Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

BLOB Passage

by Per - Jam Entry

You are a wobbling blob that is trying to get to the exit.

Fortunately, the wobbling is predictable and cyclic, and there are passages where you can pass through if you currently fit. The passages are lit up like crazy when the blob can pass.

You can also find pickups that slow down the passage of time and also reverse time itself!


CONTROLS: Arrows


Game was made with Unity (web / webgl / html5 version) + Super Tilemap Editor
Music was made with Reason
SFXs were made with BFXR and Reason


I also learned that there is no such thing as "too many lens flares"!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#216Theme(Jam)3.76
#465Innovation(Jam)3.16
#481Audio(Jam)2.97
#789Overall(Jam)2.99
#790Humor(Jam)1.68
#849Mood(Jam)2.65
#849Fun(Jam)2.73
#878Graphics(Jam)2.71

Comments

Yrasin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:37pm

Hahaha, the more lens flares you got, the better it looks right? :D Cool game and idéa! I feel like it's lacking camera controls to rotate and see shapes in the walls. Also not so sure if the time-limit challenge of each level is the right approach, because it's sometimes frustrating. But overall a nice game!

MintArcade says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:38pm

Interesting game. Neat visuals. "Fit" the theme very well

goffmog says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:46pm

The music is phenomenal and the worst thing about this game is that I have to stop listening to it, to write this comment. It took me a while to figure out why I kept dying and why I needed to go through some of the holes but when I got over my temporary stupidity I had a lot of fun with this and enjoyed the mechanics, and you're totally right about lens flares.

marod says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:21pm

Nice concept.

subpixel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:20pm

I like where you're going with this, but it's pretty hard to correlate the blob and the holes from this view.
Great idea, needs some more work.

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:54am

Nämen! En till Linköpingsbo?

This game is really challenging! It would be nice to have a smoother difficulty curve as the first level is super hard! And it gets harder fast.

Got stuck at a puzzle which made me quit :/

Otherwise, great concept!

Hope you had a fun making it =)

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:46am

This was a nice little game. The shapeshifting blob was really nice looking. I wasn't really sure about the time limit mechanic. I had hundreds of seconds at the first level, but then no time at all on the second. Still an enjoyable game that could be developed further.

Per says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:52am

@glaze_96: Det stämmer! Ja, svårighetsgraden är lite väl hög. Får ändra det i en ev. post-jam version. Tack för att du testade mitt spel. Ska testa ditt så snart jag kan.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:14pm

Shifting sound gets annoying. Hard to tell when you're the right size/shape. Sometimes the wall is in front of you and you cant tell what shape you are. When you're small it would make sense to be able to fit in a big hole but you cant. The way input gets queued, you end up spamming a movement button then ramming into the wall a bunch of times. It would be better to not use a grid or to only take input if you're still so you don't build up a queue of old/extra movements. Criticism aside this is a unique mechanic and a fun game. The level design is really well done. nice fx.

Per says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:17pm

@RoadToSalvation Thanks a lot for your input!

Logun says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:39pm

I like the speed run spirit, but I insulted many time that camera ! :)
<3 lens flare

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:34am

I like the idea of the timing

tjxx says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:43am

Nice concept. Didn't figure out what the light beams were for immediately, but I figured it out. Nicely done!

RafaSKB says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:13am

Interesting idea, I found it super hard to play though, couldn't get past the second level.

andyman404 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:18am

Very cool! Shifting shape, and even time. Well done!

Wahooney says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:08am

Matching your shape to the portal can be a bit too tricky, especially when the portal is facing away from you.

Not bad overall.

mennchen22 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:12pm

Nice Game , but pls dont puffer the input, i dont want to stuck on a wall because i hyped my Right arrow ;D

BubsyPoochies says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:25pm

Great idea for a shifting game mechanic and cool level design, although we found it a bit hard in the beginning until we figured out all the gameplay bits. Lots of content here and a really solid experience for a ludum dare game, congratulations!

Udell Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:21pm

The unity webgl build has been built at too high a resolution to display in the ludum dare embed screen, on top of that the lens flares felt gratuitous.

I didn't feel like it was clear to me that the blob has to be exactly the same shape as the holes. I initially felt that if the blob was a shape that was smaller than the hole, then it should have been able to get through. On top of that, some leniency with regards to timing the blob shape would have been nice. Several times, I felt like the blob was the right shape, but I'd moved just too fast or just too slow to go through.

I enjoyed the use of the theme, and it did feel like a very different game. The blob animation was kinda mesmerising and fit very well with the world.

PinkIndian says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:29pm

Reminded me of the new Start Trek movies :) but nice game, with cool shapeshift mechanic. But sometimes it was difficult to get trough the ports... seemed like the BLOB was just the right size but got '-0.5s' instead.

MeritLeave says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:13pm

Fun little game! Being able to control the camera to make out more of the doorways would have been a plus, but a pretty great build of a neat idea.

nk says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:20pm

Pretty neat! In some of the levels I found it really hard to figure out where some of the holes were given the camera angle. On the other hand, the tight time limit meant frantically trying to get around corners without hitting the walls, which was fun!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:30pm

Nice idea! Sometimes it's a little hard to tell if/when you're of the right size. Enjoyable nonetheless, but I have to disagree with you about the lens flares ;)

WizByte_Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:47pm

The UI on the web version is kind of off. Other than that I think this game could use more power ups or some kind of depth to it where you can go up and down not just stay at the same plane all the time.

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:47pm

Nice idea there, I liked how you constantly change shape thus meaning time is everything

Jun & Pate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:36pm

lens flare!!! good game. gameplay is well above average. just needs a cool theme!

CraftedPixel says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:35am

Intresting concept! But the lens flares are pretty strange. also add some WASD support.

avinashd says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:51am

Really interesting idea, but it's difficult to know when to enter the hole. Maybe match by colors instead of shapes or have the transitions be shorter?

Verz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:57am

Fun game to play! It's a nice way of using the theme.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:54am

Interesting concept, and good use of theme :) maybe one previous level forcing to understand the mechanic would be necessary.

webadev says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:24pm

Nice game and concept, loved the level design. But we wait more the light instead look at the good form, principal negative point.

Fonserbc says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:42pm

It's a bit confusing when you lose time by bumping, and you can do it lose it so fast without noticing much.

Nice concept.

kleinzach says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:13pm

I found the detection of shape frustrating at times, but when it worked the game felt good overall!

vini60 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:52pm

I like it. Good fun game.

ploerre says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:29pm

level 2 was too hard for me already.. i did't had the patience to figure out why. basically i like the concept.

OysterKLAN says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:37am

Cool idea, nice music. It is pretty hard to figure out how to actually go through holes in the wall at first, but after that hurdle it plays pretty well.

wboqm says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 7:32am

Interesting idea, though I found I kept bumping the wall unintentionally. The UI wasn't always the clearest, which made it difficult to immediately see how much time I had left.

knason says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 5:59pm

WOW, Simple graphics, but the game was terrific! well done! I loved it!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]