Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Escape

by JoeManaco - Compo Entry

​​Escape the dungeon by shapeshifting your hero!​

[HOW TO PLAY]

Use The Keys (A,S,D,F) (or either click with the mouse on the icons) to shapeshift your hero.

You can shift between these charakters:

SPACEMAN: He can walk to the left and right. He automatically turns if a wall occurs.
FROG: The frog can jump!
BIRD: The bird can fly upwards!
STONE: The stone is invincible!

Have fun!

[About Me]
I'm a german indie developer. Follow me on twitter: http://twitter.com/joemanaco Check out my games at : http://www.asylumsquare.com and http://www.intermediaware.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#25Theme4.26
#62Fun3.87
#65Overall3.88
#85Audio3.65
#104Innovation3.81
#177Mood3.40
#235Humor2.87
#288Graphics3.44

Comments

Azumiar says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 5:08pm

Awesome game!

Alphius says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 5:21pm

"Wow! You've completed this game!"
Seems like I made it to the end. Game as great! Best game I've played so far! Good job!

Cowa says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 6:04pm

Really nice!

GaryS says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 11:18pm

This is excellent!

RadMcCool says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 11:29pm

This is really good, nice use of theme. Really enjoyed playing it.

Dasginger says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:26am

Really nice concept and execution. The levels were well thought out, and pretty tough, fun game!

rupazero says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:30am

This is really fun! Interesting mechanic and good level design that does the job of letting me try it all out and learn to solve problems. Love the death animation.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:31am

Very nice, I really like this game. Great effort. Played all the way through. Great concept.

CarlosPidox says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:31am

Great!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:38am

Best Game ive been able to play on mac all night so far. Really was grooving to the music. and the got use to the controls very quickly.!

roxflame says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:42am

Nice one! Had fun playing :) Best of the entries I've looked at thus far.

masterkrepta says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:04am

I couldn't stop smiling at the music.I like how you subtly introduce the mechanics of each creature before the real challenge starts.

aegypticus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:35am

Really awesome game. Great tutorial mechanics. Very well polished and a solid entry into Ludum Dare.

Jordan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:42am

I was confused at first trying to figure out how to jump and such, but caught on within seconds. Really love the mechanic! Something larger and more polished with this mechanic would be cool. Eventually I got stuck ;(

seitnerk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:24am

nice use of the shapeshifting!

cubegames13 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:36am

neat!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:34pm

Lovely graphics and audio! And the theme is well fitted with a fun mechanic. Played some stages until the screen gone black. Good done, sir!

Logun says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:36pm

Nice game, sime and cool mechanics

ChrisMingay says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:27pm

Awesome implementation of the theme :)

JNI says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:57pm

Cool idea and good execution!

PremadeGames says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:59pm

I really liked it! Some sounds are mono though, which is kinda weird.

Khallane says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:05pm

Nice Game, Good Job!

state550 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:06pm

Fantastic! This is the first game I've reviewed and it's setting the bar high!

cornand34 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:28pm

Quite a good game, didn't finish the game though but i liked it.

avocadojoe says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:31pm

nice!

flummox3d says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:40pm

Nice graphic style and I really love the effects and the music. The autorun aspect of the game was a bit hard for me to get used to, but that doesn't mean it's not fun :) Great game!

AlexLamarche says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:45pm

Probably top 50 right here

BoltKey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:00pm

Great implementation of the theme and overall execution. I think it could be a bit more interesting if it was taken a bit differently though, as a logic game where you see the whole map and have to set points where the hero transforms to another shape. The levels would be a bit more complex so there would be some challenge. But this one is very good as well.

meganukebmp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:39pm

Just what you'd expect from a shapeshifter game. Very fun. Great Job!

thomz12 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:04pm

Great graphics, music and gameplay. Very intresting concept. Great job! :)

Holtenice says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:17pm

Lovely music and fun to play. I like the level design a lot. Well done!

pjimmy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:46pm

Awesome game, very cool and creative!

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:13pm

Great use of the theme, and really challenging puzzles. It's a twist on endless runners that I haven't seen before.

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:07am

Great job :D Really nice

Dsnunes says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:35am

This game is among my favorites!

BigBrother says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:45am

THIS IS GREAT! (by the way, I recognize that rock...)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:50am

One of the best entries I've seen yet. Perfect use of the theme! Would love to see this become a full game.

jbasinger says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:25am

Wow this is a great game!

psychonull says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:51am

Great game, quite hard to get used to the controls at first but really fun game. Great job!

RafaSKB says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:43am

This game is fantastic!!! Simple gameplay, simple mechanics, simple graphics, and everything is awesome together! Great work! I even downloaded a desktop version to keep playing forever haha 5/5

norseware says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:23am

Masterful.

I love this game! Well done, on every front! :)

pirate_shell says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:43am

Spectacular game! The mechanics were so simple, but so elegant and fun. It managed to use infinite runner-esque mechanics without turning into a generic entry. I mean, you deserve props on that alone :D I also like the simple art and the music was really enjoyable. I do however wish, it didn't restart after every level, because most of the levels were quite short. Other than that, though, really fun and polished!

Kaffeefleck says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:15am

Very nice game!

guslarsen says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:21pm

Nice game!

arhpositive says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:37pm

Brilliant game. It was rather short, I could've played along for a couple more levels. It was everything one can hope for in a puzzle platformer about shapeshifting. Keep up the good work!

Raphael_ says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:39pm

Awesome!

