Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalistic Shifter

by mukult - Compo Entry

Hey everyone, this is my second Ludum Dare! :)
Had a lot of fun making this weird thing.

So, the main gameplay mechanism is that, you have to shift the window to see the level and explore. You can only shoot in between the window. the bullets wont hit enemies beyond the window. There are only 2 shapes for now, Triangle shape and square shape.

With triangle shape --- You move a little slow and have larger window. You also shoot just 1 bullet

With square shape ---- You move faster with smaller window. You shoot more bullets.

The objective right now is to kill all the enemies and find the green door to advance to the next level.

A few notes : Did not get as much time as wanted to actually "finish" the game as such. The AI is kind of dumb. Its an incomplete thing but it sure is fun :D

I hope you guys like the gameplay mechanic.

How to play :
The game was intended to be played with xbox 360 controller.

Moving window -> Right stick / Mouse DRAG
Player shoot -> Right trigger / Left mouse click
Player switch -> Button B/ Right mouse click
Player movement -> Left Stick / WASD

PS: Links for more platforms (WEB & MACOSX) coming soon. Bear with me :P

Play it in FULLSCREEN... mouse gets crazy when playing in windowed/web player mode.
[Quick fix added based on feedback about the cursor.. Should be better to play with mouse now]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#131Innovation3.75
#470Theme3.35
#575Audio2.21
#597Humor1.76
#636Overall3.00
#724Fun2.74
#725Graphics2.53
#767Mood2.18

Comments

jdmazz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:06am

This is a very innovative game.

AgentParsec says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:42am

Hard to play in webplayer because of the mouse not being locked in the window. I keep clicking outside the window since I have to move it that way to move the box around. Otherwise, it's quite well done.

lanestp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:45am

The embed doesn't do it any favors but the game itself is very original. I like the idea a lot!

mukult says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:58am

Thanks for feedback... i have removed webplayer build!!
This game is not meant to be played in web anyways... Might as well remove it! :)

sez says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:49am

I really like the concept. The only real complaint I had were the HP of the enemies and the sound effects. Especially the lather really annoyed me quite fast. Well done!

htspencer88 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:26pm

I really liked it!

Using the window to scout ahead and then having to decide between which type of character I want was engaging.

I understand what you mean about the game lacking finish, I do feel it could have been fleshed out more but the central idea is really strong.

I was playing in fullscreen but I still managed to get get issues where my cursor wasn't bound to the game. I do have two monitors though so that might be the issue. Its not a massive problem but does get quite fiddly.

Good job!

bagface says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:35pm

Neat window mechanic. Controller makes it much better!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:39pm

Really interesting idea for the mechanic of moving the window to reveal the play area as you go, sort of a dynamic fog of war, thought that was cool. I had some difficulty with the controls and getting the aiming/movement to work well together. The movement of the window with the mouse made my brain want to think that it was also responsible for aiming my character to shoot, so that took some getting used to. Also, can you die? I got hit a lot by the enemies but nothing ever happened so I just ignored them eventually.

I think you should keep working on this, it could become something really cool!


I'd love for you to check out my game, Tito's Revenge!
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=65699

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:46pm

Fun gameplay! Innovative as well

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:53pm

Great game.

Occasionally I got lost since there weren't too many points of reference. But then I'd find a familiar wall, so it all worked out.

Good job!

Matzigon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:02am

Too bad it is quite unfinished. The moving window mechanic is if not brilliant but a nice touch. DEfinitely worth more time to polish it!

rantt says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:36am

Cool mechanic, very original. I enjoyed it, nicely done.

Saiodin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:12pm

Interesting idea. But even fullscreen on windows I had problems with the mouse. It seems like you have infinite health and I'm not a fan of the tankiness of the enemies. The movement makes it pretty hard to hit stuff.

samlo says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:10pm

Whoaaa this is pretty cool. I especially like the viewport mouse controls. Great submission!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:16pm

Really neat idea! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/KyB-5ZqWXwk

RafaSKB says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:07am

Interesting shooter, really minimalistic as the name says. Fun stuff :)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:05am

Good gameplay with interesting mechanic, sad to hear is unfinished.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:56pm

Nice. Interesting balance, I found myself wanting to BE SQUARE.

jonask says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:28pm

Cool idea. A bit to claustrophobic for me though :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]