Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Nami No Mizu

by PanicTheFirst - Jam Entry

This is my second Gamejam and i have to say im pretty happy with the results.

The game is set in a living room on an indoor waterfall. You have to transform the wooden Objects to guide the lily to it's pad. But watch out for dangerous objects!

Tools I used:
- Unity
- Blender
- Audacity
- Sounds were taken from this awesome Pack: http://www.sonniss.com/gameaudiogdc2016/
- Font: https://fontlibrary.org/en/font/railway-sans

Special Thanks to Marius Behnke for testing and choosing a name for the game!


Update (20.04.):
- Web and OSX Version added
- fixed a bug where the ball could move even though it wasn't clicked after a reset

Update (22.04.):
- Added a menu when clicking escape with quality settings
- General perfomance optimization

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#137Graphics(Jam)4.12
#169Mood(Jam)3.65
#222Fun(Jam)3.51
#276Overall(Jam)3.53
#622Innovation(Jam)2.96
#634Theme(Jam)3.23
#695Humor(Jam)2.12

Comments

Arvydas says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:49pm

The best I played so far in 20+ games. Congrats!

RedPanda says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:00pm

I love this game! So relaxing and nice! 5/5 everywhere :D

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:35pm

Super calming, and enjoyable puzzle game, nice work!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:40pm

Would love a mac or web version. Looks really fun!

I'd love for you to check out my game, Tito's Revenge!
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=65699

hellojed says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:41pm

Nice puzzle design and very relaxing

Acorn says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:46pm

This game is tight. I got the ball stuck in the left wall and it wouldn't reset on level 3 so I had to exit and restart the game. Nevertheless, I really dig it.

blinry says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:59pm

This surely is a unique game! Pretty, pieceful. A bit simple, though.

Jadernak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:08am

Simple yet good looking and fun puzzle.

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:10am

I like the art style, and the sound is relaxing.

Good job with the puzzles--I like that, because of the angles of the different piece, you don't always use the piece you'd expect at first glance.

Wisedawn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:36am

Very cool project with a nice low-poly look. So short though!

Ogniok says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:06am

This game is pretty neat. I have to admit, I would play full version :D

crucknuk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:39am

Nice entry! I wish there were more levels to it ! Just to let you know, when restarting a level, the ball is sometimes splitting despite it is not triggered. Appart from that, it was fun and I had a good time playing it! Good job ! ;)

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:25am

The artwork is amazing!

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:13am

I really liked this game. Really relaxing and pretty challenging. It was cool that you have to use the shapes in unconventional ways to win.

Jun & Pate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:34am

great game. best I have played yet. innovative, fun, and captured my interest right away! last level was the best. You should make the levels bigger and trickier!

Skipi says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:19am

Really nice puzzle game. I hope you continue the project. ^_^

Titangea says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:05am

Nice game, I want more levels, it was fun :)

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:35pm

I loved this game, it is very similar to my game. A simple and well polished mechanic, 8 levels. I expect to see expanded the idea with more levels ;) Briliant.

andyman404 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:18pm

Nice job! Pleasing aesthetics and fun little puzzles.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:18pm

Good art. Nice gameplay!

lycoris102 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:26pm

Graphics++
The final stage is a good idea.

AnaGF says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:47am

Beautiful and relaxing game. It is really similar to the entry we submitted, I think our souls are connected or something!

tgrehawi says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:52am

Perfect short puzzle game! Definitely needs more levels

Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:44am

Great puzzle game (Special attention to the Graphics), nice job! :D

Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:36am

Amazing atmosphere! Very beautiful and polished. Nice job!

pythong says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:53pm

nami no mizu? :) water of tears?

PanicTheFirst says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:50am

Friend of mine told me it means tear of water.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:51pm

Very nice looking puzzle game. Relaxing. Would love to see this developed more!

Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:44am

This was a lovely little game, though it would have been nice if it were longer as it ended quite abruptly. The mood was lovely and the gameplay was fun however, and I enjoyed playing it.

I completed it on my stream @ 1:15:40 : http://www.hitbox.tv/video/991443

AnMorfeusz says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:04pm

I realy like way you did the tutorial, with small steps, and the minmalistic graphic style.

cakeknuckles says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:28am

this is a really neat interpretation of the theme, i had a good time trying to figure out the puzzles. i'm also really digging the sort of lowpoly faceted art style you have going on.

Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:34pm

Very relaxing puzzler! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/1ovNEwCi_RI

Xanjos says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:57pm

Pretty fun and relaxing concept plus the art style was very interesting.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:25am

nice puzzle and great looking game

rhastapunk says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 12:37pm

Really Good job guy simple puzzle but effective! GG

Sabina Lis says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 4:17am

I liked it, zen mood, nice grapichs, according sound, congrats

flummox3d says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 6:02am

Really relaxing. I liked the "you completed the level" sound effects. Got stuck on level 8 though :( Anyways, great work! :)

pixelpotions says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 3:18pm

I love the mood in this, so relaxed! The ambience helps a lot. Nice puzzles and art style! Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]