Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Potato Souls

by LikeAstudio - Jam Entry

Potato Souls!

Press S when on dirt to change into one of 4 vegetables. (Press S again after clicking an empty box.)

Characters
Potato : Click to attack.
Carrot : Click near a wall to climb. W and S to go up and down.
Onion : Does absolutely nothing.
Corn : Fire useless projectiles with the mouse.

WASD to move. Space to Jump.

2nd attempt at ludum with the team, Better than last time, but still needs work.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#34Humor(Jam)4.00
#100Graphics(Jam)4.26
#226Theme(Jam)3.74
#557Fun(Jam)3.11
#618Overall(Jam)3.16
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

Dante2001 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:07am

level too short, some texture bugs

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:09am

couldnt get it to work-downloaded as a .7z and cant open it

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:10am

Really cute artstyle, but the controls were a bit counter intuitive for shape changing, you go down, then press a button, then press out again, also none of the buttons are labelled.

In addition, for me the carrot wouldn't climb

Dooskington says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:10am

Super cute! Loved the animations. It seems like you weren't able to finish the first level :( Bummer. Also, when I went into the ground, the icons were just white boxes.

EighthNote says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:14am

Only some technical issues kept me from giving this 5 stars! Overall it's great. However, no enemies spawned for me, and at a certain point I fell off a cliff and just kept falling forever.

LikeAstudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:15am

Our team was using git, and JUST before the final build, it overwrote ALL the levels. Which destroyed most of them making them unplayable. Still a better game than the last one we did.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:19am

Was ok! The animations were great! The controls need some work, and the pictures of what you are shapeshifting to needs to be put in, but otherwise not bad! I'm looking forward to what you do with the game in the future

distemp7 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:28am

Funny story and cute art, but icons are white and level is simple.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:49pm

I loved the intro!

KBF123 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:56pm

Interesting, but too short.

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:40pm

Love the art! Very cool game but too short!
Keep up the good work!

Rock Eaters says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:53pm

graphics are high level, really cool comman respond, now it need to be finish ! but it looks really great for a start

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]