Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Pik & Pok: Star Team

by TheGreenTie - Jam Entry

**PLEASE READ BEFORE PLAYING!!**
In the RAR file there's a Windows EXE and an Android APK. Since the game was developed specifically for mobile usage/gameplay, I highly recommend you to install it on your phone and play it there if you can because it's not possible with a keyboard.
If you really need to play on PC, then the controls are just the same as the mobile version, except that you'll have to do the swiping with your mouse.
Just like the previous Pik & Pok game, this one wasn't made under the jam's theme (that's why the "theme" isn't listed in the game's rating choices), I just made this game because I really wanted to give another shot to mobile games. The game was made from scratch except for most of the sprites which were taken from the previous game but were recolored. I made what I could, I didn't have much time to invest into the jam this time around because of personal things, but at least I didn't skip the jam again.

**CONTROLS**
Walk: Swipe on any direction anywhere on screen
Picking/Throwing: Quick tap anywhere on screen

**CREDITS**
Rodrigo Gómez Maitret: design, code & art (@The_Green_Tie)
Marc Guilleron: Music (@ZylannMP3)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2304Coolness0%

Comments

tentacode says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:42pm

Graphics and audio are really good ! I found it cool that you used a gameboy layout on android, but then why not using it for input ? Needs a bit of polishing I got stuck a lot between monster and looks like I cannot loose.

TheGreenTie says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:37pm

@tentacode Thanks man! The reason why I didn't make the buttons "pushable" is because virtual keys don't really work that well on touch screens, so I wanted to make something that feels more natural on a touch screen.
Yeah, a lot is missing from the original concept because I only had like 16 hours to work on the whole thing, so I focused on wrapping up as much as I could.

strife47 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:22pm

It was a really fun game!! I liked the graphics and the music/sfx. Playing in pc encountered a bug where there's no more circle things and the screen streched out like this

https://gyazo.com/e0653502da73f6b80663d03c36303aa1

TheGreenTie says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:56pm

@strife47 That's probably because you reached the non-main levels/test rooms. In other words you cleared the game. Hooray.
Also, thanks a lot!

Sabina Lis says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:57pm

It gets too dificult for me to control the character on touch slide input, i liked the art

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:48am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Tegu says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:33pm

It's funny that you can win although you throw the object to the enemy after you had died already. Interesting choice to have Gameboy-like buttons on screen that don't do anything. There could be some kind of punishment for dying, otherwise you can just keep hitting everything and it doesn't affect anything. A combo system could be cool as I found myself trying to hit two or more enemies on one go even now. The score could be visible somewhere as well. The graphics and audio style is nice 8-bit style.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:04pm

I do like the gameboy layout! Nice work

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:24am

I rreally rreally loved the graphics and music. I dont like the swipe mechanics though. It needs some 'safe área to avoid spawning onl top of monsters. Good job!

csanyk says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 4:28am

Couldn't get picking/throwing to work in Windows. I don't have a spare Android device laying around to install it on, and won't risk my phone on any application developed in 48-hrs. It looks pretty fun tho. Maybe post a game play video so people who can't run it can at least see what the experience is like.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]