Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Block Shift

by gameXcore - Compo Entry

I came to the party late and only had around half a day in which to get this done, therefore my take ont he theme is pretty loose, you are "shifting shapes" around (get it?).

Anyway, this is a neat little puzzle game where the aim is to shift your blocks onto the markers before the time runs out. Blocks can't pass another block, or the trail of a moving block.

Built using UE4.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#260Audio3.15
#360Overall3.33
#431Fun3.19
#534Humor2.00
#568Graphics2.80
#605Mood2.71
#630Innovation2.86
#632Theme3.10
#1483Coolness41%

Comments

hugheth says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:43pm

Simple and cool :)

tomdeal says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:55pm

Cool game! It's simple, but its fun nonetheless. The only minor complaint I have is that it's difficult to click the floor tile directly above a cube. But that's nitpicking ;-)

WizByte_Games says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:07pm

I was not expecting this type of game for this theme. I was under the assumption everyone was making games based on transforming into different forms. You sir have the best game I have tested so far since it is so unique.

qu2 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:08pm

I don't think that's a loose interpretation of the theme at all :)
Well done for getting it in so quickly. Also for the funky funky music :)

panoslennon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:39pm

nice idea

JNI says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:33pm

Really simple but cool game. Good job!

Pomb says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:15am

Simple, but the movement speed of the blocks makes it feel sluggish.

jonnopon3000 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:58pm

Enjoyable, nice work!

jk5000 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:05pm

Simple and super great. I love this. Well done.

By the way fantastic music.

bazkur98 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:50pm

Simple and fun. I wish more entries were simple and focused less on the art and more on the gameplay. Nice Job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]