Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Party at the Knightclub

by Elisée and friends - Jam Entry

A heartwarming quest of partying and shape-shifting during the medieval ages on an alien planet.

Note: ​​The story isn't complete, we didn't finish in time. We might do a post-jam version!

​CONTROLS

* ​Arrow keys to move, X to talk to people
* C to shapeshift into people. Be gentle!

​CREDITS

A game made in 3 days by Bilou, Pixel-boy, NoirAcide, Craig B, Alexis and Elisée.
Made with Superpowers, the HTML5 collaborative game maker — http://superpowers-html5.com/

Big thanks to Craig for the awesome music and sound effects! — http://www.cb-sound.com/
And thanks to Harraps and Anatagawa for their postprocess sample code.

MORE GAMES

If you enjoy this game and want more, check out those two other adventure games we made:

* Murder at the Residence Gudul — http://sparklinlabs.itch.io/gudul
* Lumberjack Jacques — http://sparklinlabs.itch.io/lumberjack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#4Graphics(Jam)4.70
#7Humor(Jam)4.34
#11Mood(Jam)4.32
#13Overall(Jam)4.27
#15Theme(Jam)4.33
#15Audio(Jam)4.25
#30Fun(Jam)4.01
#106Innovation(Jam)3.77
#1294Coolness46%

Comments

CliffracerX says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:00am

Simple but funny, and something I would certainly enjoy seeing expanded post-jam. Some of the 'puzzles' were a little less obvious than they should be (or maybe I'm just a blundering idiot), but other than that, pretty fun.

Great use of the theme, nice music, and pretty decent graphics.

(Sidenote: It's awesome to be in the same LD as the Superpowers team for once!)

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:46am

Awesome. Best I've played so far - killer visual style, great tunes, actually pretty funny. Top notch work.

I found a game breaking bug though... as soon as I got Iron Nipples to bust open that entrance, I must have hit C and accidentally swapped myself in there, now I'm stuck.

siryakko says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:13pm

Excellent music, great graphics and interesting take on the theme, what else A really great game

graebor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:25pm

Wow, I am in love with the art style. This is super impressive, my favorite entry so far!

mrnannings says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:36pm

Looks very great but i don't know how to get in the club, i did talk to alle the people.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:18pm

Thanks y'all!! :)

mrnannings: After talking to the bouncer for the first time, you get a new power that should help you with that!

Mnemusyne says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:18pm

Absolutely amazing.

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:05pm

Beautiful game, and I adore the music.

YinYin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:44pm

Welp, I turned into the sewers and that got me stuck.
The bridge doesn't stay lowered if you immediately go back to get another body.

Really liked the art and most of all camera movement.

I'm sad you couldn't at least finally shift back into your body and cue the credits. Would've been a decent enough ending point.

cakeknuckles says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:46pm

oh wow, this is really stunning!
from the pixel-y lowpoly cartoonish style to the funny dialogue and unique characters, i can't even narrow down my favorite part of this. it really makes me wish i wasn't terrible at adventure puzzle games, haha. awesome job!

sadly, i couldn't hear any music in the html5 version. i heard sound effects just fine, but no tunes.

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:44pm

this has the makings to be a really great game. :D

sndr says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:50pm

I don't know why but I get this message: "The author of this game has uploaded an invalid file and the game is currently unavailable." :( I really really would like to play this game. The art looks so lovely!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:57pm

Sorry about the sewer shapeshift bug. Just uploaded a new version, it should be fixed.

swamppenguins says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:09pm

Amazing. Everything fits perfectly together.

Nesferjo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:23pm

I love it! The graphics, the absurd sense of humor, the characters, and the concept overall. A shame I couldn't get my body back since I get stuck in front of it in the sewers...

Anyway, I would love to play a longer version of this game for sure. Not many games like this out there.

antarka says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:25pm

Cool idea!

matt beckett says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:54pm

My fave game so far!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:15pm

Really cool and fun game. Love the graphics and the witty dialogs! Iron NIpples is the best character haha

dvdfu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:20pm

I couldn't find another way to get into the castle, but I love this entry so much! The visuals, sound, humour, and concept are all fantastic. Really wish there was an extended version!

Allthebees says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:23pm

Gah! This is fantastic, I love pretty much everything about it. My only problem is that I want to play more!

ragnta says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:01pm

Nice arts! Good job!

