Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Wewelsburg Experiment

by BubsyPoochies - Jam Entry

The Wewelsburg Experiment, a shape shifting game developed for the Ludum Dare 35 Game Jam.

**** Description *****

FIND THE EXIT!

Dr.Poochie, a famous scientist held prisoner in Wewelsburg Castle, is tired of being forced to experiment on superhuman soldiers!

Determined to escape tonight, he tries the latest formula on himself... but something goes terribly wrong after a lightning bolt strikes him!

The doctor is now an uncontrollable shape shifter, doomed to become both the mightiest and the most ridiculous creatures, trapped inside a shape shifting castle, which changes its layout on every new game.

Be a dinosaur, be a monster, be a gorilla, be a snail... be whatever, but use your abilities to escape from the evil Wewelsburg Caslte!

Remember, every time you shift shape your abilities are different... and every time you enter the castle, the layout and rooms have shifted too!

**** How to Play ****

Objective: Find the exit of the castle to see the ending.

Keys: Move character
M: Open map
A: Jump
S: Attack
ESC: Quit

Navigate to the exit by using the in-game map. The Castle is procedurally generated, so it's different on every game.

Find med kits to regain health.

**** Information ****

Game Made using Unity by Miguel Murat (@Xanday), David Jaumandreu (@DavidJaumandreu), Joan Albero (@reuben1331), Xavi Peña (@Xavier_PF) and Xavi Heras (@XaviHeras).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#38Humor(Jam)3.98
#38Theme(Jam)4.21
#55Overall(Jam)3.98
#61Audio(Jam)3.95
#73Fun(Jam)3.84
#118Graphics(Jam)4.19
#167Mood(Jam)3.66
#307Innovation(Jam)3.33

Comments

APantaloni says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:34am

Really nice entry! Looks great and has good controls, the shapeshifting is funny and I'd love to see this expanded upon, with a little more variety on the different abilities.

bytegrove says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:47am

Haha, what a gem! ;D I love the sound effects and the various characters. The grim reaper's laugh is the best!
The environments have a nice atmosphere to them. The upbeat music might have been out of place if it hadn't been for how well it's synced with the overall flow of the game. The music itself is also awesome by the way!
Only thing that annoyed me was the collision detection on the larger characters and how you seemed to stop every time you attacked.
Overall a very nice and polished game. Mega plus for the opening cinematic, hooked me instantly. :)

Megalink says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:04am

This is a really cool game, great music, great art and an awesome concept. If I were to give you critism then I would say that the movement is a bit too floaty, other then that good job! :)

hregrin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:42am

This game is a blast! If I had a complaint, it would be that some rooms are hard to enter from the bottom, and with ennemies respawning in the room below, it can lead to some frustration. Maybe a platform on bottom access "à la" Rogue Legacy? But anyway, great, great work!

PulsorHD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:48am

Really fun game, enjoyed it, but for some reason the screen flickered, maybe it was lightning but it was a bit annoying.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:09pm

Woah, this game is really amazing, all the references (the shapeshift into an infamously horrible game character made me laugh really loud hahaha) great job!

guslarsen says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:16pm

I really like Pixel Art Games. It's a fun game. I enjoyed! Very good job!

naeval says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:14pm

Incredible game. I think it's the best game of this team. The next Super Meat Boy.

ploerre says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:05pm

Haha i love the Bender.
Cool sound, cool graphics ideas and funny characters.
I miss some more interaction besides exploring an killing enemies.. got a little bit boring after 30%.

ekkiiiii says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:43pm

I played this for a while just to discover more shapes. Very cute. Good job!

Saladon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:33pm

Good game. Simple but effective art. Had a good time playing it.

smbe19 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:01pm

This game is gorgeous. The effects and graphics are really incredibly nice.
The sound is totally fitting, although the soundtrack might get a little boring after a long time.

You had an interesting approach to the shapeshifting. Making it to be out of the player's control was something I haven't seen much. However, this also meant that the forms themselves were not really that important. They were mainly just a fun factor.

The enemies seemed a little slow and easy, but I guess the point of the game is not to be hard, but just to entertain.

Very good job, anyway. It's certainly one of the most impressive looking games and it's quite atmospheric with the rain and the thunder.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:10pm

Very nice graphics! It's not every day you find a Ludum Dare game that is genuinely hilarious. Amazing job!