LostViking says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:35pm

It's fun and uses the theme great, has well implemented mechanics and a good difficulty curve. This is definitely one of the best games i've tried this Ludum dare!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:37pm

Heya JoeManaco ! Amazing concept ! It's a 48hrs win !

luquio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:32pm

wow this is really great invention of gameplay! i love it! music its also great!

nextreality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:01am

Now this game was impressive. Multiple transformation and all of them with a unique use showcased through the tailored levels. I am very impressed that this was made in only a short amount of time! Very good job man!

neilcorre2k6 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:41am

Hahaha, that was great! :D

ginger9 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:52pm

My game screen becomes black after I do some operation including click other part of page, and click back to game.
Awesome game.

Mieeh says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:43pm

Wow, cool game and cool mechanic for theme. Alotugh it kinda stoped working when i pressed the restart button on like level ?4-5? Other than that, really cool and fun game!

LordHannu says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:41pm

I liked this game. Nice work!

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:22pm

This game ROCKS!!!! Plus you have a reset button in case you get stuck! Nice music, excellent job!!!!!! Replay value was super high on this one!

Dyn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:24pm

Awesome take on theme

rahulparihar says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:30pm

Awesome and a very fun to play game. Played it for long, and enjoyed the music, man the music was dope! Some well laid down puzzles and character mechanics made this one of the favourites of LD35 for me. :)

Crosstales says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:55pm

Great game, we had a similar idea but decided to do something else.
Good job!

vicious_br says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:45am

Like my game, but much more better!

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:31am

One of the better entries! It's got good level design which is nice to see. Love the music too

Yumeito says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:07am

Absolutely Love this Game. Best I've played so far..:)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:12pm

Actually really cool, gj!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:18pm

Great game! Gameplay is very solid and it is a polished entry.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:43pm

My very truly congrats. This is one of the game concepts I think everybody has check on their minds while brainstorming, and you made it on the best way I have seen right now. Try to go on this could be a good "little" game on steam.

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:53pm

I love how you don't directly influence the actions of the player, but at the same time, you do by shapeshifting. Really innovative idea there, nice!

jmintb says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:07pm

WOW, awsome game :D

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:12pm

Wow, this is a *very* good game! I am so impressed. It is like a fast action puzzle. Making lightning fast decisions is something I am not good at! LOL so this was a huge challenge! Nice work. =)

cudabear says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:55pm

This is a super polished entry! With more content, it feels like it could be a complete game! But for the scope of the Dare, I feel like it had just the right amount of levels with just the perfect amount of challenge. The graphics were awesome, the audio was grooving and had a distinct style to it. I will admit I wasn't super sold on the mechanics of only being able to choose when to change movement types, rather than being able to directly move. But as the levels became more complex, I really appreciated it!

Well done!

Roland M says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:09pm

Good. =]

Miziziziz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:08am

Great game, was fun and good use of the theme in the mechanics. I feel like with some polish and more levels you could sell this on steam for sure!

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:13am

Really well executed! Nice puzzle mechanic and great use on the theme =)

Oliver_MB says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:01am

I love this game. Simple, but perfect. Nice music, graphics and idea!

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:21pm

I like this one a lot! It's essentially another take on the mobile Rayman games! It's structured like a traditional platformer but you don't control the movement of the player. Instead the player runs continuously and you need to use the right shapes to safely pass the level. Clever! Continue working on this and release it on mobile.

avinashd says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:12pm

Initially I thought it was going to be a generic "shapeshift to jump higher" sort of game, but the automatic movement made it more of a puzzler. Really well designed game :)

siryakko says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:36pm

Nice retro feel, a bit too much red, but it's only to find something to say that won't be all positive :)

ponywolf says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:49pm

This is pretty fun. I think that It would translate to mobile very well.

bigpan says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:29am

Really good game, marvelous work using the theme. I really like this NES graphics and sounds, nice work, keep making games!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:36am

Very nice idea!

Orion Dev says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:43am

Really interesting and cool game man!

djfariel says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:46am

3rd Ludum Dare game I've ever completed. Congratulations, lol. Great entry, I like the concept

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:54pm

Really cool and original idea! I especially loved the music! My right hear wasn't happy it couldn't hear the victory jingle though... :P Fantastic job anyway!

neondx says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:00pm

okay, that is a game that goes with the shapeshifting theme! i loved it

Fanatrick says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:45pm

Really good, wish the later levels were shorter. Awesome submission.

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:08pm

Very solid and well polished action puzzle game, great job! Really meaty sound effects, too.

If I was to suggest an improvement, I wonder why it's those specific shapeshifts? How did this spaceman learn how to become a frog? It could be a really funny backstory!

Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:48pm

Nice, well made game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/7kJFcods5hA

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:57am

This is a really cool compo game! It looks and plays very good. Sadly, after restarting one level a few times (the one where you start in a small pit with spikes hanging from the ceiling on both sides and you have to chose whether you go left or rigth), the game just turned black. The music was still playing, but it didn't react to any input :-(

But what I saw up to this point was really great. Like Lemmings but with the focus on a single one. Great job!

rhastapunk says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 3:18pm

Wow I can say is one of the best entries I played. good work!

Xanjos says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Pretty cool concept and great use of the theme plus I liked the retro aesthetics.

neontropics says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 10:17pm

Clever gameplay! Personally I wish the transformations would be quicker but I might just be impatient...

wheerd says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 10:52pm

Really nice game! Ran into a black screen eventually after restating the level and stopped playing :S

smoreley says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 11:19pm

Nicely done! One thing though, the level completion sound only coming out of one ear seems weird. Bug or by design? I dunno.

Uson Chen says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 2:25pm

Innovated mechanic and very great level design! Congrats!

TheCain says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 3:10am

Nice little game. Very polished.

broknecho says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 3:47am

Sweet entry! Lots of things you could do with this idea and building puzzles around tons of different shapes. Some collision boxes were a little unforgiving but great job none the less!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]