Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

DBCEC210 Survey

by subpixel - Jam Entry

"Sign up with the Survey Department and discover new planets!
Thousands of opportunities for the brave and the willing!

Note: no red shirts, we equip you right. Swing by the armory to get geared up on your way out."

Press X to fire, and use the arrow keys to move. You will have to click once in the window after the game starts to give it the keyboard.

Thanks for playing my game! This game was made in my new free all-in-one retro 16 bit game jamming tool: the Super Jamicom. Come try it out at http://superjami.com

About the theme: I really wanted to see if I could squeeze out a little "show, don't tell" narrative in a few hours from scratch. I hope you've enjoyed my little play and can spare me a vote!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#52Mood(Jam)4.05
#91Theme(Jam)4.00
#146Graphics(Jam)4.09
#158Audio(Jam)3.65
#208Innovation(Jam)3.55
#290Overall(Jam)3.52
#403Fun(Jam)3.29
#1416Coolness44%

Comments

Per says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:52pm

Cool game with a surprise twist!
Detected some minor issues with projectile collision detection.
Also, a very cool initiative with that engine/jam tool.
Nice work!

Munchy2007 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:57pm

As Per says, very nice twist! Great sound too.

Very nice.

megalukes says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:23am

Great sound, mate. I was not expecting this twist. The atmosphere of the game was really well done.

pzeronow says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:24am

How do I open gates? Tried F, E, Enter but no luck. Graphics and sound FX look amazing.

ginger9 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:39am

Too short but amazing.

subpixel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:41am

Thanks everyone!
Per, yeah, I cheaped out and didn't write any collision filtering so there are a number of dumb things going on. Mea culpa!

Megalukes, thanks so much. I'm still working on the sound module for the imaginary console the game is running on, so I really appreciate any indication of progress there. I've never given audio engineering proper time; if I'd known that building sounds from oscillators was so much fun before, I'd have done this years ago!

pzeronow, you just shoot em :) A lot.

matt beckett says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:43am

Well done!

subpixel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:43am

Thanks ginger9. I totally agree, I had a whole set of levels planned, but this weekend just wasn't meant to be. Life, right?

So anyway, I shoved the ending and the beginning into the same screen and called it a jam. I'm glad you enjoyed it anyway ^__^

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:15am

I can't figure out what to do after switching. :( I herded everything to the ship, and herded everything to the energy, but neither does anything, nor does pressing X.

subpixel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:08pm

Thanks for playing GAFBlizzard, I'm afraid I ran out of time and that's all there is. I wish I had time to at least add a fade to black and reset after a while.

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:57pm

What a twist !

James Coote says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:09pm

Really enjoyed the game, though not sure whether I missed something at the end, or whether the twist was just it. Would love to play more post-twist game in any case.

The general audio levels were just a bit too high / grating, or was that intentional? Also I'm another one who took a minute to work out how to get through the doors.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:22pm

I like the graphics, but shooting in the right direction was hard while fleeing from an alien. The sounds are nice too, if you don't die...nice twist :)

Karai17 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:56am

Great game, very interesting!

SeaDads says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:15pm

Pew pew pew! Yay! ...awww :'( Like the overall style, the engine's cool!

joemid says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:40am

More!!!

Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:12pm

Really liked this one, graphics and sound are fantastic. Interesting twist at the end, a great entry.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 9:35pm

Nice game, its a goood twist at the end , but is there antway to come back to normal ?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]