Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Tito's Revenge

by brinkhousegames - Compo Entry

Play as Tito in this top down, western inspired action shooter, with a just a touch of sci-fi. All his recently buried friends have shapeshifted into spirits, and it's his job to make sure they don't get away.

Windows & Mac builds tested, Linux is untested. Sorry!

--

"I just buried my friends after a shootout gone awry, but those damn Evil Souls won't stop releasing them from their graves! Well, I think they are going to be surprised when they meet my little friend, El' VaccuumOLaser5000. They are going to wish they never stepped foot in my graveyard."

--

You can reach me at @brinkhousegames on Twitter, @andrewlikescoffee on Instagram.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#12Audio4.15
#15Graphics4.49
#36Mood3.93
#98Overall3.77
#131Humor3.18
#172Fun3.57
#582Innovation2.92
#910Theme2.13

Comments

KelsyTerry says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:34am

This looks like fun, congrats on finishing it! I'm gonna play some LD games on my YT channel, I'll let you know if I play yours :)

Andy_Voz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:23am

Cool game! Like this genre)

holgk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:30am

Really nice entry. Astonishing graphic and mood.

Brice says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:41am

Wow, lots of good things to say about this one. The music is fantastic, really sets a fun mood. The vacuuming is a lot of fun, surprisingly more so than just collecting by walking on top of them. Good sound effects and visual effects, and the bathroom idea was funny.

It's easy to see how you could expand this- let you upgrade your vacuum, gun, have more monsters, etc.

Awesome job! 5 stars from me!

nicotuason says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:52am

Awesome! Best graphics yet and feels great to play! The particle effects and vector art style are excellent. Shooting felt good too.

I think it would be improved by making it more obvious when you get hurt, like a flash or shake, and it needs more enemy variety. Other than that, great game!

BigBrother says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:03am

Tito's gonna fuk u up!

Hyden says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:07am

Loved the art style, didn't like how Left click would have to be re clicked every time I got a white soul thing, but the right click could be held forever. The effect you added for the damage/death was top notch.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:08am

Loved the visuals and the audio of this game :D

DieWithDustin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:17am

One of the best games I've played yet.

murraya2 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:24am

Looks really cool... But not much here. Gamplay is sorta odd and floaty and very basic.

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:40am

Great sound - music wrapped up when game's over was really nice.

adamprack says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:49am

This is a visual and auditory treat for a 48-hour jam (though there seemed to be a touch of clipping on the shoot sound). The damage effect was great, the environment was neat, and the audio was really nice overall. Great job on the banjo music. The vacuum was a neat idea, though could be smoothed out, and the overall gameplay is pretty basic, but it's polished. Very nice work, though the visuals and audio outclassed the mechanics.

candlesan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:06am

Visuals were amazing! Very well done.

Jukepoks1 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:14am

I got to level 5 and a dark soul spawned near me and killed me. I like there's a bathroom :D Good simple controls! Awesome audio! and the fact guy says whoops when he kills light soul :D

bagface says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:30am

Nice art and music. I think I died more from the cactus than the evil souls!

Lee1121 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:23am

Nice game :)

What I liked:
The music
The sound effects
The gameplay felt nice and direct
The bathroom break (put a smile on my face, when I walked in there :) )
The graphics
The old 3D movie effect when damaged

What I didn't like:
When an evil soul gets too close, your bullets go right through them
I would have preferred it if I could hold the left mouse button
The cacti look like shiny green rocks to me and only when I read the description did I realise it
Didn't notice where the theme comes in

Spud says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:52am

Great job on this game, simple and fun

jollyserpent says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:48pm

Couldn't possibly give anything lower than 5 for Graphics and Audio, it's absolutely lovely.

goodbadokay says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:56pm

I really like the visual style and the idea!
The gameplay is a bit repetitive, but still really good entry!

mukult says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:49pm

Wow!! The game looks AMAZING!!
I saw your comment on my game! I really appreciate the feedback :)
Thanks for that and letting me know about your game.. Its so cool!
Love the image effects! Nicely polished gameplay.
Gets kinda repetitive with only 2 enemies, but I understand the time limit :)
But everything else is polished so much that you tend to forget that :P
Amazing work again for 2 days... impressive!!
Audio and graphics.. 5 stars hands down!!

nickavv says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:40am

Very nice! simple, fun, great graphics and audio.

dwhiffing says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:47am

Very polished for a jam game! Love top down shooters, and this was good fun to play. Would've liked to see more varied enemy types, but perhaps I just didn't get far enough. Either way, it's a fantastic foundation for a finished game!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:40am

took me a while to realize that i was taking damage when I ran into cacti lol. nice work, congrats on finishing!

Ted Brown says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:24am

Those cacti don't play around, kid! Dayumn!

Gyfis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:03pm

Great, love the graphics and overall art style.

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:40pm

that 3D-glasses-ish effect is really compelling! Great graphics.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:59pm

Thank you all for your awesome feedback so far!

bluszcz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:08pm

Awesome graphics and music make a really well done mood! Had fun to play it :)

TheJJ100100 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:10pm

Nice game, I like it!

abuzreq says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:26pm

Wow ! that's a good one .
The art and graphics are definitely cool.
I liked the blending between scifi and the westeren theme.
Your take on the theme,though, is somehow lacking
maybe it could have been that you use the souls you collect and shift their shapes to bullets
(like collectible ammo)

icefallgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:32pm

Superb graphics and polished feel! Would be nice to have some upgrades and stuff, but this level of polish is really impressive for 48 hours!

Riftpoint says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:14pm

Cool game, but the gameplay is a little slow to get interesting and challenging.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:26am

Cool game, the dark souls are not shootable if they are to close.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:21am

Best music in any game I've played so far. Gameplay was a little too easy maybe, but the aesthetic is absolutely fantastic.

Jimjam says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:20am

Holy chromatic aberration! :P
I enjoyed this, and apart from a few niggles (enemies sticking too close when damaging you, perhaps another use for the white souls) this is a pretty solid entry.

I think the porta-a-john is the most creative version of a health giver I've ever seen!

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:16pm

Nice graphics, good audio, don't care for the theme but that's a personal thing, Gameplay isn't the most original but it is well tuned and fun.

TheCain says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:10pm

Good game, some progression would have been nice.

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:33pm

Wow, stunning visuals and awesome sound! Love it! The gameplay is simple yet fun. The menu text is messed up in fullscreen, though. All in all a great little game, really like it :)

Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:49pm

@pixel_maniacs thanks for the heads up. What OS?

Freank says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:18am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:11am

WOW, i really like this entry! Can't see strong connection with theme though. But music, graphics and mood are awesome! Thank you.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:15am

beautifull and fun !

rayman1900 says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 2:43am

Very cool game and it's very polished! Congratz!

Uson Chen says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 2:46am

Very fun and great graphic! The style is my type!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]