Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Mist

by ShadowTemplar - Jam Entry

** UPDATE: Fixed the loading time issue, and crashing

Find your way through a maze, which morphs every time you switch on your lantern. The Mist, however is sensitive to the light. Dare to light up that small gas fire, it will know where you are and come for you. Find the glowing portal to escape the nightmare.

The maze changes each time it goes dark!

Controls: W, A, S, D to move
Left Click to light up the lantern
Left Click to turn it off

The monster becomes faster in the light.

-----------------------------------------------------

Team:
@Otixa
@Lolirotten_
@Gokimster
@Granvanoeli

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#49Mood(Jam)4.06
#145Graphics(Jam)4.10
#290Overall(Jam)3.52
#479Innovation(Jam)3.13
#499Fun(Jam)3.17
#592Theme(Jam)3.29

Comments

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:40am

This is a pretty good game, these guys are uploading a newer relase that will load things faster. give this game a try, its a fun game to play.

ramza says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:43am

Very cool game! I love the look and atmosphere.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:48am

Really awesome graphics and idea. Needs a little polish, i was never able to find the monster.

sketchu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:16am

I love it!! :D

psychomonster says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:02am

Nice entry. Well created atmosphere +1 for mood! I was drinking an espresso while the game was loading... I didn't recognized the massive loading time... no problem so far... I did not read the description text before loading the game... haha... but now I did... No problem... Hope you had fun creating the game...!

aemiliu5 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:13am

wow!
it gave me the chills when the "monster" came out...
the atmosphere and graphics are awesome and so is the audio...
the only issue i found, was that it's a bit small (just about 20-30 seconds), so by the time i started getting into the mood i had already won...:P
anyway, it is still a great game and entry! have fun!

Adipson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:27am

I like the atmosphere. GG

Gokimster says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:27am

Dev Update: Fixes for crashes and other issues are on the way.

I fixed the crash when regenerating rooms, waiting on Otixa to fix some other stuff and make an updated build :)

Thanks for all the feedback guys!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:26am

I really liked it! I spent about 10 min on it! Congratz! I love the atmosphere. Just the loading is a little boring.

marod says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:12am

This game is really awesome! nice graphics

Manou says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:27am

Impressive concept and execution.

HawkSandwich says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:01pm

Nice game. Fun to play but kind of difficult. Awesome graphics, not that that needs to be said.

tower07 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Somehow I missed the part about the maze shifting each time you turn off your lantern. When I first played my strategy was to keep turning the lantern on and off so I could see but the ghost wouldn't catch me. Needless to say, that didn't work haha. It's disappointing that dying just instantly brings up a menu, a little more feedback with that would have been nice. Despite this, I really like this game a lot! Good job. :)

APantaloni says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:37am

Very nice horror atmosphere. Suddenly facing the monster can be pretty scary! Nice job!

Karai17 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:11am

Pretty interesting game, but it was too dark and difficult to gauge the ghost.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:41am

I like this game. It resembles a lot of the modern jumpscare games, but uses a different mechanic. Nice job!

Arvydas says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:06pm

Really great entry! The look and atmosphere is really creepy, with a little polish this can became a great horror game! Keep it going, good job!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:58pm

Nice atmosphere!

jakass says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:28pm

Nice graphics!

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:35pm

Good atmosphere, maybe a dark backgroung, but I enjoyed a much your game :D Very scared

neilcorre2k6 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:17am

Wow, the graphics looks great! :D It was challenging, I was always anticipating a jump scare in every turn, haha

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:51pm

I just have to say I love this mechanic. But it's really hard to navigate. I think the Mist shouldn't find you so quick. And I think it'd be better if the maze layout changed every time the lantern is turned on, not off. But for an 72h game, it's freaking amazing. 8/8, would r8 again m8

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]