Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Infinite shifter

by Martins - Compo Entry

Idle game with minimal clicking. Let the shapes fall, you can shift the shapes and colors for bigger profit. But don't go too far - spiky shapes are dangerous. Explore all the different combinations!

---
Made using:
- Unity
- Visual Studio
- Paint.net

With help from:
http://www.1001freefonts.com/ (Fonts)
http://www.dafont.com (Fonts)
http://sfbgames.com/chiptone (Sounds)
http://www.bfxr.net (Sounds)
http://www.leshylabs.com/apps/sfMaker/ (Sounds)
http://www.noisetexturegenerator.com/ (Noise image)

PS
keywords: HTML5, Unity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#155Theme3.84
#193Innovation3.58
#352Overall3.34
#417Fun3.21
#493Audio2.61
#556Mood2.79
#568Graphics2.80
#589Humor1.81

Comments

basstian11 says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 1:45pm

omg i make rectangle ! :-D nice idea

jdmazz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:40am

Very innovative. I enjoyed it.

urfbound says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:42am

Cool game! It's been a while since I played a good money builder game. I love the mood of it - kinda like rainymood combined with Interactive Buddy. The graphics are solid and the sound effects are really polished and add well to the mood. If there was one thing that I would change it would be to reduce the effect of the negative money shapes. It's pretty easy to get stuck in a rut if you have too many of those. Maybe some interactive way to deal with them a little better, like the ability to rent a net that would catch x number of negative money shapes for a flat fee. Overall a great and polished game! Thanks for your submission, I was glad to have the chance to play it :D

egos says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:42am

an upgrade game well realized and especialy the design /ui
good job

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:44am

A pretty interesting take on idle games, I like that it actually takes thought compared to something like cookie clicker.

Dooskington says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:45am

I actually played for a while. Interesting indeed. I didn't like how new shifters that I bought could spawn on top of my other ones.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:46am

Random works for spawning shape shifters, but random for emitters feels awful when you get rapid, color shape emitting one time and then get slow, grey blobs the next TWO times. But overall, this is a wonderful idle game and with some polish would easily be my favorite idle game of all time.

Syldarion says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:40am

The game is, of course, slow-paced, and I really like that. I like the simplicity of it. And that itch to collect all of the shapes was driving me insane. Great job.

redwizard says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:36pm

Real good idea. Congratulations.

gurkenhobel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:04am

i saw your post at the beginning of the jam on the startpage. searched my history to play the game. totally worth it. great job!

oxysoft says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:10am

I love incremental games so naturally I liked this game. Well done!

Munchy2007 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:40am

Nice relaxing game.

Qwert73401 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:51pm

Found a bug... http://prntscr.com/au8r2q

BitDare says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:43am

Interesting Idea. I love money making games and this put it in a nice with with a clean UI.

tjxx says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:46am

Really cool concept! Definitely on the list of original ideas.

Wahooney says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:56am

Strangely addictive.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:36am

It took me a second to figure out what was going on but then I got the hang of it and it is quite simple. I like how you can buy stuff to make more money and you can see all the shapes you made. Nice work!!

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:18am

The pokemon collecting aspect was a really good call, and the ability to make custom combos.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:51am

Shit! I lost 30 min of my life trying to complete all shapes and colours. I love it, but I felt a little disappointed because there are no prize for completing the panel, not even a words... v.v

Pietdagamer says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:20pm

I got all the shapes :D Even though it was a bit laggy for me it was very enjoyable to play.

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:51pm

kinda fun, interesting take on a clicker. good use of sfx.

Arskiainen says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:22pm

Cookie clicker without clicking. Cool take on that.

endel says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:54pm

I voted 5 in innovation and theme. Really fun clicker game here. I just didn't quite understand the difference in rewards between color and shape. Congratulations.

ragnta says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:22pm

Cool game. This is my favorite gamestyle. :) I missed the not random buy buttons :(

sepharoth213 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:27pm

Really clever idea, definitely a lot of potential here! Good job!

IvanFon says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:41pm

This was a spectacular incremental game! The graphics are nice and it has very unique gameplay. My only complaint is that it gets slower much sooner than most other incremental games, although I enjoy that there is minimal clicking. Great job!

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:09pm

I live it! its so adictive GG

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:19pm

Interesting game! I wasn't able to figure out the pattern, but I did make lots of money! Nice job!

OysterKLAN says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:03am

A really relaxing game, pretty fun.

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:06am

Very well designed and balanced! I completed all the shapes!

gnerkus says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:46am

I don't like spikes. Nice game.

It took me a while to figure out what to do but I did and enjoyed the clicking.

marmpa says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:00pm

Nice game.It feeled like cookie clicker but i really liked it.Good job

tayl1r says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:16pm

I think I goofed and ended up with just grey emitters but needing a ton for my upgrades :(((

Good game tho!

hunttis says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:29pm

Very nice! Managed to get all the shapes!

Don't even really get why this was so fun, but I guess just watching stuff fall is fun :D I think the random-color blob emitter is a bit too powerful (at least if you want to generate all of them)

Togimaro says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:34pm

Very good idea and extremely addictive!
Great job!

Brickkid512 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 1:28pm

Very cool idea. Its a good time killer.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]