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:04pm

I love the art! HAHAHA soooo goooood all the hilarious characters with so much personality. Amazing job.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:03pm

Very cute and nice graphics, funny dialogue and well thought out relation to the theme.
I did get stuck though, after the cart moves. I see my character in the (prison? but the perspective is weird. It seems like i could move there, but i can't, and i can't interact with the door either when i take over the NPC.

Riftpoint says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:04pm

Amazing game! One of the best so far. The artstyle is incredible, Congratulations to the team

Just Tom says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:24pm

The whole thing is beautiful! Art, audio, writing, game-play everything.

Super duper checking out your other work!

Ghust1995 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:24pm

Very good game, great character design =)

oxysoft says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:03am

Excellent is all I can say about this entry.

solkar says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:14am

The character design is awesome... so many different character. I also think the 2d/3d mix works perfectly. Great job guys!

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:11pm

I don't need to say this artstyle is the one I love the most in the world!
Great idea for the story, great mechanic, great music, everything in this game is perfect, as I expected from you guys!
Congratulations!

Ellian says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:14pm

Maybe a bit too much walking back and forth, but you guys did an amazing job as always.
Love the graphics, it's simple but super well made for such a short time!

Solifuge says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:40am

Some of the character designs and sense of humor reminded me of Pen Ward. Really loved the lumpy low-poly meshes with oekaki-looking textures. And the music... those instruments were fantastic paired with the slightly off-pitch samples that sounded like old vinyl records. Loved the "In da club" song too. The brief snippets of characterization via dialogue and weird world-building was a lot of fun too.

I got to the prison, but invisible walls and a large eggplant-guy won't let me get my body back. Was sad to see it end, and would love to see this more fully realized, or maybe used as a conceptual seed for something bigger.

10/10. Would be stuck forever as a Wuff-Wuffaing Shnozdog again.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:01am

I think you are going to rate VERY high in the end!!!! You hit just about every category. Excellent job man! I was never able to get my body back and lower the bridge but I truly enjoyed trying!! :)

bytegrove says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:05am

A really good entry! I just adore the art style, and the dialogues and sound effects are hilarious!
Really sweet game, I wasn't able to figure out who was the bridge operator though..
Really dig the LucasArts atmosphere, I think you nailed it perfectly! Nice work! :D

SeaDads says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:09pm

Got stuck in the sewers, couldn't walk over and talk to the pink guy? But what I did play was excellent, really love the visual style and the audio was sooooo good!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:25pm

Looks great and has some actually funny dialogue. Really enjoyed it!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:27pm

Forgot to mention, it has a very Adventure Time feel to it and that can only be the best thing ever in my book!

SeaDads says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:32pm

That art style is amazing, and the quantity of characters animated is crazy! Pretty great all round actually, Well done!

Roland M says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:50pm

Great art and prespective. =]

jonnopon3000 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:36pm

I really loved this, overall a brilliant entry!

sndr says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:44pm

Nice entry! I really loved the graphics! That pixel art style mixed with 3D was really awesome! :)

IvanFon says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:08am

Absolutely incredible game! I forgot that this was a jam game for a second, the art is great, music sets the mood and the gameplay is solid. Great job!

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:32am

Amazing art style and sound effects! I can see my body! Why does it tell me to get through the sewers?

David Cookie says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:18pm

It's just a perfect entry for me! It looks like a real game and I was so sad when I get to the "to do" point, I wanted to play more!! But I guess it's already pretty amazing content for 3 days ^^ The tracks are really great too! Huge congrats to you!

savethejets1 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:36pm

6/5!

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:57pm

Loved the graphics and the presentation. I spent a long time randomly trying different bodies to charm the guard.

tentacode says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:13am

This is awesomeeee :D 5 stars, also I'm impressed with superpowers, I might check that engine

Togimaro says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:37pm

Absolutely awesome!
Your engine is just fantastic! And the game really cool!
Great job :)

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:39pm

Very beautiful game! Music is great and really like the character designs. Fantastic job!

Afendar says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:35am

Funny game ! nice concept and i like the graphics. Just one point, i have no sound :(. Great job sparklinlabs team ;)

Zyow says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:38pm

This game is really cool! Graphics & sound are excellents! Good job!

sepharoth213 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:16pm

I love the low-poly/low-resolution combo, it's gorgeous!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:21am

Amazing game. Funny, beautiful graphics, and hylarious story.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:48am

Absolutely SPLENDID! One of my favorites.

