Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Cataway

by justacookie - Jam Entry

In this Game you don't play the protagonist of the story, but rather play the level itself. You have to change your shape in order to help the cat reach the fishes (that miraculously fly through the air). Oh also the cat is on the run from a dinosaur, so dont let him catch up :3

The Game can be played using the Webbrowser. Press F11 for Fullscreen!
(you could also use the embedded player, but we would love if you used the link below and played in fullscreen mode)

CONTROLS:
-Move your Mouse up and down to shape the terrain.
-To the right you see Fish-Indicators, and the more colorful they become the closer the Fish is.
-It is possible to "ride" the terrain very smoothly and get fast enough to bounce against the top of the screen (creating valleys)
-Experiment and have fun, there is no right or wrong way to play this game

This is our first Game-Jam entry ever and we really enjoyed the experience.
The topic "shapeshifting" was our least desired topic, because we just couldnt come up with a creative idea and it took us two hours to get our concept worked out. We even planned to build something similar to conway's game of life at some point, but we really can't recall how we ended up doing this concept instead. most likely (at 5 AM in the morning), someone dropped "TinyWings" into the conversation.. and we really liked the idea to try to make this work with shapeshifting the level instead of controlling the character. We are very happy with the finished project, and we see potential in the idea, but at the same time its not quite there yet and it lacks in many areas.

We hope you enjoy this happy and lighthearted game and let us know what you liked and disliked :)

The Team:
Programming: ColaColin, InstantKarma, justacookie
Graphics and Art: will be added when screen-names are known :)

The game is written in JavaScript/TypeScript/Phaser.io

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#28Innovation(Jam)4.19
#81Theme(Jam)4.03
#128Fun(Jam)3.68
#152Humor(Jam)3.41
#222Overall(Jam)3.61
#404Mood(Jam)3.27
#512Graphics(Jam)3.39

Comments

BarkingCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:01am

This is cute, very cute! The shifting terrain reminds me of solipskier (could be sure used for reference). It took me a while to figure out what to do tho. Other than that, it IS a fun game!

caelanrp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:38am

Cute little game. Would have liked to see it expanded a little bit more, but I like what you've got.

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:04am

A very very nice game. We just streamed it for you on our Twitch channel andiFromPixelManiacs and showed it to our fans too!

urfbound says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:34am

Great game! I really like the way shaping the terrain works. It's a lot of fun to make ramps for the cat and launch it in the air. Good job on the dinosaur and cat animations. The controls are really smooth and responsive, and I also like that you don't get to shape the terrain to the whole height of the screen, forcing you to learn to make jumps. My recommendations would go into two categories (don't take them too seriously - it's my first successful game jam entry too! but i like when people give me ideas and so i try to come up with some for those i review for too):

1.) Theme-related: To match the theme better, maybe different kinds of terrain could change the cat/dinosaur to a different creature. Imagine say it changed to a cave, then instead of shaping the ground on the bottom half of the screen, you shape it down from the top. The dragon could turn into a snake and try to jump at you from the bottom. Or, maybe there could be pickups that would change the cat or dinosaur to something else.

2.) Gameplay-related: For the pickups in the air, it can be hard to time your jumps. Maybe you could fix that by being able to change the middle of the screen instead so that you could see the pickups coming a little further in advance. I would also recommend making it so that you can more actively control the distance between you and the dinosaur, like in SkiFree.

Overall I had a blast playing your game, I had a great laugh launching the cat in the air and tripping up the dinosaur. Congrats on your first entry and thank you for your submission! Hope you had a lot of fun! :D

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:25am

We love the car!

MalyTimi says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:55pm

Simple and fun :) It's funny that cat use only one leg to run XD

fb_holzbaum says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:39pm

Interesting concept. A bit to easy at the moment. This game could surely be expanded into something fun. Right now I'm also missing some music or sound effects.

s0wbear says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:47pm

Cute little game!
I also had a little trouble with the flying fish, maybe the cat should be more in the center of the screen so one can estimate the distance to the next one better.

A_Cupcake says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:29pm

Lot's of fun. The threat of the dinosaur was pretty much zero once I got moving but the challenge of reaching the fish was still fun. Simple to learn, hard to perfect. ice work.

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:47pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Larzan says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:00pm

Wow, this is a great idea for game mechanics, never saw anything like it, very innovative!
Love the style you used, very cute :)

Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:24am

wow! very funny use of the theme, and sooo cute gfx! would love to hear some music (even a silly short loop).

suppi says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:19am

nice idea! I really liked the graphics :)

I'm not sure i understood how to not let the dinosaur catch you. also it was a bit hard anticipating when the fish comes to change the terrain to catch them.

also, I'm sure some music would made the game even more fun to play :)

LoneStranger says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:42pm

Fun and interesting game. Reminded me of making ExciteBike levels, and how certain shapes either did or did not go well back-to-back. It was satisfying to see the cat take a hill well and launch himself into the air. Good job.

MattWoelk says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 1:13pm

Very Innovative! Well done! :)

Apr 27, 2016 @ 1:22pm

Good fun game with a simple yet interesting mechanic. Great work! Audio would be nice though.

Jin47 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 2:12pm

great gameplay and the concept is pretty funny. My only regret would be that it is hard to anticipate the distance of the fishes to jump at the right time (maybe a meter counter for the next one could have been the solution). Good job !

siryakko says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:49pm

Fun and cute game, what else do we need

Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:45pm

Cool entry! I like the way you control the terrain and indirect control the way the cat on the run :)

Just one thing: when you run too far from the dinosaur, it's practically impossible to the enemy catch you. Maybe adding some obstacles, or something being dropped from the sky can add a new level of difficult, so the player should care more about the terrain ;)

See ya

Mordokay says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:21am

Loved the game and loved the idea! GJ!

BitDare says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:59pm

I really like the mechanic. It made for a fun play.

mikedirl says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:49am

Great idea to use the terrain as part of the game play. The game had a nice feel to it, the characters were cute and the graphics were very bright and appealing. Enjoyable game.

rhastapunk says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 4:11pm

Nice and original! Interesting and different mechanic. GG

Madball says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 5:42pm

This game is funny in many ways: story, graphics and especially physics. There seem to be some complex mechanics behind the cat's movement which I couldn't quite figure out. I guess, if you don't lag as much as I do, it can be an enjoyable and challenging game. (I don't see a lot of lagging people in the comments...)

FengeR says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:34pm

It's a really nice and cute game. However, I think it lack difficulty or, I don't really know, but to be honest, I had a hard time trying to kill myself because the dino was too slow trying to catch me XD
Anyway, I had a very good time playing your game. This is a really cool game. Keep doing fun games ;)

Steven Pinto says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Great game :D i like the idea but it was hard to grasp at the start.. overall good art and fun to play ... all the best :D

3T3A says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 5:43pm

It's the 1st time i see an arcade game when you build in time-real the level. Great innovation. But to be honest, the games goes infinity when the cat is on the right of the screen. It's impossible to get aught bu the dinosaur at this moment, or maybe i don't gone too far in the game.
Great entry ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]