Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Nyamo's Adventure

by DDRKirby(ISQ) - Jam Entry

DDRKirby(ISQ) and Kat Jia present: Nyamo's Adventure!

A full 2d metroidvania adventure game for you to enjoy!
All art, music, and sound produced from scratch during the 72-hour jam period.

Features:
- 4 different shapeshifting forms
- 5 different worlds to explore
- Collectibles scattered through the worlds -- can you find them all?
- Find every collectible to unlock a new game mode! (POST-COMPO ONLY)
- Sequence breaking tricks!
- Awesome 9-bit soundtrack by DDRKirby(ISQ)
- Hand-drawn pixel art animations and backgrounds by Kat Jia

Download the official soundtrack here: https://ddrkirbyisq.bandcamp.com/album/nyamos-adventure-original-soundtrack

Differences in post-compo version:
- Game now saves progress if you quit
- New menu/ending music
- Added extra game mode, unlocked via 100% completion
- Added game timer (speedruns!)
- Added a few extra collectibles
- Cleaned up some levels
- Made world boundaries more clear, particularly in the spring world
- Fixed a bug where Nyamo would respawn in normal mode even when he couldn't fit
- Added soundtrack download link (after finishing the game at least once)
- Game now pauses when it loses focus
- Tweaked some sound effects and visual effects
- Reduced collision area for doors to avoid accidentally entering them
- New item collection popup
- Fix a bug where Nyamo's sprite continues to animate during the item collection fanfare

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Audio(Jam)4.60
Coolness53%
#8Overall(Jam)4.33
#17Fun(Jam)4.13
#22Mood(Jam)4.24
#59Theme(Jam)4.09
#69Graphics(Jam)4.36
#219Innovation(Jam)3.52
#253Humor(Jam)3.09

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:57am

Amazing as always. I love the soundtrack and art. Tons of content too.

Acuity says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:06am

I really liked how the music and the setting fit together! My favorite song is the one in the area where you get the spring form. I only got 40/51, and then found the end of the game (maybe I should've backtracked before going through the final door area
?) Good stuff!

Acuity says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:39am

Got 51/51! Pressing Enter at the end of the game does new game+, so you can go back and collect everything else!

rnlf says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:50pm

Came for the music, stayed for the game :D

Nice shapeshifting, cute graphics, not-so-hard puzzles. All in all a nice experience. Found only 31/51, but I'm okay with that :D

badbug31 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:19pm

really fun to play

treegemmer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:57pm

Great game! I played all the way through! Excellent controls, level design and music, and the different forms all worked well and felt useful. Loved how the new forms unlocked shortcuts and new areas. Also an amazing amount of content!

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:40am

This is a really enjoyable game. I love the music and the visuals.

GFM says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:53am

Amazing entry!

The graphics are great and look really cute!
The shapeshifting mechanic is really interesting and lead to some fun movements possibilities (e.g., switching from 2 to 1 right after jump to get the longest vertical and horizontal movement at the same time).
The songs were amazing and really matched each area.

I like this a lot!

Freank says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:29pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

LeReveur says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:21pm

This is awesome, everything needed in puzzle plateform is here. Controls seems not to be responsive at start, but after a little while, I was use to it and it was fun. And these specific sounds for each shape are priceless. Very well done ! :D

Alphish says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 2:25pm

...pfffthaha, you leave no chances, do you?

Either way, I played and rated the compo version, then I played again the post-compo version and completed twice (once to collect all easter-eggs, second to do the same in the bonus mode; poor Nyamo, Fuzzball is still better at everything. ^^' I enjoyed it quite a lot, it's a pretty neat metroidvania, and rather outstanding for such a timeframe. I can't really find anything really wrong with the audiovisuals or gameplay, quite the opposite.

If I really were to nitpick: I'd prefer if the balloon mode had some inflation button (either "up" or "4") so that I wouldn't need to needlessly switch to another shape just so that I could start with the inflated balloon again. Also, the spring world had a somewhat annoying tendency to have these invisible borders; i.e. I could go all the way to the level's border and find there's a wall inside, while I'd prefer if it was clear from the beginning that there was a wall there, and I shouldn't even bother trying to reach that place. Perhaps you could fix both of these issues in one of updates, if you plan any more...? The game is still great despite them, but it could be even a tiny bit greater. :3

On a side note, Claustrophobia gives me strong "Undying" vibes. ^^

(by the way, that's the first time I heard about 9-bit soundtrack; is it twice as good as 8-bit soundtrack?)

Lots of 5s around here overall; even the compo version felt pretty much like a complete game.

esayitch says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 9:29pm

Insanely good music, graphics were pretty great too! All around wonderful entry :D

Rock Eaters says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 10:26pm

Really nice game. I should take the time to try to finish it.

