Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Miss Turner's Magical Pet Swap Shop

by Rose - Jam Entry

Did you ever wish you could keep your pet, but swap its species? Now you can make it happen with Miss Turner's Magical Pet Swap Shop! Resize body parts to transform animals into other animals in this silly and creative game.

Tip: moving the mouse up/down and left/right controls different qualities (e.g. ear size vs ear rotation.)

-----
I did all the design, art, and code. Music is "Break Away Remix" by Rick Dickert from freesoundtrackmusic.com

Known issues:
- Rating sometimes shows incorrect fractions of stars
- Clicking "I give up" multiple times skips multiple customers

Update:
- Fixed the little bug where customers were saying "thin" instead of "thick" legs

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme(Jam)4.58
#9Innovation(Jam)4.38
#13Overall(Jam)4.27
#14Fun(Jam)4.19
#33Humor(Jam)4.02
#63Mood(Jam)4.00
#111Graphics(Jam)4.23
#1754Coolness33%

Comments

CarlosPidox says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:26pm

Great and interesting ideia! Good job!

MerriGrape says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:32pm

This game is incredibly fluid and the controls work way better than I expected them to, really easy click and drag.
The art style is adorable and simple, overall it's just a fun cutesy game that you could spend a lot of time with.
My only problem is that I know nothing about different types of dogs ;)

pythong says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:36pm

very nice entry! i liked it (I call animal cruelty though :D )
the ears were a bit hard to click, once they were inside the animal

thomz12 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:37pm

Wow, thats awesome! very fun to play around with. Well done!

Max Amaden says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:45pm

This is absolutely the best game I've played so far this Ludum Dare. 5* on all :D

Keep up the amazing work!

rupazero says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:57pm

This is so so so great, I'm having way too much fun

Wevel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:21pm

The only issue is I have to look up what different animals should to look like

celia14 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:43pm

I love it, it's so cute and fun to play around with! I love what people say, too. :D

edgeofcode says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:06pm

I found it a bit difficult to change the nose, but awesome game!

jeroenwimmers says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:25pm

woow this is so great! I really like how varied your animals can get, even with these simple coontrols. great job!

Also, it's actually pretty dark people want their pets changed and you can actually do that.

I had some problems sometimes because I didn't not a specific dog looked, but I could figure it out through the tips.

And the only improvement I could think of is making the animals look more alive. like extra animations apart from the eye blink you already have. maybe some small movements, barks, sounds.

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:20pm

Very cute! Being able to change the shape of parts like the ears is really nicely done.

Hybban says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:23am

This is really a fun idea. I had a little trouble understanding what I was supposed to do at the beginning, but then it clicked. Nice job!

zzapp says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:02pm

Nice work, the animals were really cute and the game was a lot of fun to play.
I ran into one issue were I couldn't get someone to accept a bear because the legs were to thin but they were already as thick as they go.

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:28pm

Full score on 'Innovation'! :D

Great concept! Great game!

ceosol says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:50pm

The game was a fantastic idea. However, some of the shapes looked nothing like what I would picture the animal as. For instance, the accepted donkey looks more like a coyote. I think the issue was perspective - the chihuahua was only 1/3 the size of the giraffe.

That being said, I was extremely impressed by the amount of content you included. Very good job overall and sorry if I sounded nit-picky :)

Itay2805 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:49pm

It was nice but i found a bug. When you press the "I give up" more than once it counts as another customer and skips the amount of times you clicked it (including the current one).

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:30am

Oh man, I love this game! Squishing and stretching all the animal parts is intuitive, and way more robust than I expected. I wasn't expecting to be able to turn a greyhound into a rabbit but the end result was remarkable! Fantastic job.

cakeknuckles says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:29pm

this was such a cool idea, executed really well! seriously one of the most innovative concepts for the theme i've seen in the jam so far. the art style is super cute, and everything feels very polished and deliberate. the controls also worked very smoothly :)
i like that specific hints that are given when you're off, it keeps you from getting stuck!

all in all, i enjoyed playing this a lot, really great job!!

johnasebok says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:36pm

I like the minimalist art style and I can't shake the music from head - its rather catchy :). Although its been said a few times already in the comments, the controls are spot on and the transformations actually 'feel' fluid.

