Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shapeshifting With Science!

by TeamKawaiiju - Jam Entry

As the new hire in a top secret laboratory, you must complete tests involving an adorable shapeshifting alien!

Controls:
---------
WASD - Move
E - Pick up/Drop
F - Cycle forms
Q - Cycle controls
Left/Right mouse - Left/right gun inputs (see gun-screen)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#184Graphics(Jam)4.00
#220Humor(Jam)3.19
#261Theme(Jam)3.70
#575Innovation(Jam)3.00
#579Mood(Jam)3.06
#598Overall(Jam)3.19
#607Audio(Jam)2.61
#826Fun(Jam)2.76
#1483Coolness41%

Comments

siege says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:58am

There's not a lot of conveyance explaining what's going on. The slide puzzle in the beginning, I didn't understand. I got the general premise of the slide, but what was the point when I could just put it right on the button? Was hard to tell where to go next.

pogo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:08am

There's some fun to be had here, but its trapped between a lot of slow walking through long corridors and pushing door buttons. The mechanics of the alien are really novel - using it as an elevator feels particularly good.

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:35am

Funny game :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:35am

Interesting, and I love your take on the companion cube. Very cute!

whilefun says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:44am

I really liked the portal-esqeue feel here. There's a lot of potential in the idea, but the slow/long walks and super punishing restart is a bummer. That said, I restarted 4 times, and got to what I think is the last puzzle (that red round button). However, after trying to get it for a while, I finally physics-glitched my little pink buddy out of the world, and gave up. One tip regarding player actions: ensure that things like scale changes and turret rotations are based on elapsed real seconds, rather than (i presume) Update() calls, as I had a heck of a time getting the turret to aim precisely, or objects to scale precisely (always over shot a bunch and had to make the tiniest clicks to get accurate or small changes. All this said, this game made me want to slog through the frustrating parts and keep going, so that says something good about it :)

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:51am

@siege: Yeah.. I realized that after I designed that puzzle. There were a few other issues like that in some of the other puzzles that I unfortunately didn't have the time to fix.

@pogo: I found the box-stretching segments to be the most satisfying, as well. The long corridors were supposed to have some kind of story explanation or something in them, but time happened, unfortunately.

whilefun: I was going to have a checkpoint system in place, but I didn't have the time to implement it. I had a lot of trouble coming up with a way to make sure that the player brings the pink buddy with them through each room, but ultimately, I couldn't. And yeah, I feel like one thing I could've done with the time given would've been to at least decrease the speed at which the turret rotates. I'm glad you enjoyed it for the most part, though!

Thank you for the feedback everyone! Really appreciate it!

Trickman says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:22pm

Great graphics! And the movement mechanics were very well done. It's obviously Portal-inspired, though. You could have experimented with the setting a bit more, but overall great effort!

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:14pm

Agree with the other comments. Mechanics with good potential. But I got lost and bored. Sorry. On the bright side the mechanic is really interesting. Needs some work but it has a lot of potential.

Wefiends says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:17am

Really liked where this was going until I got the little guy stuck behind a door and couldn't proceed :(

Fabraz says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:27am

ADORE the potential in this one, and a science theme is always good fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]