QuexD says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 1:31am

Soundtrack is the best I have herd this Ludum Dare, graphics are very clean and everything looks very good. Gameplay is fun and the shape shifting mechanic fits in well. Great work, will love to see what you do in the future!

smoreley says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 2:17am

This was beautiful. Well done.

Farelle says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 4:21am

that was fun game! and I loved the music changes and the fluidness of the character :D

flummox3d says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 5:53am

Cute character, fun gameplay, really nice music. I mean... what else could you want? Take all my 5s! Awesome work! :)

S0rax says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:19am

Really cool game, good idea and I want more !

Nomys_Tempar says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 6:57am

Awesome game ! The feedback feeling is really great for a game made in 72 hours. Well done !

gillenew says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 7:35am

Really well made game, nice animations and mood! Soundtrack was awesome as the graphics, the game progression also is balanced

EvanEGibbs says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 8:32am

What a charming little game! The music is absolutely incredible. The art and style really pull it all together. I really liked all of the transformations and I really started to care about the little guy. This is a super good entry! Very nice job. :D

puppetmaster says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 9:34am

Wow! What a great game! Sound is as always really amazing! Congrats for your cool jump and run game.
Keep up the great work!

justacookie says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 11:36am

This game is my favorite ludum dare game so far! yes it's a platformer and i usually dont like platformers much (a lot of them are too hard for me to finish), but this game feels so different, its a very relaxed feeling and with the great music and the beautiful art i will definately play it until i completed it 100%. What i loved the most was that there were so many different soundtracks and each was very fitting for the environment it was played in. i also enjoyed the level design! i mean at some points i've been wondering how to get up there and then i just gave up on trying and after finding the shapeshifting the level brought me to that same position again which i could now jump up to. i think level design is too often neclected in game jams and you just did everything right. i also loved hunting the collectibles and figuring out that one could jump up and transform on the way to jump further and get to more places. this was just wow :) i already read your post on how the jam went so i know you had a fun experience ^-^ thanks for making this game!

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 11:44am

The face of the winner - I guess. You did something really interesting with a neat aesthetic and a beautiful soundtrack. I think that you could do something great with this project. Well done. Thank you. One of my favorites ++

Insality says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 12:06pm

ohf. amazing
you are one from the best ld guy? great work!

Gamepopper says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 12:45pm

First time I played, I took less than two minutes and only found five items. Second time, I explored a bit more, playing for almost 15 minutes and only found 38. The amount of paths to explore and the way you travel across to find them is incredible.

You provide a lot of platform mechanics and each level has many opportunities to use all of them. My favourite is number 4, where you fly off like a deflated balloon.

The character design is adorable and the music is very lively, it was great listening to all the world tracks.

CrazY says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 2:17pm

I really liked it the only downside was that it was a little short

DSSiege11 says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 2:46pm

I love this game so much! Everything about it is fantastic, the graphics, the gameplay, the audio, the atmosphere,... Congratulations to all involved!

Jolly Serpent says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 4:04pm

The music is just perfect, the art is lovely, the gameplay - pretty fun, and the most impressive thing (for me) is how responsive and tight the controls are for a thing made in Unity, which most people seem to be unable to pull off, especially given the time limit! Superb entry.

Sabina Lis says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 5:32pm

Amazing, i loved the graphics so cute, it has humor, controls felt really well, and the music! Congrats!

Larzan says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 9:17pm

Wow, well done, beautiful gfx, good gameplay + movement, a great game!

TheCain says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 12:55am

I didn't beat it, got 41/51, but then a bug forced me to quit, but this is a really good metroidvania! Very polished, especially for a compo.

radmars says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 2:45am

Yes!! I always get excited when I see you've entered the jam. Music is awesome and the game is gorgeous. You really nailed the gamefeel too, the combination of the player animation, sound and movement makes the game just plain fun to play. Clever level design; it was nonlinear enough to stretch my brain but still fun to explore. Amazing work!! :D

pixelpotions says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 1:23pm

Lovely entry! Awesome audio and graphics, they complement the game well!

scorched says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:37pm

This is wonderful!
Love graphics variety and sounds of hero moving and jumping :-)

randomhuman says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 7:53pm

Bloody brilliant.

Questioner says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 5:50am

Small bug(?): When dying in a room where you entered through one of the small tunnels, the collision area for Nyamo does not seem to revert to the third shape even if the sprite does. Makes it a bit harder to clear some spider areas.

(This is still one of the best games this LD though.)

Phaix says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 6:34am

Great game, really loved playing it.

RealityCheck says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 11:51am

Friggin' great. The animations and the platforming feels perfect. Music was awesome too. Did run into a bug where I glitched into the terrain and had to wait until I passed through it to begin moving again, but other than that everything worked as one would expect (played the compo version, so it may have been fixed). I really loved little Nyamo in all his shapes, and it was a great little platformer that should be expanded on. Definitely one of the best games I've come across in this Ludum Dare.

gnerkus says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 8:06am

Great music.