Well done.

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:39am

Really nicely executed, elegant and funny idea. I ran into some issues where my idea of a fox didn't match up with the pet owner - they obviously had no idea what a fox looks like! ;)

DrillerDev says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:26am

Great concept!

It's a really interesting idea, and the execution is very good as well

I could never do legs thick enough, apparently... :S

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:16pm

Great fun to be had in this... Smooth dragging controls :D

MegaBrutal says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:12pm

Pretty amazing, fun game! :) Actually, I almost rated it all-5. The only 4 I gave is for innovation, because I hold 5 for really surprising games.

Sometimes it's hard to get the right shape – e.g. I gave up on weasel. Good for learning English words: as a non-English-native, I am not good at naming animal parts, but this game surely helps to improve it. Especially great game for young children.

Bonus points for your love of animals – I hope that includes goats and cats too. ;) (Btw, can you transform an animal to a goat in this game?)

Glad to see a female programmer – although the female-to-male ratio is getting better and I see many girls in video game development, they seem to be still scarce in programming.

Ibzy says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:13pm

Really fun and innovative concept. Love the shifting of animal parts and how smoothly it all works. I struggle with the ears but get there eventually.
Catchy background music and adorable little pets. :)

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:40pm

That was an interesting game!! lol There were times I had to look up what these animals looked like so i could get it right!! lol... I loved it! Super innovative and different than what everyone else is doing! Great job!!

sepharoth213 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:21am

This is the best game I've seen from Ludum Dare so far!

bytegrove says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:36am

Wow, Miss Turner's Magical Pet Swap Shop works great as a game.
I have to dock some stars off for the delay though...

Just kidding! You get 5x7 stars! ;D

Really well polished entry and it fits perfectly with the theme! The amount of stuff you managed to cram into this game is astounding! From all the various animals and dialouges, to the little animations here and there.
Really well done, nice work!! :)

Llucile says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:08am

Nice idea really well executed ! Everything is so simple and works just so well. I like it :) It could be a really good tablet or smartphone games for kids too !

Akaboham says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:53am

Great take on the theme, working well thematically and mechanically! Love it!

I had a little difficulty with the controls though, especially with the parts that could freely rotate like the ears.

Also, while hints were given towards success, I felt like I was guessing too much as to the correct shapes or thrown off when my conception of a specific animal was rejected. Perhaps a silhouette or other visual hint could be given after a number of attempts or even once for every animal?

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:03pm

Great game idea, great execution, really funny to adaptate the shapes to create new animals!
Also funny to know that people have bears as pets HAHA! Congratulations, good work!

Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:51pm

Really cute, fun game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/ZcRqGTT86gc

thristhart says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:36am

This is by far my favorite entry so far. Perfect in pretty much every way it could be! I love it.

Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:56am

Really cute game. Great idea and well executed.

Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:58pm

Really interesting game, I liked the style and limb altering mechanic. A great entry.

pirate_shell says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:09pm

The idea was quite interesting on this one. I enjoyed the whole concept of it and it reminded me a bit of a Newgrounds management flash game(in a good way). The graphics were simple, but did their job and the music set the tone right for the lighthearted game it is. My main issue is the fact that the player is never really taught how the animals are supposed to look. That is understandable considering the time limit, however. Other than that, solid entry!

Jolly Serpent says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:33pm

Very fun game with a cute art style and an interesting take on the theme. Well done!

TheColorMan says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:46pm

great idea good job

Madball says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:06pm

This is incredibly funny, especially making animals with wrong proportions. Who needs a giraffe when you can make a living table out of it?
Another think I liked a lot is how simple this game is. The graphics, the game mechanics, the dialogue windows fit each other very well and make it a really fun game without over-complicating it.

medidog says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 6:22am

Very entertaining game, good job!

Przekop says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 11:59pm

It was great. Quite unintuitive still.

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:02am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]