Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Geometer's Folly

by SpareWizard - Jam Entry

POSTJAM IS OUT, READ BELOW

Left click - inscribe shape
Right click - dimension shift
WASD / Arrow keys - move
R - Cancel current spell
Tab / F1 - Show/hide spellbook

The other wizards graduated at the Zanzar University for Higher Magical Learning with more common majors: Pyromancer, Conjurer, Diviner, etc. You were undecided, and eventually circumstances pushed you into the study of arcane geometry. Now you are - the Geometer.

As a Geometer, you have two spells - Inscribe, to place a node that is part of a magical shape, and Teleport, to shift about the field quickly.

SPELLCASTING TIPS

- Spell quality is based on shape accuracy and size
- The centre of the points is calculated, then the standard deviations of distance and angular separation are measured
- The larger the spell, the easier it will be to gauge where to put the next node, and the less effect errors will have
- If any of size, angle, or distance attributes are too poor, the spell will fail
- The view is isometric, but don't take this into account when casting spells

POSTJAM EDITION

- More spells have effects
- Changed graphics for Fissure
- Added sound effects
- Enemies now attack
- Added menu with help and level customization

The postjam adds a significant amount of content (where the jam version had next to none), so be sure to play both, but base ratings on the jam version, please!

Credits
Developed by Sean Gilhuly

Additional Credits
Tiles - http://opengameart.org/content/dawnblocker
Music - Digial Clouds - Eric Matyas (www.soundimage.org)

Tools
Sound - sfxr, Audacity
Graphics - Gimp
Engine - Game Maker Studio

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#135Innovation(Jam)3.69
#404Humor(Jam)2.69
#579Mood(Jam)3.06
#684Theme(Jam)3.14
#740Graphics(Jam)3.00
#827Overall(Jam)2.94
#876Fun(Jam)2.68

Comments

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:29pm

Background space is great!
I like the idea. It's nice how game detects how good your spell was.
It's sad that it is unfinished.

Beard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:35pm

I like the unique mechanic for casting spells. This is an interesting twist. With a little polish this could be a really fun game expanded into a full RPG.

virtual_void says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:57pm

Would've loved to see it finished!

bigmangames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:13pm

Cool look and cool mechanic, would be interested in seeing a full game.

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:19pm

The way to cast spells is very interesting.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:07pm

Cool machanics, a goal or something would be nice

Penthaquill says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:05pm

10/10

Sean says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:43pm

Interesting mechanic. It'd be neat to see what it looks like in a full game.

P.S. I got a "failed on size" error whenever I tried to do the octagon spell.

Pontifex says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:15pm

Cool idea, but currently difficult to say anything more.

Ironhead says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:22am

I agree with everyone else. Looks cool, would love to see more.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:25pm

nice gameplay mechanics, we want more

abuzreq says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 9:33pm

I loved the story.
The idea of drawing the shapes on the ground and that every shape represent a spell were great.
The game could have been more "active" though
like more active enemies , more destructive and visually cool spells and a level designed to aid this
the right click teleport although cool , didn't fit much in my opinion and found it unnecessary

The game has good potential but requires better using the game mechanic.

abuzreq says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Ok,just played the post compo version and that was almost exactly what I had in mind.
The game is still a bit hard , I rarely had time\space for anything more than a square or a diamond.

abcdef65g says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 8:32am

Postjam version is pretty cool. The enemies attacking make it feel more like a real game (would be nice to have more than one type of attack coming your way though), but they also highlight a key issue: while drawing shapes for spells is fun, it's really hard to do while you're getting attacked, meaning you basically have to spam the easier spells like firestorm or the blast one (which is impossible to aim XD). Some games with similar ideas tend to stop time while you're drawing, and now I can sort of understand why.

All in all though, the game is fun and the idea is fresh. I could definitely see a whole RPG game centered on this mechanic. The drawing became a little buggy when you draw near the edges of the screen though, as well as when you move. Still, the drawing algorithm is very good, and I really like how it can affect the spell power in case the drawing was lacking. Awesome job!

Septi says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 3:08pm

The idea is really great. And the spellcasting mechanic appears to work quite well, though I never managed the octagon spell in the postjam version. I would love to see a game like this finished, and have you thought about multiplayer? :)

yuigoto says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 4:17am

Loved the graphics style and the overall mood of the game!

Being able to spellcast by drawing points is really fun and interesting. Controls work nicely, but sometimes mouse position feels weird, probably GM stuff.

Backstory is really great and you have some nice potential in here! Keep working! ;)

Congrats! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]