Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Sumo Shape Shifters

by brainybeard - Jam Entry

Play as a shape sumo wrestler where you must 'shift' rival 'shapes' out of the arena!

Features 8 playable characters!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#11Humor(Jam)4.26
#38Audio(Jam)4.04
#224Fun(Jam)3.50
#519Mood(Jam)3.13
#577Overall(Jam)3.21
#671Theme(Jam)3.17
#698Innovation(Jam)2.88
#758Graphics(Jam)2.96
#1248Coolness47%

Comments

Ibzy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:17pm

Hilarious voice acting by 'the beard' and I love the guitaring on the home screen.

Little disappointed it needs 4 players as it's hard to properly try on my tod, but you can't be expected to program AI in a weekend...

Impossible to stop if heading full pelt at somebody, but that's my only concern with the controls.

Amusing character names, and voice over work had me chuckling. Good work - I just wish I had friends to play against :'(

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:33pm

I have to admit, I loved the voice acting. It's the right amount of cheese.

As for everything else, the UI is solid and the graphics are alright, but the controls are really slippery. It takes really long to turn and it's difficult to slow down.

It would be great if there was also a single player option as well.

Paskal007r says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:47pm

I don't feel like I can properly judge this since I didn't have 4 friends to play it.. but ilarity ensued when I clicked "credits".

hregrin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:34am

The game is fun, but as said it's hard to see its full potential while playing alone. My main problem is that the controls are hard coded, which makes the game really hard to play on different keyboard layouts...

teamross says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:07am

Same, I don't have 4 players to test, but it seems really fun! Voices are fantastic :D

OveRMolo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:08am

Hahahaha please, I need more fighters! :D

EvoGenGames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:08am

awesome entry, would like to see some AI though :-)

ocarson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:19pm

I had a genuine fun time playing this game. Like the humour!

Monklet80 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:21pm

A bit more friction would have gone a long way, but you made something funny and good looking. Nice work.

panurge says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:27pm

I can't fault this. I didn't know I wanted a game about sumo shapes until just now. Couldn't get four players but had a blast with three. Great graphics, perfect voice-overs (the sheer vitality and energy in your gruntwork is outstanding!) and slick gameplay.

Roger is my favourite.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:13pm

Kinda hard to play a 4 player game all by yourself (Ah the difficulties of rating a local multiplayer entry on your own :'D) but I like the voice acting and the gameplay looks pretty fun. Controls definitely a lot of tightening though (turn speed is really slow and the player character accelerates a bit too fast).

doombrowski says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:58am

My girlfriend liked roger! The controls were a bit loose, but the game was still fun. Nice work on the sounds.

Imperial Unit says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:28am

Very fun to play crowded around the same keyboard having a laugh at all the cheesy sound effects and music. Would of helped having some basic AI to control the extra characters.

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:10pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:30pm

Love the audio! cool game. I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/PdAuylbesI0

Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:35pm

I just love how it says Roger

Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:00pm

Good concept but the fact that four players have to deal with the same keyboard makes the controls tricky. Nothing to say about voices they are just perfect !

MintArcade says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:28am

I was 1 player short, run out of kids :D Nice game. Roger for the win!!!

Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:23am

SUMOOOOO SHAPE SHIFFTERRRSSS.

Your voice acting skills surpass those of Troy Baker, and your art skills surpass those of legendary artist Alice 'Buttons' Kensington. obviously. not joking here.

The voicing and humour really does take the cake overall though. The game itself is very slippery and almost unplayable but it counts for some laughs between it.

There's some feedback from Will too I think when we played your game on stream @ 29:35: http://www.hitbox.tv/video/991443

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:08pm

i'm still waiting your game :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]