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:34pm

WOW!! Really funny game LOL That game idea is pretty cool, and all the transformation are great. Well done!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:57pm

This is really fun, one of my favourites for humor so far! I love the fact that you will change in a lot of different things with different abilities, makes for a fun and varied gameplay. There wasn't really an incentive to explore besides the counter at the top.

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:58pm

Probably my favorite game so far :D Everything about it is great :D The graphics, the sounds, humor,... Fantastic job!

orion_black says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:36pm

Remarkable presentation.

The movement speed, jump height and gravity gave me a rather sluggish sensation. The enemies and variations on the doctor are really mild making everything feel rather samey.

fafastudio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:51pm

Haha ! awesome job !

runvs says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:18pm

Very nice entry. I really like the intro and the music as well as the different animals. The game creates that "frankenstein" atmosphere with ease. Well executed.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Great platformer game. Funny. There is a big work on the aesthetic, animations and sounds (I like the snake and mummy). I would like to know if you manage mutations, using triggers or randomized time value? Well done. A solid entry ++

aegypticus says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:22pm

I really liked the aesthetics of this game and the gameplay was quite good as well. I would have only liked to have seen different abilities in the different animals that the player becomes. Great work!

Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:26pm

occult third reich + joyful chiptune -- simply NICE. incredibly funny and good looking; reminds me of rick dangerous.

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:29pm

Wow... I love the graphics and the story. Great work!

samlo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:22pm

Hilarious shapeshifting mechanic! Controls are nice and tight too. Wish there was a little more variation in gameplay

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:29pm

This game reminds me of Castlevania. The graphics and audio are really nice.

Knowledge says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:06pm

Good but too annoying to be great!

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:19pm

Great entry, nice graphics and sounds. I also think music is great but doesn't fit very much with the game.

The best thing is the funny mechanics. You don't explain every character mechanic but I don't think that it would be really necesary actually. In fact I enyoyed a lot with every thunder trying to figure out what was the mechanic of the new character.

Also, very funny ending, I could not help laughing out loud.

Great work guys!

ethankennerly says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:36pm

When lightning struck and I transformed into a random farm animal or old man I chuckled! The transformation timing is brilliant. If you continue to design this, when I transformed I didn't pay attention to my form in relationship to the enemies. Although the zombie and mummy were slower and others had varying jump distances and walk speeds, I didn't seem to lose health or modify my tactics in relationship my current form or the form of the enemy. The platforms were well-placed. There was only one gap in a platform that was over a hole in the floor. I had a lot of difficulty jumping up onto the floor from the room below.

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:30pm

This game rocks. These random mutations make it exciting to play. Intense mood too!

Ironhead says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:00pm

10/10 would make nazis bite my shiny metal ass again!
This is all around a great entry and among my favorites that I've played so far. smooth and balanced gameplay and all the different transformations made it really fun and I loved the rain, thunder, and lightning sounds and how they cause the transformations. Awesome, awesome entry!

LostViking says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:22pm

Good use of the theme with nice art style and sound effects. The gameplay was fun but it would have been great if the characters differentiated more from each other than just damage and jump height.

Fonserbc says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:30am

Ostres que polit! Especialment els gràfics i la generació de nivells!

Molt bona feina!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:29am

Great game, it has a lot of work and depth. Good job!

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:59pm

This game is really damn AWESOME!
I loved the pixel art, mainly the references (E.T. from Atari, Futurama, Wolfenstein, etc.)!
Also the atmosphere, the mood, the music, and my God, The whole number of characters and animations are impressive.
Congratulations, great entry!

WERT Studio says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:10pm

best game that i played so far! Good soundtrack neat graphics also it is sure that the evil guys are nazis but i am happy about not including the symbol- thanks well done

Headmade says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 9:56am

Nice entry, great lightning (and lighting) effects which work well with the sound. A lot of different characters even though they feel all to samey. Overall a great entry!
My biggest complaint is the exploration. There seem to be no hints as to where to go, the rooms are all empty except for enemies which are unrewarding to fight (it's just easier to evade them, there is just no reason to hassle with them).

derr says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:43am

First thing I noticed was the cool intro. Great amount of polish, even for a jam entry! The game is hilarious. When I started the game I expected something serious and it suddenly got very goofy. xD I found myself jumping through rooms I had already seen, just to let some time pass to see what my next form would be. Fun entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]