, it was fun for a little bit but then ended up feeling like a chore before i even got to level 2. I feel like with more time, you could have something really interesting with this, it has a lot of potential!

iSasFTW says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:57pm

This is one of the funner LD games I've played! It's fun and interesting, but also frustrating. Sometimes the part wouldn't go into the widget maker, and i'd get garbage. But apart from those small bugs, this game is a lot of fun! With a little bit of polishing, you could put this on steam as a full game, and i'd totally get it :D

RyanMan56 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:58pm

Found myself strangely addicted to it! I appreciated the humour too! :)

whilefun says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:27pm

@monkeybit29, @iSasFTW, @RyanMan56: Thanks for playing and for your feedback!

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:01pm

Graphically it's nice and the Valve-style writing touches are cute, but is this INTENDED to be tedious? As far as I can make out this IS a job simulator. I had a job, it sucked. That's why I sit on the couch playing video games. Please tell me if I missed something.

Yrasin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:27pm

Cool idéa! Was a little difficult to understand at first, but I managed to deliver some marshmallows in the end! :)

cheesewhiz999 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:45pm

good mechanics, but I don't really see how it fits in with the theme. I really enjoyed it.

whilefun says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:21pm

@nintendoeats Yes, kind of. It's intended to accurately simulate a manufacturing job, which to be sure, can be very tedious. However, my goal was to allow the player to discover the "zen" of manufacturing work (optimize your process, be as efficient in your movements as possible, etc.). Thanks for playing!

whilefun says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:23pm

@YRasin That's great to hear. Those monsters need their marshmallow! Thanks for playing!

@cheesewhiz999 Yes, I think I kind of missed the mark on the theme. I intended Shapes to be more heavily integrated with the parts and widgets, but alas ran out of time, so they are all just still "debug cubes" :\ Thanks for playing!

lightsoda says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:43pm

Hah, making me work after work. I didn't stick with it until the end, but it was well executed.

whilefun says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:05am

@lightsoda A second job, yes, but the pay here is terrible, haha. The very end is 5 shifts deep, to simulate the work week. It's for only the most dedicated and grizzled manufacturing simulationeer. Thanks for playing!

bigmangames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:53am

One of my favorites so far

whilefun says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:16pm

@bigmangames Yay, glad to hear it. Thanks for playing :)

Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:45pm

Loved it, but I don't see the correlation to the theme.

tomdeal says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:00pm

Really cool game! The movement animation was a bit too shakey, but otherwise I liked this factory simulator a lot :-) Btw, Burning yourself advances the level, yeah!

whilefun says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:06pm

@Pantelis Petsopoulos thanks for playing :)

whilefun says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:07pm

@tomdeal You are the first to find that shift ending I think - nice work! I'm glad you liked it, thanks for playing (and for crawling into the incinerator! haha)

ploerre says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:56pm

i'm really curious but i have no windows, so... bad luck.

pogo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:17pm

This game proves that first impressions can be dead wrong. The mechanics, while simple come together in a really unique way. I found myself rushing around grabbing raw resources and collecting garbage to get the best time I could. The end of shift report is the best part - getting a poor grade on my first shift for leaving machines turned on, garbage everywhere and unused resources made me really want to go again and get it right!
I didn't much like the character controller, and sometimes clicking things into place wasn't super easy.

whilefun says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:51pm

@pogo Thanks for your feedback, and thanks for playing! I'm glad you enjoyed it. And I totally agree about the player controller and hit boxes for the interactions. They need some tweaking.

aidanmarkham says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:08pm

I like this game a lot! I thought your art style was good, and the game controlled well. It's definitely a well done jam project. However, while I was playing, I was confused at first, then bored second. This game needs something to keep it entertaining
.

whilefun says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:31pm

@aidanmarkham thanks for playing, and for your feedback :)

medidog says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:36pm

Shift Report #1 : Notice of Accidental Incineration
Shift Report #2 : Completed as Shameful in 7:00
Shift Report #3 : Shameful in 8:00 but this time with no penalties, still shameful? Your standard is too high, sir. :D
Overall, I loved it! :)

ZpeedTube says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 2:50pm

First try took 8 minutes and was very confused at first. 2nd try got everything done in 4min with no penalties! :)

Ken Ichi says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:09pm

Interesting Idea and very fun to play!

whilefun says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:07am

@medidog I am happy to hear you did 3 shifts! If I ever start a real monster marshmallow factory, you're hired! Thanks for playing! :)

whilefun says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:07am

@ZpeedTube Yay, glad to hear you got no penalties. Nice work, thanks for playing!

whilefun says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:08am

@Ken Ichi Thanks for playing! Glad you liked it :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]