Tselmek says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 9:42am

From what I was able to play, fantastic game. The level design is well done, the graphics and soundtrack are marvelous and it all fits well together with the good ol' traditional matroidvania gameplay. Sadly, the web version is immensely laggy for me and it was almost impossible to keep on playing (there was nothing I could do with the quickly appearing blocks)

Any chance I could get my hands on a downloadable version? If so, message on me on twitter (@tselmek) or something so that i'm notified. Thanks a lot in advance.

das_Kaesebrot says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 1:50pm

Level design is executed professionally! Artwork and music are great. Gameplay is fun and intuitive. Controls are good. Overall my personal winner so far.

Beautiful game!

May 8, 2016 @ 3:42pm

Great soundtrack, the shapeshifting was great once it turned up

LeoM says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 6:53pm

54/55....
No way to find the last one....

I played the post compo and its a very nice game. Good job here.

ChuiGum says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 2:16am

Awesome graphics, and fun game overall! Well done. :)

csanyk says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 2:53pm

Very enjoyable metroidvania coin hunt. The controls feel a little bit stiff, and the platform puzzles start off a bit simple, but it quickly gets engaging. I made it as far as the first shape shift and collected 12/55 objects. I'd like a downloadable version that I can play as a standalone app. Great soundtrack! One of the better games I've played for LD35.

smbe19 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 4:41pm

I cannot praise this entry enough.

The graphics were neat (although they are probably one of the points that could use an upgrade the most: The background looks better than the foreground in my opinion).

The gameplay mechanics were absolutely fantastic. Every puzzle was intuitive, yet some were quite challenging. Every mechanic felt meaningful and most importantly: You made them all fun and satisfying. It was awesome to fly around as the balloon at the ed of the game. The fact that you got small and had to "reinflate" contributed to that satisfying feeling.
The game totally kept me hooked for a good three quarters of an hour and I just had to get all 55 hearts.
The level design was amazing, the way you teased initially inaccessible areas and finally let us get to them with new abilities was fantastic. It compressed a lot of gameplay into a relatively tight area.

My favorite part of the game was definitely the soundtrack. It fit the style of the game absolutely perfectly and was very catchy, never getting boring or dull. This is truly a great contributor to the fun and overall enjoyment I have had with this game.

All in all, I have to say that this entry is my favorite entry this LD. It might not have as much of a revolutionary game mechanic as Splitter Critters (also an amazing game), but the sheer amount of content and fun this game gave me is amazing.

Tselmek says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 5:16pm

I have nothing to say, this is too perfect to be commented. Each space is a new and unique little world with gorgeous graphics and astounding audio. The mechanics are diverse and the level design is unreproachable. Everything is as polished as one could wish, really congratulations. I got to the end and the only thing I'll report is a little bug: when saving a game and launching the game again, the already collected items were back and collectable again.

01010111 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:34pm

Some of the platforming felt a little wonky, but it was still super fun to play, and of COURSE the music is super well polished! Awesome work!! I also really like how you specified how much time each track took on your bandcamp :D Cool!

pirate_shell says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:19pm

Every once in a while an entry like this pops up. An entry that is just a joy to play and makes me wonder how this was even possible to make within the time limit. The graphics are fantastic, the music is even better and the gameplay while classic is so polished and fun it doesn't matter much. Most impressive is the amount of content this had for a jam game. It's astonishing! I congratulate you on an amazing entry! My only point to make is that an inclusion of a map would have been nice.

BitDare says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:05pm

I didn't play it all before rating. But I have only good things to say at the moment amazing work. The mood felt very nice.

curtamyth says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:20pm

Absolutely my favorite game I've played this jam. Near perfection. I'm biased of course because I love unique platform games like this but the fact this was made in 72 hours is mind-blowing. This should be a top 10 overall game in my opinion, if not the number 1 winner.

curtamyth says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:02am

PS the extra mode after 100% completion is great, almost makes me want to play again as a speed run but I've played this too long already, I should be rating other games! :p

Wefiends says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:12am

This will probably be the last game I play before judging ends, and it's a really great way to end it. Loved almost everything, the clever design choices, the amazing groovy music, and the amount of character put into the animations. Really really great job, one of my favorite games from the entire competition.

fin_nolimit says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:46am

Wow that is an amazing amount of content for a compo!! Fantastic job!

yuigoto says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:50am

Great work, in both art and soundtrack. The sprites, backgrounds and tilesets are beautiful! The soundtrack provides a pretty relaxing, sometimes arcadey, mood, which really gets into you!

The controls are also really responsive and the game has a nice overall feeling!

Congratz! :D

Ninjareacjd says ...
Jun 29, 2016 @ 5:48pm

Super fun! My favorite music was the snowy looking area's first spot!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]