Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shifter

by sP0CkEr2 - Compo Entry

Shifter the Robot is a Shape Shifter - use your special powers to guide him in changing the color and shapes to match those falling towards the bottom of the Universe, which is represented by your screen.

This game take a couple levels to get going, but it gets very hard. Enjoy!!


Left Arrow/A = Move Lane Left
Right Arrow/D = Move Lane Right
Up Arrow/W = Make Shifter Paint Shape
Down Arrow/S = Make Shifter Shift the Shape

Space Bar = Hurl a nuclear Shape bomb up to the heavens.

* NOTE * I did not do all the audio, just some of it, so I opted out of this category. Thanks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#392Humor2.40
#544Graphics2.85
#559Theme3.23
#657Mood2.61
#674Innovation2.78
#762Fun2.67
#802Overall2.77

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:57am

Overall a fun game. Could use some kind of feedback for when the level is going to change

Trickman says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:42am

Reminds me of some classics. Kind of like missile commander, but in one dimension. Horizontal movement would have made the game much better :V

Rabbits... says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:42am

Bit of a learning curve, but really liked the music and sound effects.

leo_p_mahon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:58am

I love that little robot! He is adorable. It's kind of frustrating when you have to go back to level 1 every time you die though because after the later levels level 1 is tedious. Sound Effects provide great feedback.

FelixNemis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:17am

Fun game, but you're supposed to make all the assets yourself for the compo (I assume you didn't make all the sound since you said so in the description)

avinashd says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:21am

The game is a bit slow, but the color/shape combo is a really neat and well-implemented idea.

subpixel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:23am

Nicely done. I enjoyed watching the little robot at his work.
I'd recommend moving him a little off to the side though, so that he doesn't obscure the shape/color he's working on.

timeshapers says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:55am

Very slow start, I could do other things while I waited for the shapes to come.

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:35am

I like the graphic style. First times is difficult to understand the objective of the game, but it's a funny game! Good job!!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:59pm

Really cool game little bit slow at beginning, but with two lines it was funny

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:15pm

Cute little game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/KyB-5ZqWXwk

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:26pm

Solid and fun ,a little confusing at first.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:08am

Some of the sound effects are ear splitting loud. Difficulty ramps up pretty quick once you get to level 3.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:58am

That robot is adorable. great sfx. Could pick up the pace a bit faster

Rulrite says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:10pm

A cool game, and very cute. Along with the charming graphics, the main concept is really solid - and switching lanes, colours and shapes is a lot more taxing on the brain than I thought it'd be, in the later levels! The unlockable themes are a nice bonus, too. Great job!

UltraRat says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:35am

Nice game, It took me awhile to figure out I needed to shoot not let it drop onto a match but once I did it really got going.

It'd be nice if the robot went under the blocks, it's unclear if thats the design intent since you can see some of them and it's starts out color based.

mightymarcus says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:13am

After I noticed how to play, I had fun playing it. It plays really well, and I thought I was real good, but it's getting harder (that's good too).

Ibzy says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:07am

Fun little game. Difficulty curve is a little slow, but introduces new shapes/colours well (not information overload like some submissions).
Good job

qu2 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:35am

A very nice little game, except the first few minutes which are dull.
Also, you should really only use things you made in 48hrs for the compo. This belongs in the Jam as-is.

retrograze says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:28am

I like it, though the first level was a bit slow. I like how it all changes and flows with the theme. Many thumbs up!

Insality says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:48am

Nice game! A very good animations and shakings of objects. Its looks great
Nice idea and good implementation! Good game.

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:19am

First level is a bit slow but really help to understand what's going on. Good graphics !

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:38am

Really nice difficulty curve on this one! Had me hooked, got a highscore of 5100 ^^

James Coote says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:49pm

Interesting. Took me a while to figure out the controls. Initially I thought I had to hit D to travel to the change-shape-box and A to modify it. Worked it out in the end though. I was expecting multiple boxes to show up at an earlier level, and the game was a touch slow with the pacing in the first two levels.

I liked the music also!

Anachron says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:34am

Cool little robot guy and nice idea!

cynicalmonkey says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 5:50pm

the volume of sound effects was a little uncomfortable at times, but overall an interesting idea. its a really slow start though, initially I thought it wasn't working properly as there is no hint that mechanics are being introduced slowly, or what the controls refer to. So I was trying to change shape/lane on the first level.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]