Gorgeous visual design, adorable characters. We actually went for a similar idea! Shapeshifting to unlock different dialogues etc. We also use sprites in a 3D environment! (Though the comparisons end there.)

Gonna keep an eye out for the rest of your work, I bet I'd enjoy all of it! Rock on!

pjimmy says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:18am

Awesome, beautiful game

marmpa says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:49am

REally nice sounds. Loved that everyone had slighty different ones.THe music was really nice too.

Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:23pm

Love the character design for this, really helps set a quirky fantasy world setting. The dialogue and situational humour was also nicely done. Favourite character for me was the duck.

Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:17pm

What duck? It's totally not a duck. :)

Thanks for all the kind messages, we're glad you like the game so much! We've started working on a post-compo version.

Jolly Serpent says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:49pm

Lovely adventure game. The art style is amazing, and it's overall very fun.

medidog says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:24pm

Excellent game and a very solid entry! Would love to see the ending if you guys ever finish the story :)

QuexD says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:45am

Would love to see more, got to what I assumed was the end and now wish to play more. Great job on this entry 5/5.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 6:16pm

Very beautiful in its weirdness! Enjoyable to play too. I got stuck in the sewers, it seems like I cannot go anywhere from there. Anyway congrats! I would love to see this developed as a full game.

badia_r says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:02pm

Best game I tried so far! Good music, awesome graphics, funny dialogues. Excellent entry!

Pibeex says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:17pm

Best entry I've played so far. The music is great, and the art style very innovative. Keep up the amazing work!

Felladrin says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 4:53am

Oh no!! The game is not complete! I can't get my body back!! What Dowie do now!? :D

Awesome entry guys! Great gameplay, music/sounds, quotes and graphics. Hoping to see the post-jam!

kik0729 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 2:51pm

I'm stuck after I entered the dungeon
Nevertheless, I loved the game
I have no idea how you managed to do all the awesome art for the places and the characters in just 3 days!
It's my favourite entry this year!
I really do hope you finish working on the project now that the jam is over.
Is there anywhere I can follow your projects outside of the compos and jams?

S0rax says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:08am

Funny game, graphics and sounds are cool and the history is nice :)

Alphish says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 8:50pm

Reached the DUNGEON: TODO, gonna assume that's the point where the game ends short. A bit of a shame, since it's a pretty cool game. The graphics and animation are varied, the music works with the mood (I think I might have heard the body-swap sound effect a bit too much, though...), the theme is used properly, and the mechanics seem to work correctly; overall it's quite a sweet adventure game. Great job, I'd like to see the post-Jam update.

samlo says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 3:20pm

Hilarious game. Loved the music, camera work, and dialogue!

May 4, 2016 @ 6:15pm

Hey! You have been featured in today's LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LYwIu8CE2Yk

wheerd says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 11:01pm

Beautiful and funny game, really well done!

Uson Chen says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 3:14pm

The graphics and art is really my type!
Hard to believe this is a LD entry ! High integrated in my opinion ~

domrein says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 1:50am

Loved it. Would love to see a complete version.

avinashd says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 1:29pm

The writing humor is spot-on the graphics and audio work together fantastically! 5/5 on all those aspects!

Superpowers is a relatively new engine, isn't it? How fun was it to work with?

randomhuman says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 10:18pm

Funny stuff :) It's a shame it comes to such an abrupt end. What's there is great though, sound, graphics, writing, all excellent.

ermrk says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 11:12am

The best entry I have played this Ludum Dare. I love it whole!

LeReveur says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:06pm

Awesome adventure game, reminds me LucasArts ones ! I think the last frame in the sewers have a bug : character is blocked few pixels before the body, but can go throught the dark background, it seems like the floor hitbox is misplaced... ^^ Anyway, really good entry, I hope you'll get a very good rate at the end !

EvanEGibbs says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 11:21pm

What a fantastic game! I'm so impressed with how much you got done in the jam. The style was so great, I'd absolutely play through a bigger version of this game! I loved all of the designs and the humor. Great job!! :)

ChuiGum says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 2:28am

Loved the graphics, some really cool camera work! Sweet music too. Great game, awesome job well done for 72 hours! :)

Ludipe says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:48pm

Really loved the art and the way you mix 2D and 3D assets. Found the gameplay nice but a bit too clasic. Art and puns were the best of this entry :-)

May 10, 2016 @ 12:59am

Really cute! Great look and feel.

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:03am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]