Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Don't Shapeshift

by ginger9 - Compo Entry

!!! IMPORTANT !!!

TheCain says he got confused because the Boss cannot be hurt. In fact the ending will be triggered once the Hero is killed in the final fight. And I add the hurt script (the one I use for other monsters), I'm not sure is that 'bugfix', If you think not, please run this unfixed version: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0BwIGXpEdYqAMQ1ZtUTBUeXBVWW8

OK, it seems fine.

===========================================

Hmm... Finally I submit it.

It has no music but stiff operation, some unfixed bug(I have fix most of them now), but not bad for my first time.

It's a story about a man who is trained to be a dragon slayer, little act, and I think the ending is interesting anyway.

Enjoy it, and enjoy your life.

===========================================

Operation:

Move - A, D or Arrow keys
Jump - Space
Attack - Z, X, C
Restart - P

===========================================

Tips:

- There is some unfixed bug, so to walk into next room instead of to jump.
- If something wrong, just press 'P' to restart the level.
- If camera is out of control, jump twice.
- Everything designed in 800 * 600.
- If there is any bug, tell me in the comment.

===========================================

Fixed bugs:
* Wrong parameter with level controller (makes level end earlier than designed)
* Wrong layer selection about collision (makes some monster lost their hurt value)
* Add WebGL version
* Add a limitation before the last transporters (jumping into that transporter will make camera out of control)
* Fix wrong text tutorial (moving key is A and D instead of WASD, and the key to shapeshift is C instead of Z)
* Add hurt script of other monster to the boss, too. (makes player confused about the final fight). I have some explain in the IMPORTANT part, if you think this is not a bugfix, please play and vote to the unfixed version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#190Graphics3.66
#306Mood3.15
#473Humor2.18
#769Overall2.82
#816Innovation2.47
#891Theme2.32
#892Fun2.25

Comments

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:08pm

Whoa!
Really enjoyed this graphics, make your game feel like Another World. Nicely achieved animations too.
<3

ginger9 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:39pm

I'm sorry about the bugs, but I have fixed them, and new version is uploading.

@FrameMatt, I use the default color patterns of Aseprite, I think it helps a lot.

TiRSO! says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:49pm

I think you started in the right direction but the game is too rough at the moment.

cornand34 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:49pm

The game camera is quite fucked up, alot of the times my character is out of the screen.
my resolution is 1920x1080 if that may help you fix it.

pixzleone says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:07pm

Very nice graphics!

ginger9 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:45am

@cornand34 I'll try to fix the camera problem

TheCain says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:34am

I had some issues. The story progressed kind of wierd, and I got stuck on the level with the giant robot. Can it be killed? I couldn't go anywhere, and he wouldn't shapeshift.

ginger9 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:49am

@TheCain In fact it can't. I'm sorry I should design something to notice that. The ending will be triggered if the hero is killed. The one will shapeshift is hero, instead of the giant robot.

subpixel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:02am

Really great start, I love the artwork, and I love any game that's trying to tell a story. I hope you keep going!

I had some pretty bad problems though: the camera kept floating away from the scene. I had to stop playing when in one scene it finally just floated off to the left and I couldn't see what was happening anymore. I was playing the Unity version, and I clicked through to play it on your site.

ginger9 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:18am

@subpixel I can't reappear that bug. But I think reason maybe camera try to follow hero while hero pass transporter, it may help to jump once or twice before walk into next room.

ginger9 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:45am

@subpixel @cornand34 I have fixed that bug. It occurs when you jump into the final room. I have added some limitation before that entrance, that's not the best way, but I cannot find the code mistake. So just always walk into next room, it's the most safe way.

SeaDads says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:07pm

Graphics are simple but really beautiful! So much atmosphere in them, music would have lifted it even more, but well done!

jofra says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:13pm

Cool graphics! but i would have liked to play it with sound, for a better mood.

bluszcz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:40pm

Graphics is well done! And I liked Dalek-alike enemies ;)

dunin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:42pm

nice "another world" looking,
I think that gameplay need some work
(and dialogues are a little bit too fast for non-english people...)

ginger9 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:15am

@dunin I adjust dialogue speed by my feeling, but I forgot I'm very similar to the text as author :(
I'll try to slow down next time.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:53pm

Whoa, these graphics are nice. As non-native speaker it was difficult to follow the dialogue speed, though. And I would have expected the shapeshifting theme to be more central to the game.

But still I had a very good overall experience. Good job :)

pchhana says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:12pm

I can see the amount of effort you put into graphics! The animation does seem overdone. I think it will be much better if you made him walk faster!

Larzan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:36pm

Nice idea, love the gfx, but i didn't really understand what i had to do ...

fafastudio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:55pm

Very nice !
A bit lack of audio, but i loved the art !
I would just say that the intro goes way too fast for people who don't speak english that well ^^

Well done !

iossif says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:01pm

ZXC controls make me cry with a QWERTZ keyboard :p

no other complaints though.

ginger9 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:51am

@iossif In fact, as I use default unity input settings for move, arrow keys is another choice. I'm sorry that I forgot to say it. I have updated the operations.

ginger9 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:15am

@iossif I'm sorry for my misunderstanding. I have forgot QWERTZ, sorry.

lumscum says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:17am

Graphics and animation were very nice! Reminded me of games like Another World or Prince of Persia. The camera could have moved a little smoother though, it was a little disorienting having it "pop" into position whenever I moved.

TreenewT says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:23pm

Nice animations, the only issue I had was that I didnt fully understand the controls until I spammed the key board and learnt there was a double jump.

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:02pm

I love the art of this game.

I think this is a good start and a good concept, but definitely needs more work to feel really good.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:16am

simply wonderfull !

gelisam says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 3:31pm

Great graphics, but the text goes by way too quickly! How about a "continue" button?

I didn't feel like I had much agency over the outcome of the fights, we just both shoot as fast as we can and the one with the least amount of health dies first. Speaking of which, how about displaying a health bar?

And if we're supposed to use P to restart whenever the camera mysteriously flies away, how come it restarts us at the ship and not at the beginning of the new room which caused the camera to fly?

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 4:13am

The pixel art was the only thing about this that I liked. The animation and especially the transitions between scenes were very jarring, and the conversation segments had very quick timing that didn't allow enough time to read them. Gameplay was lousy. I could walk, I could see instructions telling me how to jump and attack, but my attacks didn't seem to hit anything, and then I'd just sort of find myself in the next scene, for no apparent reason, and I had no idea what was going on.

Despite all the negatives, I really liked the art style, and if you can work out some better engine programming and decent controls, this could be turned into something playable and decent.

EvanEGibbs says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 7:21am

The game's art is really cool! I love the atmosphere to it. The screen scrolling is a little jittery, but overall it is very nice! Great job on this. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]